SLO Chapter 15

Shout out to k3171, Karol, and Citino for becoming patrons!


[Choker]

Since getting engaged at the age of 11, my life started to change little by little.

I was still lazy as ever, but before then, I had always been focused on getting handsome, dieting, training magic, and studying.

In short, I had never gone out; though my being too young played a factor.

It was Karin who changed me.

Over the last three years after we had gotten engaged, I had been spending almost every day with her.

Wherever I was, whatever I was doing, she and Syrup would always be by my side.

When she was busy, I would stay at home reading books with Syrup, and when she was around, she would cook us some dishes then the three of us would go out on the town.

She was a very active girl, and whenever I suggested something, she would immediately act upon it.

One day she started delivering food to orphanages.

Another day, she started to open restaurants because I told her she should open one since her food was delicious.

And yet another day, she started developing diet foods because I said wanted healthier foods.

Those days came to an end when Karin went to the academy, and I now had too much free time on my hand.

Maybe it was because of Karin’s cooking? Now at the age of 14, I was taller than Testa and I couldn’t see any signs of my body growing into an ugly fat toad.

My voice had changed and my face had become more masculine as well.

“Lord Luc, would you be reading books again today? How about going out for a change?”

Syrup was now 21 years old, and she had grown into a very attractive adult woman.

Her skin had become more lustrous, and her tail fur had grown fluffier.

Her body began to attract men’s gazes.

Her lap was so soft and comfy now too. I loved resting my head on it.

“Sure, going out once in a while might not be a bad idea.”

“Truly?! I might be the one to suggest it, but how rare of you to choose to go out.”

“Well, I also have to go to the academy next year. I think it’ll serve me well to learn more about the outside world, that’s all.”

“I couldn’t agree more. Well then, I will see to the preparations. If you would excuse me.”

As someone who spent most of his days at home, I almost never went out on the town when Karin wasn’t around.

I mean, why would I when I neither had anything to buy nor a friend outside?

But ever since Karin and I got engaged, I’d been so busy.

Developing diet foods, previewing restaurants, casting healing magic to relieve Karin’s muscle pain—the busy days were colorful and fun.

You could say Karin and Syrup were very precious to me now.

There was just one thing. I didn’t tell Karin that I hadn’t gone out even once for about half a year since she went to the academy. I’d take this secret to my grave.

“The carriage is ready. Where would you like to go?”

Syrup had gotten changed and she had her fluffy tail tucked into her skirt and her cute dog ears into her hat.

She asked so while changing my clothes.

“Well, there’s this place I’ve been meaning to visit.”

“Wow, today is full of surprises. But I hope it doesn’t rain.”

“Haha, it might. But regardless, I’ll go, so I hope you don’t mind accompanying me.”

“It’d be my pleasure, my lord.”

Syrup was kind of peppy. Maybe she was happy to go out with me?

Even though people didn’t take too kindly on beastkins… it made me happy somehow.

“Then shall we go?”

I boarded the carriage with the Duke’s family crest on it.

It was my policy to make full use of my position as a duke’s son when I went out to town.

I’d be a fool to go incognito.

I mean, with the Duke’s family crest, people would give way to me and I could enter any store I wanted.

Upper-class privileges rock!!!

“Where to, my lord?”

“The Great Store Mido, please.”

The Great Store Mido was, to put simply, a department store, and it also appeared in the game.

It had multiple floors, each of which sold different kinds of stuff. In-game, you could go there to buy items and equipment, as well as gifts for romantic interests.

“My, that store is always crowded. Are you sure, my lord?”

“Mhm. There’s something I want to see there.”

“Understood.”

Driven by Syrup, the carriage started running.

Beastkins had excellent physical ability, so they were good at driving carriages. Syrup herself preferred to use her body over her brain and once said she enjoyed driving.

“We have arrived, Lord Luc.”

“Fast, much?”

“Well, no one dares to block the Duke’s carriage.”

