SLO Chapter 4

[Genius]

(Syrup Side)

Five years was enough for a child to grow into an adult.

I had stopped growing taller two years ago, but my master, Lord Luc–now eleven years old–had grown taller and was almost as tall as me.

He had been a chubby little boy.

However, now he was lean and—perhaps because he began using face wash and other beauty products for his sensitive skin?—his skin was so beautiful.

My master’s voice should be starting to change soon as well, but… his growth had been quite different from other people.

“Syrup, what’s wrong?”

In front of me, there was a beautiful girl reading a book while resting her whole body on a comfortable-looking cushion.

No, it was Lord Luc who had grown up so adorable that he looked like a beautiful girl.

His voice still sounded high since it still hadn’t changed.

And the cushion he was resting on was floating in the middle of the room.

If he wasn’t my master, I would have loved to give a retort or two!

That was right, the cushion was floating in the air.

My master was lying on a floating cushion.

I said it twice because it was important.

I couldn’t help but ask, “How are you making the cushion float?”

After thinking for a while, my master tilted his face that had grown cute yet dignified and…

“Would you like to get on?”

“Huh? May I?”

“Of course, hop on.”

And so, I timidly climbed onto the cushion.

I had never felt something so fluffy before, and it was so comfortable that I couldn’t find the words to describe it.

My explanation might sound misleading, but… I decided to draw a conclusion.

My master was a rare genius who had achieved something that had never been seen before… the cushion was absurdly comfy.

I wondered if he would sell it to me if I asked.

“I’ve never felt so comfortable before.”

“Really? I’m glad you like it.”

“Yes! Oh, Lord Luc. There is one more thing I would like to ask.”

“What is it~?”

“You are always either reading or sleeping, but why is your body so toned? Are you eating properly?”

I couldn’t help but find it strange.

For his beauty, he had been routinely using face wash, face moisturizer, and milky lotion for the past five years.

Other maids often asked me “You have become so beautiful Syrup. What’s the secret?”

I had been using expensive beauty products with Lord Luc every day—was something I couldn’t say, so I just told them it was thanks to Lord Luc.

I understood how he became so beautiful.

However, for exercise, I had only ever seen him taking a walk and sunbathing.

They were good for your health, but nowhere near enough to get your body toned.

But I had never seen my master do any strenuous exercise, so how did his body become so toned?

Besides being his maid, I also served as my master’s bodyguard, his sword and shield.

I never missed a single day of training.

I took pride in being able to improve my body.

However, as my body grew, my master’s body also grew more and more toned. It was strange.

He was always sleeping. But when I changed his clothes, I saw that his abdominal muscles were ripped.

“Hmm~. Okay, I’ll show you.”

After getting off the cushion, my master said “Watch” and began kneading his mana.

I didn’t know what he was doing at first, so I asked and he kindly explained.

It seemed my master was creating a mass of mana between his palms.

“Syrup, I’ll start.”

I witnessed… a real genius.

In front of me was a master-class martial artist.

My master demonstrated various martial arts forms. His movements were as skilled as those who had mastered the path of martial arts. I knew because I practiced martial arts myself.

If I challenged my master to a duel, I would definitely be destroyed.

Throwing, punching, sweeping, hitting, kicking, striking—he demonstrated comprehensive martial arts that combined various movements with such beautiful forms as though he had practiced for years.

My master, who had never practiced swordsmanship or martial arts before, was a master of martial arts.

“Huh? Huh? Huh?”

I couldn’t believe what was happening before my eyes.

My master, who said he didn’t like moving that much, was moving.

Moreover, he reproduced the movements of master-class martial artists.

“What is going on? I thought you hated moving?”

Even when I called out to him, my master continued to show off his martial arts forms single-mindedly.

He only stopped after completing a series of forms.

“How was it?”

The serious look in my master’s eyes disappeared, replaced by the usual sleepy and unmotivated look.

His previous dignified eyes had made my heart skip a bit, but his current lazy eyes were cute too.

“It was amazing. I am surprised that you, Lord Luc, have been secretly training hard on your own!”

“…Training, huh… I have never, but… let’s leave it at that.”

Lord Luc leaned back on the cushion with a sleepier face than before.

“You never? How is that possible? Your moves were so skillful, I daresay that not even an expert martial artist is as capable as you!!”

“Mm, well, I guess so. It was a part of the magic I created, Trace.”

“Trace?”

It was already amazing that could create a floating cushion, and he created new magic, too? If he wasn’t a genius, then I didn’t know who was.

“Mhm. I can activate it when I’m unconscious. It’s magic that replicates moves I have seen while I’m unconscious.

“I myself am not aware that I am moving, so I can’t say I’m training.

“But my body does get training and the moves get ingrained in my muscle memory. Pretty convenient, huh.”

I couldn’t understand even a single thing from my master’s explanation.

I wasn’t as smart as him.

But I did understand one thing. My master was a genius!

At the age of eleven, my master grasped the abyss of magic.

“Hmm~. You still don’t understand? Then again, it’s one of my knowledge cheats, so I guess it’s only natural. Oh, right. I’ve become able to wield attributeless magic quite proficiently, so I’d like to get my attribute magic checked. Can you ask my father?”

My master did things at his own pace.

Over the past five years, not only had his appearance improved, but his magical abilities had also improved.

It wasn’t a field I could really understand.

But I understood one thing. And that was, my master was someone destined for greatness.

“Yes! Consider it done!”

So, I would follow my master until I breathe my last.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

7 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 4

  1. Hmm, he’s gotten quite beautiful. Is he going to be like a bishounen, or get mistaken for a girl when the plot reaches the school arc?

    Thanks for the chapter!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, I mean, he is destined for greatness, yeah. His magical talent is beyond common sense in a lot of ways… It’s plain cheating I tell you!

    Syrup also mentioned that MC looked like a girl too. Imagine caring about your beauty so much you become as androgynous as a fantasy elf! That’s commitment!

    IT would be fun to see him confused as a bishoujo in school, perhaps causing the (original) main character of this romance game to potentially fall in love…but I have confidence that’s not going to happen. These types of stories (reincarnated into a romance game/novel) are typically straight harem, and won’t normally make the MC a trap (how would be charm the girls if he was confused as a girl himself?). It would be refreshing if this story defies that expectation of mine, but it so far seems to be going with the standard formula, so I doubt it will. In addition, although his father wants to kill him, he wouldn’t do something stupid, such as allowing the public to see his son as a daughter, to ruin his family’s image.

    …unless the MC finds a need to secretly and temporarily disguise as a girl for a certain arc, or his father tries to use him as a honey tra–no, I’m trying too hard to make that kind of plot work.

    I’m putting too much emphasis on a single line the author probably wrote without much thought honestly. The MC will definitely just be a bishounen when school occurs. Maybe there will be one joke about it…but it likely won’t play a major part in the story.

    Thank you for the chapter!

    Like

Leave a comment