OTO Chapter 55

[The Wind’s Judgement]

Let’s talk about the difficult to deal with aftermath.

For the time being, Fafnir was sent to a branch near the Tsuhara Plateau, and a few days later there was a meeting on what to do about it.

Then, the boss decided to let Anonymous raise it.

At the meeting, there were some opinions that it should be killed.

The pros and cons of whether or not to keep it were separated very well.

The supporters argue that if we can improve it to the myth level, it will be a terrifying force.

The opposition’s claim was that it might harm the organization. This opinion is natural.

By the way, I was an opposition.

The reason why I oppose it was fixed.

Of course, it’s because I’ll be in charge to raise it.

I might die just because it got frustrated.

Like I might be bitten to death just by playing bite, spare me from such things.

Also, the point of binding Fafnir does not cross my mind.

It is big.

Well, since the decision has been made at the meeting, I have no choice but to take care of it.

Honestly, I wanted to look after it myself, so I’m not hateful.

The reason why I oppose to raise it is certainly because it is big, but it seems comfortable if I fly on my back, and if I manage to raise it, it will also eliminate my weakness, Anonymous’ weakness that is mobility.

Aside from whether or not Fafnir is good for me.

Well, of course, we can’t keep it (or rather, put it) in the hideout, so we’ll have to keep it in the Tsuhara branch, which has plenty of food.

The problem that occurred here was that Fafnir started rampaging unless I was nearby.

When Fafnir starts rampaging, it is unstoppable. It destroys the cage and easily comes to my place. I almost died, so I need a more sturdy cage, but I can’t prepare for it so quickly.

When it was sent to the Tsuhara branch, Shimichi-san and I were able to bring it along smoothly, but I can’t stay there all the time, so I have to train Fafnir so that it’ll be fine if I leave.

What helped me here was Desuko-san’s ability.

Desuko-san’s ability is related to mind.

Although our race is different, I can communicate with it using her ability.

By doing this, we were able to communicate to a certain extent, then I made it understand that it would be fine without me.

This was also helped by Fafnir’s high intelligence. Well, it took it some time to understand though.

However, it didn’t change the fact that it still come and see me frequently.

It come to my place on it’s own right now, so I’m putting it in a cage, but I’d like to train it properly and be able to leave it somewhere.

Fafnir’s ecology is still a mystery, so I don’t know how to raise it.

However, someone other than me can feed it and give it water.

Therefore, I decided to leave that area to the people of the Tsuhara branch.

The name given to such a Fafnir is “Renga(brick)”.

The godparent is Desuko-san. The scales at the base of it’s foot are like bricks, so it seems that’s how she named it. Desuko-san has a very unique naming sense, right.

For some reason, Desuko-san likes Renga a lot.

According to Desuko-san, Renga is a female.

I really would like to go see Renga every day, but without Shimichi-san, it takes a lot of time to go back and forth.

And there is school.

So, considering that, I decided to go to see it once every two or three days.

Aside from that, Tsurugi, Ohashi, and Rin were safe.

After that, it seems that Rin had call Tsurugi and co to ask for help, then she was brought to the hospital.

Thanks to Kemuri-san’s maneuvering, I was supposed to have been discovered at the shopping mall and taken to the hospital.

I had a deep shoulder injury, but I had Chiyaku-san treat me in advance, so I only needed a light treatment at the medical center.

Then, when I went to visit Rin, she was angry.

She was worried, and I couldn’t say anything because I was preached with half teary eyes.

But, I was able to gloss over it somehow, so it seems that there is no hindrance in my relationship with Tsurugi and co.

Or rather, the one who I can’t fool is Tsurugi.

Tsurugi and co…, rather Rin huh.

Rin showed me her ability.

However, our relationship will not change just because her ability was revealed to me.

I wouldn’t mention it if she doesn’t want to say anything.

Since it will be troublesome, I will not touch the subject.

Speaking of which, it seems that the ability measurement of Roll was completed successfully.

However, the inter school tournament seems to have been postponed again. School is also closed for a while.

This should be unavoidable.

The case at the shopping mall was widely reported.

The content was very unfriendly to the SDF.

Anonymous rescued most civilians in the shopping mall, and the Self-Defense Force was completely useless.

Due to this, the SDF is now busy dealing with that.

…That’s about it huh.

“Ahー, the wound hurts…”

I hold my shoulder and said.

Then, I fell down on Roll’s bed.

A little pain struck my body again.

“Even though it should fine if Chiyaku-san healed you.”

Roll said while maintaining a knife.

I want to do that, but unfortunately I can’t.

It would be strange if my injury healed completely.

Roll said it wouldn’t be found out, but I have no acting ability to play a wounded person.

Well, it would be scary if Tsurugi see through it.

“How long are you going take a break from school?”

“Until this week.”

Until this week huh.

Both of us got a vacation from Boss, so we are free until then.

Speaking of things to do, taking care of Renga.

Also, the day after tomorrow, I promise to play with Tsurugi and co.

I wonder if they have time to play with me.

The reason I’m in the hideout even though I’m on break is that I’m going to Renga’s place with Roll.

Even if it isn’t so, maybe we’ll still hang out together.

The place where Renga is…, it takes a 2 to 3 hours to get to the Tsuhara Plateau, it’s quite a long way.

So, along the way, I’ll have Roll teach me how to drive a car.

“Are you ready to go?”

Roll looked at the clock and said.

The time is before 12:00. It’s lunch time.

“Yeah. Let’s eat on the way.”

“Speaking of which, there are stores I would like to visit.”

ーーー

Great city, Saint Celia.

It approximately has 2 million residents. Approximately 50,000 of them are members of the Self-Defense Force, and the main forces of defense organizations are concentrated here.

The towering outer walls protect the city as a fortress, and the main headquarters of the Self-Defense Forces is located in the center of the city,

At a total of 24 gates, one or more platoons are always deployed to firmly prevent the invasion of foreign enemies. For the past 30 years, the city gates have never been breached.

The city is largely divided into two by the Rozurins River that flows from Mt. Jiza, and is divided into an eastern residential area and a western residential area.

Naturally, the security is almost perfectly protected by the Self-Defense Forces, so the amount of crimes per year is small.

In the center of such a great city of Saint Celia, a man was screaming.

“Don’t let those guys do whatever they want!”

This is the central second meeting room of the SDF headquarters.

The one who hit the desk and said that is one of the seven generals of the Self-Defense Forces, General Kisaragi.

He is acting as the chairman here.

General Kisaragi is a giant with a grayish shaved head. The secretary who was sitting next to him was trembling.

The faces of the higher-ups who sit on the conference table are lined up in a row, creating a heavy atmosphere.

“Who are you referring to by ‘those guys’? Is it Anonymous? Or Nursery Rhyme?”

General Kisaragi’s eyes moved to a man.

The man’s name is Ichinose Sora.

A man who attain the position of general when he was 29 years old. He is 32 years old now, but he is still the youngest of the seven generals.

His body was different from that of General Kisaragi, he is lean.

“Both!”

When General Kisaragi screams, the secretary is startled and writes the progress in his notebook.

“I see. However, in the case this time, the media coverage is not wrong.
We were useless.
Rather, I thought that Anonymous have reduced the number of victims by responding more swiftly.”

“That’s because they held our branch down!”

“No, you’re wrong.
The Anonymous executive called Kemuri was excellent.
He seems to have evacuated most of the civilians.
If our personnel went to rescue, there would have been a conflict and the casualties would have increased.
Despite your biased opinion, the great efforts they did were undeniable y’know.”

“We can’t let that be! We have honor, right! If the confidence on the Self-Defense Forces is compromised, we cannot protect the lives we have to protect!
It doesn’t matter if the sacrifice is big or small! We had to save the civilians!”

General Ichinose was about to refute, but shut his mouth.