I’d support her to do what she enjoyed, but I hoped she didn’t turn into a speed demon.

“Let’s go in, then. Feel free to buy anything you find interesting. It’s Father’s money and not mine, anyway.”

Our family had too much money.

My father wouldn’t say anything even if I threw it around.

“Thank you for your generosity.”

When I entered the store, I found a man standing in front of me.

“Welcome, Lord Luc, son of Duke Deskustos.”

I was impressed that he recognized someone who rarely went out like me with a single look. His clothes looked fancy.

I normally wouldn’t recognize a stranger, but I knew this guy since he appeared in the game.

“Do you know me?”

“For merchants, information is our weapon. You probably will not be to browse our products comfortably with so many people here, so please come this way.”

The man led us further inside the store and into a VIP-only section.

It had a table, a fluffy sofa, and a dedicated waiter with all-you-can-eat drinks and sweets.

“Please forgive me for the belated introduction, my name is Morsekey Mido. I am the owner of the Mido Store.

“It is a great honor for us to have a person of great stature such as Lord Luc visit us.

“I am supposing you will find it boring to be with an old man like me.

“Therefore, my daughter will keep you company today.”

Morsekey sold himself short. He looked to be around 40 and he gave off the impression of a good-natured middle-aged man than an old man.

The girl who showed up upon his introduction had her thick and stiff hair breaded neatly and wore a slightly novel outfit.

It looked like it would be a pain to mix and match, but she had found a fitting combination and it looked good on her.

“It is a pleasure to meet you. My name is Akali Mido, Morsekey Mido’s daughter.”

One of the romantic interests, the merchant’s daughter, introduced herself before me.

In the game, there were 7 girls that were the main heroines + α.

Akali was one of them, and if you dated her, you would start as a merchant in the rise to prominence phase.

She would be going to the academy as well and today I came here to see her, but I never expected she would be attending me.

In-game, you needed to make a certain amount of purchases in the Great Store Mido to meet her, but I ended up meeting her before even buying anything.

“I’m Luc Hugaro Deskustos. And this is Syrup.”

“My name is Syrup.”  Syrup introduced herself when I gestured at her.

“Lord Luc, Miss Syrup, I am pleased to make your acquaintance.”

Akali politely greeted Syrup as well.

She didn’t seem like a bad girl. I started shopping in a good mood.

“Fancy anything, Syrup?”

I asked Syrup who didn’t pick anything while I was shopping.

“No, I…”

Was she holding herself back? But I wanted to buy her something as a token of gratitude for taking care of me every day.

“If it’s all right with you, how about this choker?”

As I fell into thought and Syrup was hesitant, Akali showed us a cute red ribbon-like choker.

The choker–or maybe a collar?–came with a key made of gemstone, for some reason.

“Well… it looks wonderful, but…” Syrup looked happy upon seeing the choker.

“We’ll take it.”

“Thank you for your purchase!!!”

“Lord Luc?!”

“Stay still.”

I took the choker from Akali and then put it around Syrup’s neck.

The key was only an accessory, it wasn’t to unlock the choker, but I must look like I was doing something sus from an outsider’s perspective.

“Wow, it looks wonderful on you.”

“It does indeed.”

Akali complimented Syrup as she looked at the choker around her neck in the mirror.

“Well, as long as Syrup’s happy.”

I had seen the romantic interest and purchased the necessary items for school, and now I got to see Syrup’s smile. Talk about a fulfilling and satisfying day.

Prev | ToC | Next


Trivia: Mido comes from maido ari (毎度あり) and roughly means something along the lines of ‘Thank you for your purchase/patronage/etc.’.

Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

5 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 15

  1. Mmm… Not much to say in this chapter. It was mainly filler with a time skip at the beginning. However, I can see how this could be a good start to a new story arc. Let’s see how this goes.

    Thank you for the chapter!

    Like

Leave a comment