SLO Chapter 16

[Entrance Exam]

(Ruby Side)

My name is Ruby-nya.

My parents were adventurers and I dreamed of becoming an adventurer just like them once I grew up-nya.

I fought monsters to survive-nya.

Surviving in the forest was my forte-nya.

I knew a lot of survival skills-nya.

But one day, my parents told me-nya:

“Ruby, go to the academy in the royal capital.”

“Our way of life is difficult.

“You have to get a stable and safe job.”

I loved seeing my parents live freely.

But my parents were worried about my future-nya.

They had been secretly preparing tuition fees and stuff for school for me-nya.

Life in the kingdom was difficult for my parents because they were cat beastkins-nya.

Working as adventurers was the only option they had-nya.

As their daughter, I was worried if I’d be okay in the royal capital-nya.

“Times are changing, little by little.

“A friend told me that treatment towards beastkins in the royal capital is slightly changing for the better because the Duke began to employ beastkins. You’ll be fine there.

“Your cat ears are small and you can hide them with a hat, and above all, you’re cute.”

“Yes, your tail is short too, so you can hide it under your skirt. And you’re cute, so you’ll be okay.”

At my optimistic parents’ words…

“Okay, I’ll go then-nya!”

I obediently nodded in agreement and left for the royal capital-nya.

The royal capital was amazing-nya!!!

The buildings were big and there were so many people, I was shocked-nya.

The food at the stalls was so delicious-nya!

I was allowed to stay at the Adventurers’ Guild-nya!

I toured the royal capital and beat bad guys-nya!

I spent my days having fun until the day of the school entrance exam arrived-nya.

“Is it here-nya?”

I managed to find the exam venue after getting lost for a while-nya.

It turned out there were three exams, I was surprised-nya.

I fought against the examiner in the combat exam-nya.

“Come at me with everything you’ve got.”

He was big-nya.

“P-please stop, you passed.”

He cried and apologized, so I let him go-nya.

He was very weak compared to my dad-nya.

The pretty boy who was fighting with his eyes closed next to us seemed to be stronger than him-nya.

“Next is the magic exam. Please hit the target with magic.”

Fighting monsters required magic, so it was a piece of cake for me-nya.

Next it was the turn of the boy who had fought with his eyes closed-nya.

Huh? He was better than me-nya!!!

I easily passed the first two exams-nya!

But… after that was the written exam-nya! What the heck-nya! I didn’t know a thing-nya!! Mom, Dad, I was sorry-nya. I would definitely… fail-nya!

I could read and did math-nya.

But although I could read words, I didn’t understand what they meant-nya!

In despair, I wrote only my name-nya.

I left the exam hall in despair-nya.

I was sure I’d fail-nya… I was going to apologize to my parents and work as an adventurer-nya…

“Ruby!”

I made it home stricken with despair-nya.

When it rained, it poured-nya.

It seemed after I left… my parents received a request to subjugate monsters-nya. But my parents had since gone missing in a dangerous monster den-nya! It felt like everything went dark in front of me-nya.

I believed in my parents-nya… I was sure they were alive-nya.

But I couldn’t go searching for them because I was weaker than them-nya! I’d only be sending myself to death instead of helping-nya.

I wanted to be strong right now-nya, I had to be strong-nya… how could I be strong-nya?

“Oh, Ruby, cheer up. Look what I’ve got for you.”

I’d been worrying for days when Maria from the Adventurers’ Guild, who had been accommodating me, came and talk to me-nya.

“What is it-nya?”

“It’s a letter from the academy! It says you scored the highest in the combat exam, so you passed!”

It was a letter of acceptance from the academy-nya.

Maria then explained the academy sent such letters only to those that got high scores-nya.

I passed-nya?

“This must be a good sign that your parents are safe! They are veteran adventurers, so they will surely come back alive.

“What you have to do now is go to the academy as your parents wished you to!”

Thanks to Maria’s encouragement, I was able to regain my spirit-nya.

“Thanks-nya.”

“I’m sure you’ll do fine at school.

“You’re cute, after all.

“Besides, you’ll be attending the Alecidus Royal Academy, you know.

“You will definitely grow stronger faster there.

“Not to mention, it is a place where all sorts of people gather.

“At least one of them must be stronger than you.

“With their help, you may be able to search for your parents.”

Maria’s words gave me hope-nya.

At the academy, I was going to work hard to become stronger and look for a strong person to help me search for my parents-nya.

“I’m going to get stronger-nya. I’m going to make a strong friend-nya. Then, I’m going to rescue Dad and Mom-nya.”

I am Ruby, a cat beastkin-nya. I would never give up-nya.

I’d be sure to find a strong person that accepted beastkins-nya.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

7 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 16

  1. Lol do I love catgirls for adding -nya wantonly like that~

    That being said, her description of the dream man, all point towards a certain person eh~

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mmm…it’s hard to give an opinion on Ruby at the moment. She seems to have the semblance of a complex character but is overall portrayed in a flat way. I mean, this was supposed to be her introduction chapter, but all I really know is she’s pretty strong, she’s cute, and her parents are adventurers. I know nothing about her personality or feelings really beside the very basics.

    I don’t mean to insult the author, but so far the story has been more “tell” than “show”. It’s just “this is what happens” and that’s it. All other details are rendered insignificant for the purpose of pushing things forward in the story. It’s a sad thing because, to reach any good height, you need a good foundation to support your tower. However, from what I can tell, this story seems to only care about stacking the blocks as high as possible, rather than slowly building up the base. Perhaps it will be different when it finally reaches the academy arc like this author seems to be forcefully pushing towards, but it’s fine even if it doesn’t change. Truly. Not every story needs to be a masterpiece and this story doesn’t seem to be trying to reach that mark either.

    Also, “But although I could read words, I didn’t understand what they meant”. I don’t even know what that means. If you can’t understand what words mean, then you can’t read them. You may be able to read the letters or recognize the words, but understanding is the principle of reading, right?

    Maybe I’m wrong. I’m not sure.

    Side note~~~ Rudy definitely stole Luc’s test papers. How? Like heck, I know. Even if the Duke is indifferent towards Luc, he is still a noble! A direct decedent to the duke! How in the heck did they let such an accident happen!? And this is definitely not a conspiracy from the Duke’s end either. Not only is the duke too indifferent to do that, but why would he give the test results to another person instead of just forcefully changing or “lose” them? It can’t be the sister (since she obviously wouldn’t want that), and I doubt it’ll be the brother either (he’s too hung up on his own genius and looks down on Luc too much for that. People, of course, can change dynamically to fit the situation…but I don’t think this author is capable of writing the brother like that.). I doubt even Luc swapped the papers, since he could have just originally answered a few questions wrong if he wanted to score low [he might have realized a need to score lower after submitting the tests, but I’m discounting that possibility since the author seems to be portraying Luc as a lazy genius smart enough to think ahead].

    This, most likely, was just an accident. And, like, how? Why? This school looks down on Nobles, huh?

    Also, is it just me, or is it a bit overwhelming how new characters are being introduced, one after another, lately.

    Thank you for the chapter!

    Like

    1. Did I missread something? When did she steal his papers? It says she scored the highest in the practical exam, (meaning only in fighting,) not the written exam. I’d say it’s perfectly feasable that she schored higher than someone who literally slept through that portion of the exam, especially since Luc is probably more likely to hold himself back if he can, in order to avoid the succession dispute at home. I don’t see anything indicating she took his papers. If she had scored highest in the written exam then that’d make more sense.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah, I see. Yes. I misread “It says you scored the highest in the practical exam” as the written exam. That’s my mistake. You are correct.

        Like

Leave a comment