As the Self-Defense Forces, both were correct opinions, so he realized that the dispute was meaningless. It’s a difference between ideals and it never ends.

Temporary silence dominated the room.

“I feel…that there are too many mainstays here in Saint Celia.”

It was the voice of a woman who broke the silence.

The gazes turned toward her all at once.

The facial expression of the woman is hardened a little.

“Four of the seven generals are assigned to the headquarters…the lieutenant general is also close to 40%.
Although it is limited to Anonymous, they are always acting while avoiding our main powers, and there are many cases where personnel in various places cannot deal with them.”

“Did you mean to disperse our strength? Or the expense?
It’s impossible. It will affect the expansion plan.”

“But not many people are migrating.
After all, I don’t think everyone willing to move to a tough town.
According to the expansion plan for Saint Celia, the subsidies for migrants are bulky…”

*cough* A big cough could be heard from someone.

The woman had a change of expression, and said “I’m sorry”, and lower her face down.

“Distributing our strength does not solve the problem.
Anonymous has ‘observer’ with high-performance sensing ability.
This guy is troublesome, and our main movement will be leaked.
To crush them, either catch this guy or find their hideout.”

“Should we attack Nursery Rhyme before Anonymous?
Anonymous is our obstacle, but the damage to the general public is not that high.
However, Nursery Rhyme tends to do whatever they want and kills people.”

“If the general public is harmed even a little, that is the problem.
Anonymous is gaining strength. If we don’t deal with them with all of our strength soon, they’ll get stronger and stronger. It’s better to crush them along with Nursery Rhyme.”

“Soon? I’ve been saying that since a long time ago.”

“It’s the same in every department that no decent measures have been taken, right.”

The inside of the conference room gradually becomes noisy.

The guys who were heated up stood up and spit at each other.

At that time, a strong wind blew from the back of the conference table.

The papers on the desk were blown away with a rustling sound, and the heat of the men who were heating up lowered.

A heavy voice echoed in the meeting room that was gradually quieting.

“Quiet.”

This time, their line of sight turned over there.

Beyond that line of sight was a man who sat down with an unusual aura.

The man’s name is Midou Ryuusui.

The strongest wind ability user in history…, a man who is commonly known as “Wind God”.

“I’ll take responsibility for this incident in Slaceid.
Then, I’ll have the full authority of the Anonymous countermeasure section transferred from Lieutenant General Sakai to me.
I will be in charge of everything related to Anonymous in the future.”

When General Midou said that, the inside of the meeting room was a little stirred.

“But Ryuusui-dono, then what about your work in Saint Celia?”

“Can’t you get it? I leave my general position.
It’s just right for demotion excuse, right.
Just fill in the empty seat appropriately.”

“Ryuusui!”

It was General Kisaragi who stopped General Midou who was trying to get up.

“What.”

“It’s inexcusable for you to do such whatever you like. The seat that you leave empty is big. I don’t think others are fit for it.”

“I don’t care about that.”

General Midou said flatly.

General Kisaragi’s words got stuck.

“Certainly, it’ll be a big change if General Midou can move easily. It may be a good measure.”

Filling that gap, General Ichinose said. General Kisaragi stares at General Ichinose.

“Do you have any concrete measure…?”

Returning his line of sight to General Midou, General Kisaragi asked. He’s clenching his teeth.

“My son is getting more and more capable. I want to start using him in earnest.”

General Midou saw the young man sitting diagonally to him and said.

General Kisaragi also sees him.

“…OK. I’ll report it.”

After a moment of silence, General Kisaragi sits down and gives some instructions to the secretary next to him.

“Let’s go, Tsurugi.”

General Midou instructed his son, Midou Tsurugi, to stand up and leave the room this time.

Prev ToC Next


WTH his father is a general!?

Want more? Check out my patreon for 4 more chapters!

6 thoughts on “OTO Chapter 55

  1. Yeah, the game was rigged from the start.

    MC got lied to by his supposed friends so hard, that it’s surprising why he just doesn’t ditch his civilian persona.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment