SLO Chapter 51

[Experiment Result]

(??? Side)

Before I knew it, the discomfort that had been inside my body disappeared, only to be replaced by something warm.

Had the foreign thing been rid of? Huh? I can’t make children.

This means I can’t catch a new meal… but, I’m feeling full. Do I not need a new meal? That’s truly great.

“Bal? Bal? How are you feeling?”

Who is that calling?

And Bal? Who is Bal?

“It has taken in enough mana… My consciousness should have linked up with it by now… but why hasn’t it?”

Bal? Hey… what is all this? Martial arts? Fighting techniques? Magic knowledge?  And someone’s name… Oh, right. It’s mine. My name is Bal.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

(Luc Side)

The research turned out to be more difficult than I’d expected.

Half a year had passed since I began my experiments and completely ignored everything else except studying for the test after the extracurricular class.

Rivera had helped me with my experiments and Karin had fed me. She had also dragged me to the bathroom or toilet more than a couple of times when I couldn’t be bothered or forgot to. Man, that was embarrassing, looking back.

Myril had taken notes for basic classes for me and gone out of her way to help me prepare for the test.

She had also helped me with my research and cleaning.

Ruby had been helped by her notes, too.

Every so often she’d come by and sit on my lap while I had been pondering over some problems. Petting her helped me calm down and heal me.

And that was how half a year went by in a flash.

Professor Cirrus had looked for me to ask me about something several times too, but I had kept on refusing, saying I was busy.

Bal’s body was approaching its final stage.

“Okay, time for the final finishing touch… I’ll link up my consciousness with Bal.”

After absorbing as much mana from the air as I could and converting it to my own mana, I’d infuse it into the Rare Metal.

Then, I should be able to link up my consciousness with the Rare Metal.

“Here goes!”

I infused the mana in my body into the Rare Metal.

When my mana ran out, my legs gave out on me and I would have fallen to the ground had Karin not rushed over to support me.

“Bal? Bal? How are you feeling?”

I had infused all my mana and yet I still couldn’t link up with it? I called out to Bal.

Bal would usually never fail to reply with “(^^)/” whenever I called it, but it wasn’t showing any response.

“It has taken in enough mana… My consciousness should have linked up with it by now… but why hasn’t it?”

I tried to call out to it again, and the Rare Metal finally reacted with a twitch.

“Bal?”

When I called out once again, the Rare Metal began to glow.

I got the feeling that the purple light represented my mana.

I watched Bal changing while recovering my mana by absorbing the mana in the air.

“(^^)/”

When the light subsides, a purple bear? about the size of a puppy with wings made of mithril was floating in the air.

The fluffy bear looked like a certain popular stuffed animal…

“Uhh, is that you, Bal?”

“(^^)/”

The purple bear raised his hand, doing the same action as the emoticon.

“Lord Luc… was it a success?”

Rivera was puzzled as well, unable to comprehend what was going on.

“It’s so cute!” Karin, supporting me, squealed.

She approached the bear after sitting me in a chair Myril had brought over.

“Karin, wait!”

It might be dangerous, so I tried to stop her, but Bal readily settled into Karin’s arms without resistance.

Then, I noticed… my consciousness had been linked with it… and I could feel Karin’s soft chest.

“Lady Karin, please be careful.”

“Oh, don’t worry, Myril. Look, it’s completely harmless. Why don’t you give it a touch?”

“May I?” Despite the slight fear on her face, Myril reached out her hand to Bal. “W-wow~ it’s so fluffy!”

“I wanna touch it too-nya.”

I felt like the girls were touching my own body.

It wasn’t ticklish, but kind of weird, yeah.

“Rivera.”

“Yes.”

“Seems like it was a success.”

“Huh? Was it?”

“Yeah, that’s Bal. Its consciousness, or rather senses are linked up with me.”

Its feeling of being jostled by the three girls was shared with me, which felt strange.

“Bal! Form Change.”

“(^^)/”

When I called, Bal transformed into the usual cushion. It still felt as snug as ever.

Just from this sensation, I knew it was really Bal.

“Yup. It’s Bal, no doubt.”

Ah, now I felt like sleeping…

“You did it, Lord Luc!!!”

“Luc, congratulations.”

“Impressive as ever, Lord Luc.”

“Amazing-nya! I don’t really get it, but you’re amazing-nya!”

The four congratulated and applauded me for my success.

How much mithril had turned unusable… how many papers and magic circles had been ruined…

“Thanks, everyone. I was able to succeed because of all of your help! I’d like to do something for you in return. So if there’s something I can do for you, anything, feel free to tell me.”

At my offer, the four’s faces changed from surprise to serious.

“…Anything, Lord Luc?”

“Yeah. As long as it’s within my ability.”

When I answered Rivera’s question, the four girls immediately started to get into a serious discussion.

While waiting, I entrusted my body to Bal and ended up falling asleep.

In my dream… Bal appeared.

“I’m Bal… are you my master?”

It wasn’t in its purple bear form… but a ball of light?

“Master? Well, I guess, yeah. I’m your master, Bal.”

“Thank you. After Master brought me out, I’m full and happy.”

“Huh? I brought you out? You’re full? And you feel… happy?”

“I’m Bal… I will always be by Master’s side.”

This was just a dream, but… Bal seemed like it had its own will. It was kind of fun talking to it.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

4 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 51

Leave a comment