OTO Chapter 101

[The Collapse That was Seen One Day]

There is a small village called Derrida at the opposite side of Saint Celia and Mt. Jiize.

Originally, Derrida was an independent village that was not protected by the Self-Defense Forces, so it seems that they lived in a primitive and poor life.

Anonymous and this village made a deal, that is for Anonymous to provide supplies and financial assistance regularly in exchange for building a branch in the village. However, as the villagers joined Anonymous one after another, the village became completely occupied by the organization. Therefore, the Derrida branch, which is a village only on the surface, functioned as an excellent branch.

Although the village is surrounded by forest, since Derrida is close to Saint Celia, it enables us to perform guerilla activities.

Boss decided this place as the new hideout because of such advantages.

There were various sections that it lacked in order to have it to function as a hideout, but it’s not a big problem because the members belonging to the headquarters were completely wiped out because of the incident last time.

Boss announced a policy to integrate each branch into Derrida.

It has been half a year since then.

“Haah, it sure is humid here.”

With tuxedo on her shoulder, Roll in short short-sleeved shirt walks ahead of me. I was walking after Roll.

The floor of the underground passage is muddy; when combined with the humidity, it releases a strange smell.

It was raining yesterday, so when everyone walked through this place with muddy soles, it will become like this.

We were on our way back to the hideout after completing our mission.

The distance from the hidden underground parking lot to the current hideout, Derrida, is quite far. So, we had to go through this underground passage to get back to the village.

“However, in just half a year, Derrida sure has become a great place as a hideout.”

With the matter last time, I thought Anonymous was over, but I didn’t think it had such a strong root.

Although there are some inconveniences, there is almost no problem in daily life now.

The shelled underground hideout in Derrida Village had already has its construction completed down to the 4th basement floor; it is already as big as the previous hideout.

And its population has mostly restored due to the integration of the Tsuhara branch and the Limbragal branch.

However, the fact that the residing personnel were restricted in the hideout was a bit of a problem. This is because it wasn’t easy to get in and out of the hideout due to its location.

Because it is close to Saint Celia, the possibility of being noticed by the Self-Defense Forces increase as well.

Therefore, we are no longer allowed to go out to the city without permission.

This is the reason why the number of members who choose to live in each city and perform works that can be completed from there has increased.

However, as a kind of reform, the turnover rate of Anonymous is increasing. It seems that Boss wants to gather the members in one place for some reason.

Perhaps he is wary of attack like last time.

“Well, that’s right. It’s not as comfortable as Slaceid though.”

“I really want to be excused from the lots of bugs.”

“I’m fine with the bugs, but there’s no entertainment here. And we have to get permission even if we’re just going to eat out and shopping.”

Certainly, you can get them if you ask the supplies group, but there’s no fun in that.

“We’re still better off because we can go out often on missions.”

“You’re right.”

As we walked while talking, we passed through the underground passage and came out to the underground hideout.

When we entered the hideout, it immediately became cool thanks to the air conditioner. Though it seems that the most difficult problem here is to pull electricity and water down here.

“Well then, I’ll return to the room after reporting the mission. Shion should go back ahead and prepare for the next mission.”

“Got it.”

With that said, Roll head for the mission office, and then I go down the stairs to the room.

The one who filled the hole of the dead Shikkou-san was Cuffs-san who was in charge of the management of the Tsuhara branch. Unlike Shikkou-san, she seems to be unable to connect with the Observer, but she is an excellent administrator.

In the new hideout, the monitor room and the mission office are separated. It seems that it was because there’s no one who could manage them at the same time like Shikkou-san.

The hole opened by the death of Desuko-san was not filled yet. There seems to be no candidate so far.

Byakurei-san stopped wandering because he was berated by other executive members, and now he is settling down in this hideout.

“Ah.”

On the way to the room, I saw Tameiki-san in the cafeteria.

Tameiki-san is eating a meal alone in the corner of the cafeteria.

I wonder if Tameiki-san also just returned from her mission, her suit is tattered and her hair is a little unkempt.

It is undeniable that the current Anonymous is shorthanded during its rebuilding period. It is inevitable that the executives who are strong and has a high mission success rate would be exploited.

However, we are expected to work more than twice as much to appeal that Anonymous is alive and well.

Therefore, Tameiki-san looks like she is tired. No, she always looks tired, but these days, she looks extra tired.

