SLO Chapter 5

[Attribute Magic]

(Marsz Glico Side)

My name was Marsz Glico, and I was the Director of the Ministry of Magic’s Attribute Control Committee Administration Bureau.

I was on my way to visit the residence of Duke Deskustos.

I had been invited to appraise the attribute magic of his second son, Lord Luc Hugaro Deskustos.

Director of the Ministry of Magic was quite a high position and I had been granted a peerage by the royal house.

However, the duke was a top dog of the nobility. A request from him was not something I could turn down.

Well, I accepted his request out of genuine curiosity since his first son, Lord Testa Hugaro Deskustos, was said to bear a rare attribute, [Iron].

Natural attributes were difficult to wield and thus were highly valued.

On the contrary, the ones that could be produced by people or were easy to imagine and hence were easier to wield were valued less.

I recalled the results of recent research…

[Fire] attribute was a natural attribute and was almost impossible for people to make without the help of tools, thus, it was categorized as a rare attribute.

And following the discovery of the variants of [Fire] such as [Flame] and [Lava], the same attribute was also classified into tiers.

[Water] was easy to imagine as people had blood running in their bodies and produced urine and sweat.

Therefore, many people were able to master [Water] and that, in turn, made it not categorized as a rare attribute.

However, the fact that many people were able to master meant that just as many of its applications had been discovered.

Don’t underestimate [Water].

After all, only through deep knowledge and understanding of an attribute could one bring out its full potential.

[Ice], on the other hand, had been categorized as a rare attribute, as people were incapable of lowering the temperature of [Water] to produce it. It was a higher tier of [Water].

Oh dear, hours had passed as I thought of attribute magic.

The [Iron] possessed by Lord Testa, the first son of Duke Deskustos, dealt with natural minerals and I heard he was capable of creating minerals that he himself understood in any way he liked.

It could be said to be a fairly rare attribute magic.

Nobles normally married those with attribute magic and as a result of generations of such practice, their descendants were more likely to inherit attribute magic.

The union of a couple with attribute magic might even result in the birth of a new attribute magic, to my delight.

I couldn’t help but look forward to finding out what attribute magic Lord Luc had before anyone else.

Fufufu, as someone who worked for the Ministry of Magic, I didn’t dislike magic.

In fact, I loved it.

Attribute magic was a talent you were born with, a gift bestowed on you by God.

It was only natural for me to hold the desire to know more about it.

“Thank you for kindly taking time out of your busy schedule to come today.”

A beastkin maid invited me in.

Demi-humans tended to be looked down upon in the kingdom, and it was unusual for one to serve as a maid in a ducal household.

However, I knew from my preliminary research that Duke Deskustos employed several beastkins and fairies, so I wasn’t surprised.

“Why thank you.”

As I wasn’t very religious, unlike most people, I didn’t despise beastkins. I believed that being capable of using magic was proof of one’s intelligence.

And despising intelligent beings wasn’t something I was in favor of.

“Please come this way.”

I was guided to meet Duke Deskustos, the head of the ducal house, and I must say, he was such an awe-inspiring man.

The sharp glare in his eyes was something that you would only see in veteran warriors. He was intimidating.

Although he seemed to be busy with his duties, he still treated me with proper noble etiquette.

My status was insignificant compared to his, but still he went out of his way to personally welcome me…

“I will leave my son to you.”

With that, our meeting came to an end.

I was so tense that my back was soaked with cold sweat.

Was he perhaps hadn’t much interest in his second son? It seemed he wouldn’t be accompanying me to meet him.

But I heard he personally oversee Lord Testa’s appraisal. How biased.

Lord Testa’s mother’s attribute magic was [Stone].

The Duke of Deskustos’s was [Sand].

I didn’t know what Lord Luc’s mother’s was as she had already passed away and her attribute magic was kept secret.

Born to parents with rare attribute magic, it was easy to see how Lord Testa was blessed with [Iron].

But I digress, the circumstances of the ducal house had nothing to do with me.

I was only interested in the attribute magic bestowed upon Lord Luc.

I couldn’t wait to see it.

Before entering the room where the maid had led me, the sense of intimidation given off by Duke Deskustos came to my mind and I couldn’t help but tense up a little.

However, when the door opened, I froze in shock.

A person was floating in the air.

I mean, rare attributes [Fly], [Jump], and [Wings] had been confirmed to exist and have the ability to make one float.

So it shouldn’t have come as much of a shock to me.

But this was unlike anything I knew.

[Fly] could make the caster and other objects fly.

Although it was not so much fly as floating a few centimeters above the ground.

It was the closest attribute magic that could explain the phenomenon before me, but it took a huge amount of mana, which an 11-year-old shouldn’t be able to afford.

Not to mention, he hadn’t undergone appraisal, so he supposedly couldn’t use his attribute magic yet.

[Jump] was an attribute magic that increased the caster’s jumping power by strengthening their lower body and was considered to be a variant of strengthening magic.

As for [Wings], with it, the caster could create magical wings that they could use to fly by flapping them or to attack with, but it shouldn’t be possible to float still in the air with it.

So wasn’t to use it freely as winged animals used their wings.

I did, however, know the fact that one might express their magic in different forms depending on one’s mana pool and understanding of the magic itself.

Still! In front of my eyes…

“A cushion?”

“Hm? Who are you, mister?”

A beautiful girl was reading a book on a floating cushion.

No, it should be Lord Luc, the second son of the duke.

Which meant that the child with a pretty face in front of me was a male?

“Lord Luc. This is Lord Marsz Glico, Director of the Ministry of Magic’s Attribute Control Committee Administration Bureau.”

Wha! I only introduced myself once, and this beastkin woman had already memorized all that? What an excellent maid.

Even I found it difficult to introduce myself with my full title without going over it several times in my head.

“Oh. That reminds me, it was today.”

Lord Luc, still on the cushion, floated down to my eye level.

“Heya, Mr. Mar. My name is Luc Hugaro Deskustos. I know it’s too long, so you can just call me Luc. Nice to meet you.”

“Mr. Mar?!”

After calling me by a nickname he had made up on the spot, he introduced himself.

It was one shock after another.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

6 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 5

  1. I see. I see. So, [Attribute Magic] is just a special application of normal magic. An interesting concept, but it makes sense if you believe all magic originates from the same source of energy and isn’t processed in any special way unique to the person in question. Rather, magic is all about how much you understand the concept in question…which makes me believe it is a practice of manipulating (or, maybe even causing) existing phenomena through an expenditure rather than using energy to cause something to occur. In other words, magic creating fire seems to be completely and fundamentally different from using a lighter to create fire. The idea of “Cause and Effect” seem to be different when in accordance with magic…at least, if I’m reading into this right, I mean.

    Again. It’s interesting.

    Either way, how many Attributes do you bet our MC will gain? One (the everything element)? Two (one for his soul and another for his original body’s owner)? One hundred (every element)? Or zero (villains don’t get attributes)?

    I’m guessing zero because dear old dad is still a problem.

    Thank you for the chapter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The eldest son is envy and the younger son is sloth, I wonder if the other family members have something to do with the other sins? Although the younger sister was described as an object of lust, that alone isn’t conclusive enough to associate lust with her. A somewhat interesting train of thought.

    Like

Leave a comment