SLO Chapter 49

[Taking Care of Her Fiancé]

(Karin Sea Caribbean Side)

Going to the academy had given me opportunities to meet all sorts of friends, and my every day was filled with excitement. Before I knew it, a year had passed.

I’d done my very best in my studies to become a splendid noblewoman and business owner and help my father with his work in the future.

However, all I was able to think about now was my fiancé, Luc Hugaro Deskustos. As I became a sophomore, he enrolled in the academy.

We hadn’t seen each other for almost a year, and my heart pounded so fast upon reunion.

He had grown more beautiful and stronger than a year ago.

“Karin? What’s wrong?”

“Yes. Lady Iris. Is something?”

“No, that is what I’m asking you. You have had this dazed look on your face for a while now, I almost thought you were back to your old self.”

“I’m sorry. I was just thinking about Lord Luc.”

Lady Iris made a displeased face after hearing my words.

Lately, Lady Iris had been irritable because a son of a marquis had been making advances on her.

Her engagement with the first prince didn’t seem to be going well, and he saw that as an opportunity to vie for her hand.

However, Lady Iris didn’t seem to like him very much; she found him hateful, in fact. As such, she had been in a bad mood for days.

Then I went and talked about Luc, her younger brother. Her mood could only grow worse.

Lady Iris truly loved Luc.

But because of her proud nature, she couldn’t honestly show her affection to him. I believed that was why she was jealous of me getting along so well with him.

“Is that so. That boy, he is truly lacking in consideration for his older sister. Just look what happened during the welcome party, he disappeared without even saying a word to me… Yet I caught sight of him getting all friendly with that girl from the Marshall House. I know they are on the same team, but still…”

She was actually a kind person who was always worried about her younger brother.

However, at present, the situation in the kingdom was growing so tense to the extent that a civil war was likely to break out between the Royalist Faction and the Noble Faction.

This was part of the reason why her engagement with the first prince hadn’t gone well.

“I hear word that their extracurricular class will end today due to some circumstances, so they won’t be in the same team for much longer.”

“Really? That is for the best. After the extracurricular class, he can form a dungeon-exploration team with anyone of his choice. Although people would usually keep going with the extracurricular class team if their affinity was well enough.”

True. Lady Iris and I were a prime example. We, along with two of her attendants, had been on the same team since our extracurricular class days. Now our teamwork was nothing short of excellent.

“That girl from the Marshall House, she isn’t very beautiful but is stubborn as a mule. It’d be better for Luc not to get too close to her.”

“You’re right.”

The Marshall House was part of the Royalist Faction. That fact alone was enough to make that girl rub Lady Iris’s nerves.

If Lady Iris’s bad mood continued, I was worried it would affect her health, but I also missed Luc. We hadn’t met for three days when usually he would come see me in my room every night.

I couldn’t wait for him to get back.

When I asked what caused the first years’ extracurricular class to end early, it was apparently because a dungeon boss had spawned and injured a student.

I believed Luc would be fine, but I still prayed that he would come back safely.

That night… Luc didn’t show up in my room even though he was supposed to be back already.

I couldn’t fall asleep because I was so worried about him.

Could it be that Luc was the one who was injured? But if that was the case, he could at least send a word to me. I went to the cafeteria during breakfast to look for him even though I had seldom been.

However, he was nowhere to be seen… Left with no other choice, I decided to pay a visit to his room.

–Knock, knock.

“Luc… are you in?”

This was my first time visiting Luc’s room.

“A moment please.”

Hearing a girl’s voice, my chest tightened.

He didn’t come to see me… and he had invited a girl into his room?

Was he having an affair since we hadn’t married yet? Had he fallen out of love for me?

A tired-looking girl with dark circles under her eyes opened the door.

Was this Luc’s type? She couldn’t exactly be called beautiful.

No, her features were well-ordered, but she was very… untidy? She might be what they called a disappointing beauty.

“Ah! It’s Lady Karin! I’m sorry for showing you such a sloppy appearance!”

Huh? I thought I knew her voice.

The girl hurriedly put on her glasses and straightened her hair.

“Oh! Aren’t you Miss Rivera?”

“Y-yes. I’m truly sorry. I didn’t know it was you, so I came out without tidying my appearance.”

“I-it’s fine, but why are you in Luc’s room? D-don’t tell me?!”

“No, you have got it wrong! We aren’t committing adultery!”

She immediately denied…

“Rivera, who is that?”

Saying that, Luc showed up from inside the room, seemingly having just taken a bath.

“Luc!!!”

“Ah, Karin. Ya~y, it’s Karin.”

With that, he hugged me with his bare-naked upper body.

Aw! T-this was unfair.

He was cheating with Miss Rivera and still hugged me.

Oh no. My tears… please stop.

“Ah~ you must be having a misunderstanding. Rivera is just helping me with my magic experiment.”

“Huh?”

“Come in and let me show you.”

Luc grabbed my hand and pulled me into the room, and…

“It’s so messy!”

Stacks of paper were piled up all around the room.

“Hahaha, this is after Rivera cleaned up. I haven’t slept yet, so I was thinking to go to bed after taking a shower and grab a light meal.”

Luc laughed sloppily… I knew it…

“Luc… can I ask you a question?”

“Sure~, ask away~.”

“When was the last time you eat?”

“Let’s see… I came back yesterday, so… yesterday morning?”

I knew it… I couldn’t leave Luc alone. “I will make a meal for you!”

“Huh? But you’re busy.”

“No buts! You need to eat properly or you will get sick. Isn’t that right, Miss Rivera?”

“Y-yes! You’re right.”

“Good. Luc, your experiments are not over yet, I presume?”

“Yeah, it’s still going to take a while.”

“Very well. I will be taking care of your meals while you focus on your experiments.”

“Are you sure? I’d love it, though.”

Luc rarely went out if left alone.

After we’d gotten engaged, I used to need to literally drag him out by hand.

I almost forgot it because he’d been spoiling me after our one-year separation, but Luc found most things bothersome.

When he focused on something, he’d forget about everything else. He wouldn’t clean his room, sleep or eat.

“I will be taking care of your meals and personal care, and that’s final. Miss Rivera, I will make extra for you as well so you may focus on the experiments.”

“Thank you! That’ll be very helpful.”

“Good. Then I will go prepare your meals. In the meantime, please tidy up this room, properly!”

Perhaps they were overwhelmed by my force? The two saluted at me and replied ““Yes, Ma’am!””

I would take care of my fiancé!!!

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

4 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 49

  1. I’m not any better about this than Luc. There was one time I had nothing other than multivitamins and water for 5 days just because I could.

    Like

Leave a comment