Besides, I often see Tameiki-san looks lonely since the matter of Desuko-san.

They said that during such a busy time, Desuko-san used to help Tameiki-san.

“…………”

I go to the cafeteria and stood in front of Tameiki-san. Tameiki-san only moves her eyes to catch sight of me.

“Shion, huh.”

“Hello, Tameiki-san. Seems like you’re busy.”

“Ahh. Seems like you are doing your best too.”

“I’m just doing some chores.”

“I see. Then, I’ll complain to Hyde to make up for it.”

“No, please spare me.” After I said that, the conversation is paused for a while.

I sit in the chair opposite to Tameiki-san and check the time with the phone I took out of my pocket.

The time is 5 pm. It’s still two hours before I have to leave for my next mission.

“So, do you need something, Shion?”

“No, I just came to talk because I saw you.”

“What. I thought you would like to get more training.”

“I have no time to train in the current state of Anonymous, you know.”

“Indeed.”

“By the way, Tameiki-san, what kind of mission did you go to today?”

“It’s an extermination of a large number of demon beasts near the Basara branch. I had quite a hard time.”

Uwa. I definitely don’t want to do such a mission.

“Hee~. As expected of Tameiki-san. Do you also have a mission after this?”

“Ahh, though it’s not a big deal…”

Suddenly, I feel someone standing behind me.

“I’m sorry for interrupting such a fun conversation. Tameiki, can you give me a minute?”

The one who interrupted our conversation was Shido-san.

When I turned around, I saw Shido-san still wearing hot-looking clothes even though it’s already summer.

“Shido, huh.”

“It’s been a long time, Shido-san.”

“It’s been a long time, Shion-kun.”

“Shall I leave my seat?”

“No, you don’t need to.”

Being told so, I continue to sit in front of Tameiki-san.

Tameiki-san is looking at Shido-san with a slight frown.

“You bring a troublesome matter right, Shido?”

“Fufu, you know me well.”

“You have such a face after all.”

“Though it is troublesome, it is a good news for the organization. Just a while ago, there was an information on the sighting of Utsusemi.”

Utsusemi-san.

One of the current six Anonymous executives.

A man whose wandering habit surpassing Byakurei-san and rarely returns to the hideout.

He didn’t even come back while the hideout was being rebuilt, so he became a kind of wanted target recently.

That Utsusemi-san was found?

“Sorry, but I’ll refuse.” Tameiki-san stood up and said so. I frown.

“Wait, I’m just saying that there was a sighting information of him.”

“You want to tell me to bring him back, right? Utsusemi I mean.”

“Yes, as you’ve said. I wonder if I can ask Tameiki – or so I thought.”

“I’m willing to take on most works, but I refuse only this.”

“Eh, is Utsusemi-san such a dangerous person?”

Seeing Tameiki-san complete refusal, I couldn’t help but open my mouth.

Tameiki-san is a person who tends to find most things troublesome, but even so, as long as it is a work, she will handle any kind of mission properly. It is unusual for such Tameiki-san to say she hates it that much.

“That’s not the case. However, he has a difficult personality, or rather, he kinda has a dual personality…

In certain situations, it will be a mission that uses a lot of physical strength.”

“I see. So that’s the case.”

“Can you go Shion-kun?”

“Eh?”

“Don’t be stupid. Shion has never met him.”

“That’s why I want to ask Tameiki to do it.”

“That kind of job should be left to Byakurei.”

“Byakurei is currently out you know.”

With that said, Tameiki-san sits in the chair again and folds her arms.

She raises her head a little and turns to Shido-san as she if she has decided.

“……Okay. Then I’ll go.”

“Really…? As expected of Tameiki.”

“But.”

“…But?”

“I’m taking Shion.”

“Wai-, I have a mission with Roll after—”

“Got it. I’ll reassign the mission.”

Shido-san said, interrupting my words.

And following that, a new person appeared from behind Shido-san, adding a circle to this situation.

“Wait, Shido-san. It’s okay for me to tag along in that mission, right?”

Looking at Roll saying so while brushing up her golden hair, I think to myself,

It seems that it became a troublesome matter.

Prev | ToC | Next


Will it turn into a catfight?

Want more? Check out my patreon for 4 more chapters!

4 thoughts on “OTO Chapter 101

Leave a comment