OTO Chapter 70

[Darkness of the Eyes]

*goton goton* My body jolted.

When I woke up, I was sitting in the passenger seat of a car.

The car lights up the night and runs on the highway.

I felt a deja vu at this situation.

When I looked beside me, Tameiki-san is driving with sleepy eyes.

“You woke up.”

I wonder why she made me fainted this time. Even though I didn’t want to resist.

“…If I remember correctly, we’re going to Yoiyami-san’s place, right?”

I traced my memory to when I was on the verge of fainting.

“That’s right.”

Yoiyami-san, huh… It’s the first time I heard of that person was Tameiki-san’s master.

“You do know that Yoiyami-san can no longer kill people, right?”

“Ahh, I’ve heard of it.”

“Will such a person oversee my training?”

“That’s up to you. If he’s interested in you, he should be willing to oversee your training. Just in case, I’ll also ask him, but if I failed, you have to do it yourself somehow.”

“Eeh…”

“You better prepare yourself. Yoiyami’s training is quite difficult.”

A training that even made Tameiki-san said it is difficult…, what kind of training it actually is, I wonder.

Then, Tameiki-san dealt a final blow to me who was already getting cold feet,

“Rather than training, that sure is more like a torture.”

“Eh?”

“Even the worst tempered person may have their personality changed.”

“…”

If that’s the case, then it’s already a different story though.

“As I thought, I should stop…”

“You can’t. We’ll be there soon”

I could see a city ahead of the highway.

That is the city where Yoiyami-san lives, New Road.

ーーー

The rundown apartment where Yoiyami-san lives is on the outskirts of the city.

Since I’ve been here before, I guided Tameiki-san there.

“Here?”

“Yes.”

When we arrived in front of Yoiyami-san’s room, Tameiki-san suddenly twisted the door knob and tried to get inside.

However, the door is locked.

“It’s locked.”

“That’s natural, right.”

There was no bell in the room, so I knocked on the door instead of Tameiki-san.

I waited for a while and did not receive a reply, so I knocked again, and *gachari* the door opened a little.

A face with a terrible dark circles under the eyes looks into the gap.

I took a step back unintentionally. However, Tameiki-san, who was behind me, pushes me forward again.

“It’s been a while, Yoiyami.” said Tameiki-san.

“So, it’s you, Tameiki. And…Shion, right.”

“…Yes.”

Yoiyami-san seems to not really welcome us.

Even now, he seems to about to close the door.

“What do you want by coming here?”

With a sharp gaze, Yoiyami-san looks at Tameiki-san. The look in his eyes are as bad as usual.

I feel that he has more gray hair than before. His complexion is also worse than before.

Looking at such Yoiyami-san, Tameiki-san said,

“Master, I want to have a bout with you after such a long time.”

‘What are you saying’, thinking so, I looked at Tameiki-san’s face.

However, her face is very serious.

Next, I look at Yoiyami-san’s face. Then, Yoiyami-san slowly closed the door.

Tameiki-san moves me back and stands in front of the door.

When I was looking at Tameiki-san, wondering what she was going to do, she kicked the door with all her might.

Kicked by Tameiki-san, the door blows into the room.

But immediately after that, the blown door bounced back.

I took evasive action.

Tameiki-san avoids the door that had blown away by ‘landing’ on the ceiling.

A terrible killing intent was leaking out from the other side of the doorless room.

Tameiki-san, who was affixed to the ceiling, is looking in that direction with a happy face.

I have seen that smile before. It was when I came back alive from survival.

How should I put it, a really excited kind of face…?

“What time do you think it is now.”

Yoiyami-san’s voice came from inside the room.

Tameiki-san came down from the ceiling and answered,

“It’s 10:30 pm.”

“Do you understand…? Now…”

“Ahh. It’s Yoiyami’s domain.”

Tameiki-san interrupted Yoiyami-san’s words.

*zowari* I felt that I could hear such a sound and I saw something wriggling in the back of Yoiyami-san’s room.

