OTO Chapter 126

AN : This is the final arc of Oto Tsukai. It will end in 20-30 chapters.


[Unfolding Death]

I wake up in a dusty room.

Light rushes into my sight. It feels like I’ve finally awakened from a long dream.

While squinting, I somehow get up and look around.

At that time, *kiiiiiiin* there was a violent buzzing in my ears.

I hurriedly turn my ability off while scrunching my face, and the buzzing become somewhat better.

“…………”

What the hell happened?

I close my eyes and retrace my memory.

Boss’ betrayal… the death of my comrades, the destruction of the organization. And at the end when I hit the ground, my memory was cut off.

Is the buzzing a side effect of overusing my ability?

…There are a lot of information that I need to organize, but anyway, it seems that I was saved.

Becoming relieved by that fact, I feel like my strength is drained out of me.

After spacing out for a while, I lift both of my hands, and noticed that my body is completely healed.

Now that Chiyaku-san had deceased, only Utsusemi-san who copied her ability could do this.

That means that person is also alive. Thank goodness.

…But that means enough time has passed for such injuries to heal completely, huh.

It should take quite a long time for such injuries to heal completely. How long have I slept?

Exhaling with a *whew*, I look around again.

It’s a dreary room. With a bed, a table surrounded by wooden small chairs, a small TV in the corner of the room… and nothing else.

However, I was familiar with this floor plan.

This is probably a room in the apartment where Yoyami-san lives…

Roll probably brought me and escaped to Yoiyami-san’s place.

Even so, we sure have struggled a lot to reach here. Roll who brought us here probably had met with difficulties too. The distance from that hideout to this place is quite far after all.

I wonder if there was any other place we could go to…

Well but, to rely on Yoiyami-san might be a good decision.

It’s safe here. Even Boss will not be able to easily make a move on Yoiyami-san.

While I’m thinking about that, I hear a rattling sound of the front door opening.

Then the sound of footsteps is getting closer this way, and soon the door of the room opens.

What appear there is a blonde woman with a shopping bag hanging in one of her hand. It’s Roll.

However, her appearance is a little different from the Roll I knew. She is wearing a knit hat with a brim deeply, and it doesn’t look good, but her long blonde hair that reach down to her waist is sloppily cut and even up a bit below her shoulders.

“Ah…!”

My eyes meet with Roll’s.

After being overcome with surprise for a while, she roughly put the shopping bag on the kitchen table and run up to me.

After she has her lips quivering for a while, she hugs me.

“Shion, thank goodness…!”

At that time, *sting* and the joints of my body feels painful.

I suppressed my reaction, but I still didn’t seem to be able to deceive Roll after all; she hurriedly separates from me.

“Sorry!”

It seems that my injuries haven’t healed completely yet. The external wounds have healed completely, but it seems that the inside is not yet.

“It’s okay. I’m glad you’re safe, Roll.”

“That’s my line…”

Silence. For some reason, an awkward air flows in the room.

It allows me to guess her what’s going on in her mind. Then I remembered I have a lot of things to ask.

“Roll, what’s with that hair?” For the time being, I decide to ask what I’m interested in first.

“Ahh, this. It stood out and we are wanted now, so I cut it. Does it look bad?”

“Hee. I’m not saying it looks bad, but I like it longer.”

Or rather, if the reason was because it stood out, I feel like it’s too late for that.

“…That so. I’m a little shocked. You could have praised me even if you were lying.”

“Ahh, sorry. It looks good.”

“Too late.”

“…So, what do you mean by ‘wanted’?”

I have a rough idea though.

Roll shows a little thoughtful gesture before she turns on the TV with the remote on the table.

The time displayed in the upper right corner of the screen is around 7:00 am. She changes the channel, but the programs are all about the weather forecast or the news.

However, there is a news program that caught my eyes among them.

In the program, a VTR of an interview with the Self-Defense Forces is playing, and the person who was interviewed is someone I recognize… no, I’m familiar with.

That man was etched into my brain and wouldn’t disappear.

“Boss…”

The caption says, “Sakai Tatsumi has been promoted to general. What will be the future policy of the Anonymous Countermeasures Department?”, and Boss responded that they will deal with antisocial forces hereafter.

“That guy wanted us, so if you go out into the city without a disguise, someone might report you and the Self-Defense Forces will come running to you in a jiffy.”

Does he try to erase us who know his real identity?

“General Sakai, who annihilate Anonymous, already have real power in his grasp, and the public attention is now focused on him.”

“I see.”

Well of course. Anonymous, which had been a thorn in their side, was destroyed by Sakai. Although in reality, it was all a play orchestrated by the leader of the Anonyomous, Sakai himself.

That being the case, of course Lieutenant General Sakai was appreciated and promoted to general at once. So far, it’s exactly as he planned.

And Boss’ ability is able to change event roughly. No one doubts him because he had been making preparation for that sake.

After that, he just has to erase us who could verify that he was the leader of Anonymous.

“There’s something that I’ve been curious about.”

“What is it?”

“How long did I sleep? I feel like quite a long time has passed.”

“10 days.”

“…So long.”

“That’s because Utsusemi put off your treatment. Due to that, Shion wandered the border between life and death for a while.

Well, there’s a lot to talk about, including that part, so I’ll go gather everyone.”

With that said, Roll leaves the room.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Check out my patreon for 4 more chapters!

4 thoughts on “OTO Chapter 126

Leave a comment