OTO Chapter 88

[Lullaby of Separation]

Approximately 300m above the sky, 7 lieutenant generals and 10 major generals appeared, circling the two four-stars (General).

Seven Generals of the Self-Defense Force. Even though the seat of Midou Ryuusui was vacant, the prestige was still alive. With their appearance, the atmosphere of the place changed at once.

“Is that the rumored Fafnir? Even though it’s still a child, its rampage lives up to the name of the mythical beast, isn’t it?”

One of the Seven Generals of the Self-Defense Force, Ichinose Soraha(いちのせそらは), raised his slightly misaligned glasses with his middle finger and looked down at the battlefront on the ground. There was the figure of a mythical demon beast that was firing hellfire to the ground.

Ichinose was the youngest man in history to attain the position of general at the age of 29 three years ago.

The white military uniform of the Self-Defense Force was well fitted to his slender frame.

“Anonymous and Nursery Rhymes. This is the best chance to get rid of both organizations.”

Another general. Tenjoumine Kuugen(てんじょうみねくうげん), an old man with four stars shining on his chest, said so and turned his eyes to Inchinose.

Tenjoumine Kuugen. Like Ichinose, he was assigned to Saint Celia, the headquarters of the Self-Defense Force, and was the oldest of the six generals currently in existence.

Compared to Ichinose next to him, his physique was almost twice as large, his head was mostly covered in white hair and his beard was trimmed, and his deeply chiseled old features reminded one of his long military services.

“Ichinose, I’ll leave that mythical class to you.”

“Yes. Well then, Tenjoumine-san, please take care of the ground command.”

“Ahh.”

“Tsurugi-kun too, don’t push yourself.”

Ichinose said so to Mido Genki, who was in a bad mood and had an uncontrollable killing intent behind him, and then flew to Fafnir, who was rampaging in the city.

Along with that, the white shadows of a total of 18 people staying in the sky descended to the ground, with Tenjoumine at the lead.

ーーー

The battle situation changes one after another. I had something similar to nausea accumulated in my throat.

The Self-Defense Forces reinforcements that appeared in the sky stayed there for a while, but when one of them flew toward Renga, the other guys also came down to the ground at once.

One of the generals who flew to Renga attacked it just like that, and the target of Renga moved from me and Chiyaku-san to that. And a fierce battle in the sky began.

The Self-Defense Force that landed on the ground spread out and started rescue the citizens who were late for evacuation.

I thought that it was convenient that he became Renga’s target, so I tried to return to the Neo Slaceid Building to rebuild the battle front.

However, at that time, Chiyaku-san and I encounter a troublesome enemy.

Tenjoumine Kuugen stood in our way.

One of the Seven Generals of the Self-Defense Force. A man also known as Tendou(the laws governing heaven and earth).

I was thinking of avoiding at least encountering him, but I couldn’t avoid it since they were spread out after landing on the ground. Even if I notice the sound, I don’t know who it is.

We stopped.

“It’s been a long time, isn’t it, Senjiya? To think that you would stick to Anonymous.”

Tenjoumine slowly walks this way. Naturally, Chiyaku-san also walked ahead.

Originally, Chiyaku-san was a doctor in the Self-Defense Force. She seems to be acquainted with Tenjoumine.

“Fumu, Shion-kun, you better go back to command. Go ahead.” Chiyaku-san said. That’s right.

Currently, only Chiyaku-san or Byakurei-san can suppress Tenjoumine, the general of the Self-Defense Force.

The situation as it is, Chiyaku-san has to deal with Tenjoumine.

I nodded and stepped back a few steps.

Because I cannot pass next to Tenjoumine, I’ll take a detour.

After taking a few steps back, I started running in the opposite way.

“Tenjou, you sure have gotten old.”

“Senjiya, you terrifyingly didn’t change.”

After such a conversation, there was a popping sound.

When I looked back while running, a large amount of blood emerged there. The red liquid swirls around Chiyaku-san. Apparently, Chiyaku-san spilled all the blood inside the server. She’s getting serious.

If I don’t leave early, I may get caught up, so I increase my running speed.

Then I grabbed the mic of my tie and called Shikkou-san. In order to check what the current battle situation is like.

“Shikkou-san!” It is connected, but there is no reply from the income. It’s strange, Shikkou-san hasn’t reply since some time ago.

I found it strange, but if there is none, then it can’t be helped. Shikkou-san must be busy.