I step back one step at a time.

Eventually, Yoiyami-san appeared from the room.

Then he drops the toe of his shoe on the ground with a *tap*.

At that moment, the light bulbs that was illuminating the area disappeared.

…They do not disappear. They were swallowed in darkness.

Yes, it is the ability of Yoiyami-san.

When all the lights were cut off, the building shook due to a vibration.

At the same time, light was shining into this pitch-black space.

Looking at it, there is a hole in the wall.

It seems that Tameiki-san broke through the wall of the apartment and went out.

The darkness faded and the light returned to the corridor of the rundown apartment.

I turn my eyes to Yoiyami-san.

Yoiyami-san was trying to return to his room, but suddenly turned around and muttered.

“…Should I play for a bit?”

And Yoiyami-san jumped out into the night of the city through the hole opened by Tameiki-san.

I was left behind, so I followed after those two as well.

The sounds of battle were echoing in the night of the city.

I silenced the sounds of Tameiki-san and Yoiyami-san’s battle as much as possible so that the SDF will not come.

It is possible to completely cut off the sounds of their battle if I go near them, but it was difficult because I couldn’t catch up to them and I would be caught up in their battle if I was too close.

The battle ended quickly.

The two’s sounds stopped in a place.

The conclusion must have been out. Thinking so, I hurried to the place of the two.

The two were in a park.

Tameiki-san is lying sprawled on the ground, and Yoiyami-san stands a little ahead of her.

The two are talking about something.

“Hyde said…I already surpass Yoiyami.” Tameiki-san raised her body and said. She put her hands on the ground behind her and raise one of her knees.

“…”

“But I still can’t see the vision where win against Yoiyami.”

“That’s not true.”

“…That’s not true, you say? You’re getting softer, Yoiyami.”

It’s Tameiki-san’s lost, huh.

Yoiyami-san didn’t say anything. Tameiki-san continues looking at Yoiyami-san.

Silence continued for a while. It wasn’t an uncomfortable silence.

“…It’s been a long time since we were having such fun, Yoiyami,” said Tameiki-san.

“Ahh.”

When he nodded at those words, Yoiyami-san turned on his heels. However, Tameiki-san said to Yoiyami-san, “Wait.”

Yoiyami-san stops his legs.

“I came today not only because I wanted to have a fight with Yoiyami for the first time in a long time, but I have one more reason.”

“What is it.”

With that, Tameiki-san pointed at me at the entrance of the park.

“I want you to oversee him for about a month.”

“…”

“He’s my disciple.”

“Then why…don’t you oversee him yourself?”

“Because I’m busy. And he’ll become stronger if Yoiyami is the one who oversee him.”

I don’t know if Yoiyami-san was thinking about something, but he stayed silent for a while.

However

“Out of the question. Sorry, but I’m busy too,” said Yoiyami-san in rejection, and left the park from the opposite exit from where I was.

I run to Tameiki-san’s side.

“Are you okay…!”

“Do something about the rest by yourself,” said Tameiki-san and she stood up. And she patted down the dust on her ass.

“Eh?”

“Clear out the dust on my back, Shion.”

Being told so, I brushed the soil on Tameiki-san’s back with my hand.

“Yoiyami said so, but he’s not being honest. You might be able to get him to train you.”

“Really?”

“Ahh. So, I’m going back.”

“No, please wait for a moment.”

“What.”

“What should I do if he seriously refuse?”

“You just have to wait in front of his room. Until Yoiyami bends.”

“Ehh, do I really have to do that….?”

“When I was 7 years old, I endured for 10 days you know.”

“I haven’t heard of that.”

“It’s fine, if it’s the Yoiyami now, he will bend quickly.”

“Ehh…”

“I’m sure you can do it.”

In the end, she said so and patted my head, then Tameiki-san went somewhere.

Left behind, I stood still in that place for a while.

Prev ToC Next


Want more? Check out my patreon for 4 more chapters!

6 thoughts on “OTO Chapter 70

Leave a comment