SLO Chapter 7

Shout out to fugu and Nico Strik for becoming patrons!


[Appraisal Results]

(Marsz Glico Side)

Working at the Ministry of Magic granted you the privilege of learning special attributeless magic.

One of which was top-secret attributeless magic known as appraisal magic.

With appraisal magic, you could see through the attribute of people and things bathed in mana.

Even in the Ministry of Magic, only some were privy to this special attributeless magic.

“Well then, allow me to appraise your attribute magic.”

Appraisal magic must be cast without chanting.

It was to keep the magic secret, and thus it was only taught to those that mastered the chantless casting.

“Please close your eyes.”

Following my words, Lord Luc closed his eyes.

I breathed a sigh of relief.

Given that Lord Luc was able to create an attributeless magic that could make a cushion float, I was afraid of the possibility that he might see through the appraisal magic.

Because of that, I told him to close his eyes even though it normally wasn’t a necessary procedure.

“I will begin.”

“Mhm.”

He had closed his eyes, but I felt as if his beautiful face was seeing right through me.

I chanted appraisal magic in my mind and appraised Lord Luc’s attribute magic.

Attribute magic worked by bringing out the power that dwelled in a person in the form of words, and at times they might be incomprehensible.

Even so, once the one being appraised learn the words, information about their attribute magic, which they had been completely unaware of until, would instantly flood into their mind.

“[Sleep] and [Sloth].”

I told Lord Luc the words that appeared as a result of the appraisal.

But I was amazed despite myself.

There had been cases of a person possessing two attribute magic, yes.

However, neither of Lord Luc’s attribute magic had ever been recorded before. I felt my body tremble.

The words imply that both attribute magic affected the body and mind, so they might be inferior to natural attribute magic… still, they were attribute magic that had hitherto been undiscovered.

They were, without a doubt, rare attribute magic.

“Ah~ I see. Mhm. Wow~ amazing. Just by learning their words, I immediately gain an understanding of them.

“But I wonder if there are other ways to use them.”

His comprehension was terrifying… while I wasn’t sure how much information entered his mind, he seemed to have grasped the nature of his attribute magic right away.

“Yes. No two rare magic are alike. Every rare magic is unique in its own special way.

“Therefore, if you want to master yours, you must study and practice a lot.”

I couldn’t help but wonder just how much talent the boy in front of me hid.

His never-before-seen rare magic, what were their abilities? How would he develop them? I absolutely looked forward to it!

Truly, it had been one pleasant surprise after another from the moment I entered this room.

“Unique in its own special way, huh… Thanks Mr. Mar. I will keep that in mind when I practice my magic. I’m grateful you came today. But I was surprised. I never imagined that appraisal magic exists.”

“Wha!”

How?! I didn’t chant out loud! And he had been closing his eyes and didn’t see the magic circle.

And yet, he caught on to the fact I had used appraisal?!

“Hm? Is something wrong?”

“How… did you know about appraisal magic?”

“Huh? I mean, you appraised my attribute magic. You must have used magic, right?”

I momentarily forgot to breathe.

Those who had had their attribute magic appraised would usually become engrossed in their own attribute magic and not think about how the appraisers did it.

At most, they would just think people from the Ministry of Magic were amazing to be able to tell their attribute magic.

I desperately tried to swallow saliva in my parched mouth but ended up choking and coughing.

“Koff, koff!”

“Ah~ sorry. Please serve our guest a cup of tea, Syrup.”

“Understood.”

The maid who was waiting by the side offered me a cup of tea.

I slowly sipped it to soothe my throat.

It was fragrant and refreshing and it was more delicious than every other tea I had drunk until now.

Above all, it allowed me to regain my composure.

“Seems you like it. It’s my favorite herbal tea.”

“I have never had nor heard of it before; did you discover it?”

“Yup. Herbal tea is good for your body. I can give you some tea leaves to take back home if you’d like?”

“I would be most grateful.”

Afterward, we continued to talk, joined by the maid.

Apparently, Lord Luc wasn’t very good at explaining things.

Sometimes the maid would supplement his explanation.

In fact, whenever I asked a question that require lengthy explanations, Lord Luc would make a tired face and have the maid answer in his place.

That was how I come to learn that Lord Luc was not only well-versed in magic, but also in beauty, health, and… food? The maid also told me that he had started reading at 5 and created the magic that could make the cushion float at 6.

“Thank you so much for giving me your precious time.”

“Say, Mr. Mar.”

“Yes, Lord Luc?”

“If you don’t mind, can you become my magic teacher?”

“Your magic teacher? I personally don’t think you require anyone to teach you… but yes, I can, depending on what you want to learn.”

I couldn’t possibly teach him the secret magic of the Ministry of Magic.

“No worries, I’m just hoping that if there’s something I don’t understand, I can ask you via letter.”

“So, like pen pals, yes? Being a pen pal when I’m over 40… it may be interesting.”

“Can I take that as an okay?”

“Yes. May I ask you if I have questions as well?”

“Of course, you can.”

“Then, it’s a deal. I’m looking forward to our future exchange of letters.”

“Thanks!”

I had come to do an appraisal, but I ended up making a little friend.

Talking with Lord Luc was so much fun and once we began to talk about magic, we lost the track of time.

I was sure that Lord Luc was destined to become a great man.

I was beyond happy that I got to know him earlier than anyone else.

I would tell my daughter, who was the same age as Lord Luc, about him.

She would surely love to hear.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

6 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 7

  1. Personally, I think the explanation that “people just don’t question how magicians know their attribute magic” very lacking and forced. Anyone with a two-bit brain would think “the method of determining attribute would give the user a political advantage” and, thus (if they have the ambition for power), work to control it. Yet, I digress.

    Either way, I like how the MC is not the only one who will know Appraisal magic in this world. It makes things “feel more alive”, I suppose. Of course, I doubt such a plot point would be further explored, but even just those few lines of text make the MC’s power feel a bit more grounded in the end.

    Finally…that daughter…

    She’s totally one of the heroines, isn’t she? I like Syrup, but I’m openminded. Let’s see what the author will throw at our MC now?

    Thank you for the chapter!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What do you guys think Sleep and Sloth will entail

    My ideas of what they could do is
    [Sleep]
    Always get restful sleep and enhancing sleep and making your sleep quite beneficial to health and able to that for others and manipulate stuff to get better sleep hence the flying pillow

    [Sloth]
    Automation able to manipulate things to be done for you (hence Balloon)

    Like

Leave a comment