SLO Chapter 36

[Lyncean Sword Marshall 1]

Lyncean Sword Marshal… she liked the protagonist Dan as a friend from the start of the game.

Because of that, she was easy to win over, which made her less popular as a romantic interest.

Most players preferred the other heroines, each of whom had a unique personality and her own charming points.

As a result, Lyncean ended up being labeled as the backup girl, who could be easily obtained if you failed to get the other heroines.

But I, for one, didn’t dislike her.

While we weren’t on the best of terms at the moment, she was in fact my favorite character in the game.

The game’s Lyncean Sword Marshall… she was my ideal wife.

Heh, I broke into a smile recalling the good old memories.

Oh, ideal how, you asked?

Well, she was devoted to her husband and loved her children with all her heart.

I knew because I saw her ‘ending’. More than just a few times.

She valued the words of her loved ones above all else.

She was still unmarried at the moment so that devotion of hers was directed to her family, the Marshall House. She followed everything they said.

It was just that she had a bit of foolish side. After having her virginity forcefully taken by Luc, she accepted him and gave her heart to him.

This happened during the rise to prominence phase when she wasn’t chosen by Dan. At one point in the story, she’d appear as an enemy, bearing Luc’s child.

Even though the ugly fat toad Luc did it by force, Lyncean recognized her first-time partner as her husband.

She devoted herself to Luc and stuck with him until the end as the mother of his child.

Gamers initially thought that if Dan killed Luc, Lyncean would return to Dan… but Lyncean, she…

“It’s too late. This child and Luc are my only family in this world. Dan, you killed my husband. I will never become yours, even if the only other option is death.”

The sight of her remaining by the side of Luc’s decapitated body even as it was being burned by hellfire until the end was still vivid in my mind.

To put it in a good way, she was a single-minded, pure-hearted girl.

You could also call her the Good-For-Nothing-Husband Maker, if you would.

Her heart was so pure that she’d even dedicate herself to a bad man.

“Begin!!”

The instant Professor Cirrus gave the signal, Ruby bolted toward Lyncean while using body strengthening and struck her from her blind spot.

“Nya!”

“Don’t underestimate me!”

Lyncean managed to defend herself, but that only provoked Ruby to increase her speed.

“It’s no use-nya.”

“Gh! [Shield]!”

Unable to endure Ruby’s barrage of attacks, Lyncean resorted to using her attribute magic. But it should prove useless against Ruby.

Lyncean was a tank. Her role was to take attacks. A speed-specialized fighter like Ruby made a bad match for her.

“Naïve-nya. O’ [Wind]! Blow-nya!”

Struck by Ruby’s attribute magic at her blind spot, Lyncean lost her balance.

Hmm, Lyncean’s fighting style wasn’t this sloppy in the game. If I had been in control of her, she’d have been able to better defend herself, surely…

“This is the end-nya.”

“Not yet!”

Her vision was narrow from focusing on defending.

Her reaction time was slow. Worst of all, the range of her magic defense was limited.

All those factors left openings. And Ruby didn’t miss them.

“I told you-nya. You’re naïve-nya.”

She slipped under Lyncean who had crouched down.

With her body being as flexible as a cat’s, Ruby could attack even from that position.

She pushed her body off the ground and kicked her feet to Lyncean’s jaw, shaking her brain.

“It’s over-nya.”

“Winner Ruby! Their individual rankings will be changed.”

Professor Cirrus then declared Ruby’s victory.

Seeing the collapsed Lyncean, I stood up from the audience seat.

“I won-nya!”

“Good job.”

Ruby was delighted with her victory. I patted her head and then approached Lyncean.

“Mr. Deskustos. What are you trying to do?”

Professor Cirrus asked, seemingly wary of me.

“I’m just going to take her to the infirmary. There’s one in this building, right?”

“…There is, yes… I will be leaving her to you then. I must report the result of this match to the principal.”

“Alright.”

I summoned Bal and had it carry Lyncean.

“Is that magic… no, never mind. I will take my leave now.”

Professor Cirrus left the arena.

I turned my gaze to my team members.

“Ruby, Myril, you can head back now.”

“Yes-nya.”

“Understood!”

Both of them listen to what I said obediently. I really liked that part about them.

In the game, if Lyncean didn’t get chosen by Dan, she would duel Luc before the rise to prominence phase and end up being defeated.

Afterward, entered the torture scene where she said the classic line “Kh, just kill me.”

But here I wasn’t the one who defeated her nor had I the intention of torturing her.

I’d only be carrying her to the infirmary as a gentleman would.

It was the least I could do for my favorite heroine.

On the way to the infirmary, Dan showed up, looking hurried.

“…Luc Hugaro Deskustos. Did Lady Lyncean lose?”

He should be able to tell just by looking. Why would he ask such a stupid question?

“Yup. Not to me, though.”

“Didn’t she challenge you?”

“I refused. Ruby fought her on my behalf.”

This was the first time I had a proper conversation with the protagonist Dan.

Here I thought he would charge at me since he was more of a hot-blooded and reckless type.

His calm response took me by surprise.

“I see.”

“How surprising.”

“Hmm? Ahh, I’m sorry for all the trouble I caused you back then.”

Dan apologized for the Ranked Match.

“Had a change of heart?”

It was so out of the left field I couldn’t help but suspect he was up to something.

“Nothing’s changed. The Deskustos House is still Lady Lyncean’s enemy, and I’m still going to defeat you one day.”

Despite what he said, I didn’t feel any hostility at all.

“But you’re not the bad noble I thought you were.

“Instead, you’re a great guy who works hard and walks far ahead of me. I have no hope of defeating you as I’m now.

“And even if you’re my enemy, at least you listen to reason.”

He really was a strange guy.

The words of the protagonist Dan brought a smile to my face.

“You truly are an idiot, huh?”

“Heard that a lot.”

“I’m leaving Miss Marshall to you, then.”

I had Bal lower Lyncean onto Dan’s arms.

At that moment, I couldn’t help but be amazed. The sight of him with the still-sleeping Lyncean in his arms was somehow so perfect that he look like a protagonist of some fairy tale.

“Thanks. Lady Lyncean may be a little stubborn, but she isn’t a bad person at heart.

“I will keep training to surpass you.

“But I’ll be sure to tell Lady Lyncean to restrain herself, though it might be no use, what with the circumstances between your families.”

The protagonist was too good for his own good that I couldn’t help but feel disgusted.

“…What do you know about me?”

I released all my mana and looked at Dan with murderous intent.

“I’m a bad guy. Don’t you go and assume otherwise. You imbecile!”

Dan swallowed his saliva.

I had never released my mana to the limit before. To think it would create a pillar of purple light.

Facing me, Dan didn’t avert his eyes.

He proved he had his own resolve.

Hehehe, interesting.

Now this was the protagonist I’d want to see.

He was still an insignificant foolhardy warrior at the moment.

But once he grew up, he’d be worthy for me to play my part.

“I’m just a slothful villainous noble. Never forget that.”

I withdrew my mana then I turned around and started walking away.

“What the hell…”

Dan’s voice echoed from behind me.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

6 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 36

  1. Lmao Dan was probably confused since MC was neither slothful nor villainous. Well a bit slothful but still quite hardworking regardless.

    Like

Leave a comment