I made a detour and changed my direction, then ran straight to the Neo Slaceid Building.

――However, I met a certain person there. I stop my legs and catch my breath.

It feels like the worst scenario piles up on top of the worst scenario.

Lieutenant General of the Self-Defense Forces, Midou Tsurugi.

Just like the last time, he stabbed me with sharp eyes.

“Shion…”

Even though we just fought yesterday, to think that we will fight again like this today.

Tsurugi.

I can’t… call you my best friend anymore, huh.

Now… you are just an obstacle. The severed bond is now only a past.

“Shion…!”

*za* Tsurugi takes one strong step.

I close my eyes and cut off the sound collection.

I only got fragments of the battle situation anyway. I have nothing to do with it now after such long time.

Rather than that, I’ll prioritize killing the enemy before me.

Actually, I don’t have time to engage him… but seeing his atmosphere, it’s unlikely that I will be able to pass through smoothly.

“Shiiiooooooooooon!!!” He shouted in anger. At the same time, Tsurugi burst forward. When I noticed it, our distance is closed in an instant.

Soundshot… will not work as usual, I guess. Thinking so, I immediately twisted my body to retreat, but my arm was caught and I was drawn to him.

Then his fist struck my belly just like that.

“Guha…!”

I couldn’t react. Obviously, his speed is not something that I can outrun.

After Tsurugi struck his fist into my belly many times, he let go of me and launch a high kick.

I guarded at the last minute, but I staggered.

Then I could see Tsurugi’s follow up attack.

Roundhouse kick.

“Tsk!”

While crouching, dodging on the spot, I fired a Soundshot, but as I expected, it had no effect. As I was, I threw a knife and jumped behind. The thrown knife deviates from its trajectory just before it hits Tsurugi and flies behind him.

Tsurugi rushed into me who was trying to keep a distance.

As I thought, all kinds of attack such as ability and the others don’t work on Tsurugi.

It’s a relief that he doesn’t have many means of attack, huh.

However, I also have no means of attack.

“Haaa!!”

While dodging the attacks and retreating, I was cornered on a wall.

Because I overused my ability, my movement was slow.

I gritted my teeth and stared at Tsurugi from under the mask. Tsurugi has bloodshot eyes and doesn’t loosen his attack.

Having cornered to the wall, I became a sand bag, like a boxer who was cornered by the corner of the ring. I did my best to barely prevent attacks on my vitals.

In order to escape from this situation, I fired Soundshot at the wall behind. But at the same time, I allow an attack on my face.

My mask blew off, and I rolled over the concrete wall that was blown off by the power of the Soundshot.

Cloud of dust rose. There is no follow up attack from Tsurugi.

I stood up and pressed my face with my right hand. My struck cheek hurt slightly.

“Haa… haa…”

The cloud of dust cleared, and I caught sight of Tsurugi who was heaving his shoulders up and down.

I lower the right hand holding my face.

Our gazes meet.

While adjusting my breathing, I tried to calm my heart that was pounding noisily.

Tsurugi was stunned with his arms hang loose. His mouth is open a little and his bloodshot eyes are wide open.

“…Kazato?”

A barely squeezed out voice.

“…Ahh.”

Silence dominates the area. After being silent for a while, with bulging eyes Tsurugi opened his mouth.

“…Did you… kill Rin?”

I closed my eyes once, release my breath, and then said clearly.

“Ahh, I did.”

Tsurugi’s body shook slightly. He held himself for a moment, but then Tsurugi fell to the ground on his knees.

“Ahh… You are joking… right? …Why…” Finally, with both hands on the ground, Tsurugi spit out while his shoulders quivering.

In the meantime, I was wondering if I should attack.

However, all attacks don’t work on Tsurugi. It should still be the same even now.

Besides, this is also a chance to escape from this guy.

Thinking so, I slowly retreated and then started running to Neo Slaceid Building again.

On the way, one motorcycle suddenly stopped, drifting in front of me.

The woman on the motorcycle took off her black helmet on the spot, making her long blond hair dance.

“It’s been a long time. Have you been well? Buddy.”

Prev | ToC | Next


That was a bit anticlimactic reveal…

Want more? Check out my patreon for 4 more chapters!

8 thoughts on “OTO Chapter 88

  1. Thank you.

    Welp, RIP all the friendship, it was doomed the moment Kazato’s ability manifested.
    Still feel sorry for that girl though. I don’t care if he kills Tsurugi.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment