OTO Chapter 91

[Lullaby of Death]

Desuko-san and Boss were glaring at each other.

No, Boss’s expression isn’t that hard to the extent of scowling. However, he is restraining Desuko-san with a faint killing intent.

Desuko-san had her face distorted in anger, but after a while of silence, she sighed and shrugged her shoulders. Her expression returned to the same as usual.

Did she give up on this situation, or did she still have some measures hidden? I don’t know, but Desuko-san sighed and said,

“Last words… hm.”

“Ahh, that’s right.”

“Then I want to talk to Hyde for the last time. It’s okay, right? Look, we’ve been through various things so far.”

When Desuko-san said so, Boss looked at the surroundings again.

The corpses of members familiar to Boss are rolling around. If I was in Boss’s position, I wonder if I could stay sane?

“You have destroyed that accumulated past though. Well, okay.”

You’re kidding, right, Boss… Having a conversation with Desuko-san is dangerous even if it’s Boss. You should kill her quickly…!

I appealed with my eyes, but I couldn’t reach Boss.

Boss is still smiling with a relaxed attitude. Even though he should know that conversation with Desuko-san is dangerous.

“Thanks, Hyde.”

“Don’t mind it.”

“…The first time we met, when was it I wonder? Was it about 15 years ago?”

“It was earlier, right?”

“Is that so? Well anyway, you gave me the code name Destroy-chan. I’ve always wondering about this, but did Hyde realize my true nature?”

“You can just read my mind without asking me that, right, Desuko.”

“…You sure are mean.”

Desuko-san smiled with a troubled face. Boss and Desuko-san continued the conversation in such long time comrade-like atmosphere.

“Honestly, I couldn’t have predicted that you would betray at this kind of timing. To think that you were the leader of the Nursery Rhymes.

However, was Anonymous couldn’t satisfy your fetish? You should have taken many missions to kill people though.”

“Don’t call it fetish. But it’s true that Anonymous didn’t satisfy me. That’s why I found Nursery Rhymes.”

“What made you dissatisfied?”

“Look, my ability isn’t very suitable for killing people, right? It’s very good for assassination, but it’s not an ability that can kill a lot of people at once.”

“That’s true.”

“So, it’s though even when dealing with civilians when I can only read mind. Not to mention the SDF, I can’t face them head-on.

That’s why I thought I had no choice but to kill my comrades.

To let everyone recognize my existence, I drive out all those who can fight by using various people, creating a stage where I can become the ruler. Nursery Rhymes too, everything is just a tool for this moment.”

“I see.”

“After that, the scenario was to kill the returning members in order, but seems like I failed.”

“Are you still not satisfied even with this much killing?”

“I am satisfied… a bit, that is.”

I wonder how Roll and Byakurei-san felt listening to the two’s conversation. At least Roll’s expression was complicated. Byakurei-san has collapsed, so I don’t know.

It was only a short time since I joined Anonymous, so I felt nothing hearing the two’s conversation.

Desuko-san is trying to get into Boss’s heart; I don’t understand why Boss is going along with the conversation.

Don’t tell me they’re just having a normal conversation, no that’s impossible, right.

“A bit, huh. It feels complicated for me.”

“Ahaha… With this, is Hyde’s true purpose became distant I wonder?”

“No, this is not an obstacle.”

“Is that soo~. Well, you can just collect more people again, right?”

“That’s right.”

The conversation was paused there. I’m surprised that the conversation that didn’t last longer than I expected.

Wasn’t Desuko-san trying to get into Boss’s heart…?

The indescribable atmosphere dominates the place.

Boss suddenly took out a knife and flipped it with his hand.

Is he going to kill Desuko-san?

*gokkuri* I heard the sound of Roll gulping.

However, Desuko-san stops Boss with one hand.

“Wait, Hyde.”

“What?”

“In that case, let’s die together with everyone. It’s lonely to die alone you know.”

That said, Desuko-san tries to take something out of her pocket. However, her movement stopped while her hand in her pocket.

“Looking for this?” Boss said so and took out a business card-sized device from his pocket and showed it.

Seeing that, Desuko-san wrinkled her eyebrows.

“To think that you even installed bombs in the hideout.”

“That ability is reaaaaaally unfair you know.”

So, you even installed bombs, Desuko-san? You are prepared for the worst case scenario, huh.

Boss who prevented it was amazing, but Desuko-san is thorough as well.

I was also surprised that Boss’s ability was activated. On top of being incomprehensible, the ability was too mysterious. What in the world is Boss’ ability?

“Now that I think about it, your heart was ugly and distorted since the time I first met you. But still, Desuko, I thought it was worth getting you into the organization. More than the risk, I think that you were giving good influence in the organization.

That’s why I made you an executive, so that you can do whatever you wanted.”

“…That shouldn’t be the case.”

“What is?”

“My heart was ugly, you said.”

Desuko-san’s face gradually distorted in anger. Apparently the words just now have bought her anger.

“What’s wrong? It’s ugly, right?”

“On the contrary, why did you say that? My heart is not ugly you know. You can say that I’m crazy or the like. I’m aware that my values are very different from most people. But what did you mean by saying that my heart is ugly?”

“So, you don’t even know that?”

“You’re wrong. The true nature of the heart is decided by the person themselves. Rules, order, and morality are not something that you can’t decide by yourself.”

Desuko-san’s vocabulary became rough.

Boss who occasionally flipped his knife, unnoticedly replaced his smiling face with a pitying expression.

“In that case, can you see your own heart?”

“…I can’t. But my heart is beautiful. I can tell that much.”

“If you say so, then it’s fine for you to think so. But I think your heart is ugly. Just like me, you’ve killed a lot of people.

Too many that it’s uncountable. Our hearts that grew up feeding on people’s hatred, must be ugly, gave off stench, and unbearable to see. That’s why Desuko, it’s okay for you to keep misunderstanding your rotten heart as beautiful until the moment you die.”

“But Hyde, I think yours is beautiful. Living for a single purpose until it became that that distorted. But if you say so, then it must be ugly. Hyde’s heart is ugly and my heart is beautiful. It’s fine like that, right? Don’t lump me together with you.”

“You don’t know what beautiful is anymore. You sure are ugly.”

“Ugly, ugly… stop saying that.”

“Then, why don’t you ask Shion, Roll, or Byakurei?”

“Shut up!! My heart is the most beautiful… My most beautiful heart… can’t be ugly!”

A knife stabbed into her chest at the same time she shouted.

“Ah…! Aaahhh……!”

Seeing the knife stabbed in her chest, Desuko-san stepped back a few steps. Then fell on her butt on the spot.

The restraint on me was released. It seems that the restraint on Roll and Byakurei was released too, as Roll immediately ran to Desuko-san.

“Ah~, I can’t move because my thighs hurt.”

It was the first words of Byakurei-san who was released from the restraint. I don’t know what he’s really thinking.

I shouldn’t have felt anything, hearing the conversation between the two. But it got me thinking.

I take a few steps and stand behind Roll.

Roll was about to fall supporting Desuko-san’s body, trembling.

Although she got hit in the vital directly, I thought it was dangerous because she was still breathing, but Boss took out the cigarette from his pocket without saying anything and lit it.

“Ahh Desuko…! Why did you do such stupid things…!”

“…Stupid things, huh… Were you even listening… Roll. Or rather, you cried… for me, hm.”

Even though she said terrible things, while spitting blood, Desuko-san forcibly spoke.

Even so, it’s frightfully easy to hear the words of Desuko-san.

“Isn’t it natural…! I’ve been together with you since I was aware of my surroundings…!”

It may be painful for Roll. It’s not because she was induced to think like that; it was because of something more than that.

While being held by Roll, Desuko-san turned her gaze to me standing in the back.

“…Ahh, I sure don’t want to, die…”

Desuko-san intentionally smile. I can’t laugh it off.

“Why did you say that to me…”

“…Shion…kun, you have to… love people more you know… If not…”

Desuko-san’s words ended there.

Nay, she stopped breathing.

She detested anything and everything, like me.

Her last words echoed in my head. She seemed to have spouted something unnecessary to me at the very end.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Check out my patreon for 4 more chapters!

5 thoughts on “OTO Chapter 91

    1. It’s still someone she was closely related with for such a long long time. Getting very conlicted emotionally is normal. It will be weird if she straight out do a 180 there. It would be a bad writting too. You can argue that the other 2 who are not conflicted could stop her since she can get herself killed by some last breath move of desuko and shion was going to do that but since he saw the boss doing nothing he understood that it was fine and boss would activate his ability and stop any last ditch effort from desuko.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment