SLO Chapter 18

Shout out to mathew Young for becoming a patron!


~~~Arc 1: Alecidus Royal Academy~~~

[Magic Geek]

『Alecidus Royal Academy』

It was known as the oldest and most prestigious academy in the history of the kingdom, but in recent years, due to the development of magic, it had begun to open its gate to commoners to uncover diamonds in the rough among them.

Anyone who was academically or physically superior, regardless of their origin, would be admitted as long as they pledged to serve the kingdom.

It was done in the hope that it would spur the development of the kingdom and bolster its military power, for monsters never ceased to cause damage within its territories, especially the Marshall Duchy.

This ‘Alecidus Royal Academy’ was the starting point of the adult romance strategy simulation game and also the place where the villainous noble was finally going to take the stage.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Alecidus Royal Academy had blazer-style uniforms.

They weren’t ordinary uniforms as they were reinforced with magic to double as protective gear.

I stood in front of the mirror and looked at myself.

Now that I had turned 15, I was over 180 cm (5ft 9) tall and had a small face and translucent white skin.

My long limbs gave me a slender model-like figure and my hair, giving off a radiant shine, extended down to my shoulders.

I was no ugly fat toad by any standards!

I didn’t mean to brag, but I was…

“Beautiful.”

No man could look as perfect as me.

“Lord Luc, have you checked your luggage? Is anything missing?”

Syrup seemed to take it as her duty to raise me as a respectable adult as I grew older.

She could be a little naggy sometimes, but overall, she was quite accommodating to me despite my laziness. I loved her care for me.

Unfortunately, Alecidus Royal Academy was a boarding school, so we had to part for a while.

“Nope. You prepared everything for me, after all.”

“Truly, you are always so nonchalant… I can’t follow you to school. Will you really be fine on your own?”

“Honestly, I’d like to bring you along too, but it is what it is.”

Since some nobles couldn’t function by themselves, the academy allowed them to bring attendants along.

But only on the condition that the attendant was at most two years older than the master.

It was for this reason influential nobles assigned several personal maids and butlers to their children.

Syrup was my only personal maid, so I had to go to the academy by myself.

If I exercised the power of my family, I might be able to make them bend the rules and bring Syrup along.

But Syrup was a beastkin. She might receive unkind treatment at the academy.

I didn’t want her to go through such things, so I ultimately decided not to take her along.

Normally, nobles weren’t obligated to have attendants. But that apparently wasn’t the case for a scion of a ducal house like me.

To save face, they said.

While I’d been wondering what to do, Syrup had reported to me that my father had found me an attendant.

“However, as your personal maid, I can’t help but worry if your assigned attendant will be able to take care of you properly.”

“Yes, yes. But no worries. I’m low-maintenance, you know that.”

“That may be true, but… I want to take care of you personally, Lord Luc!”

Syrup was quite—no, very attached to me. So was I to her.

While my family never cared about me, she was there to give me all the love I needed.

No one could replace her place in my heart.

“I’m happy to hear that, Syrup. I can’t thank you enough.”

Saying that, I embraced Syrup.

“Lord Luc!!!”

Syrup’s tail stood up in surprise.

“Have faith in me and wait for me.”

“I have and I will be waiting for you. But… I will be lonely.”

“Thanks. Look after the mansion while I’m gone, okay?”

“All right… from the bottom of my heart, I will be looking forward to your return.”

Today was the entrance ceremony, and I was taking the carriage with the ducal house’s crest to the academy, driven by my family’s driver.

Syrup was sitting across from me. She loved me like a sister than my actual sister, mother even.

I’d like to cherish her for all the love she gave me.

“Mm. After I graduate, I’m going to marry Karin. At that time, come with me.”

“It will be my pleasure! Wait, huh?! May I?!”

She might have intended to quit her job as a maid once I got married.

When I told her I’d like her to come with me, her tail wagged furiously in delight.

“Mhm. I’m not sure if Karin will allow it, but I want you to give birth to my child, if you would.”

“Ehh!!!”

“Fufu. Looks like we’ve arrived. I’m off.”

I left Syrup in the carriage and passed through the school gate.

“I wish you have fun at school, my lord!!!” Syrup got off the carriage and bowed deeply to see me off.

I turned around and waved at her.

It was going to be lonely days without Syrup.

But once the school year was over, I could go home to see her, so I’d have to be patient until then.

Before the entrance ceremony, I had to apply for a room at the dormitory.

But first, I got an appointment to meet the person who would serve as my attendant.

“Might you be Lord Luc?”

Someone called out to me on my way to the meeting place.

When I turned around, I found a girl with bob-cut hair wearing glasses standing there.

“Who are you?”

“Tehee, I knew it was you right away. You look exactly as my father described.”

“Father?”

“Oh, pardon me, I haven’t introduced myself. My name is Rivera Glico, daughter of Baron Marsz Glico, Director of the Ministry of Magic’s Attribute Control Committee Administration Bureau.”

After Rivera’s long-winded self-introduction, Mr. Mar’s face, who had appraised my magic, came to mind.

I still exchanged letters with him.

While he only gave me pieces of advice, I thought of him as my magic tutor.

“Ah~, you are Mr. Mar’s daughter.”

“Tehee, you are the only one who calls my father by such an endearing nickname.”

“Really? Then since you are Mr. Mar’s daughter, do you want me to call you Miss Riv?”

“No, that is unnecessary. Please just call me Rivera.”

Rivera had a diligent air about her, like a model student.

She was one of the protagonist’s romantic interest, if I wasn’t mistaken.

The protagonist was a boy whose father was once an honorary knight of Duke Marshall.

Although he was a commoner by blood, he possessed attribute magic and was good at fighting since he had been fighting monsters since he was a child.

However, the game was for adults.

Depending on the romantic partner he chose, the scenario of the rise to prominence phase would change.

An orphan who enrolled on a scholarship.

A merchant’s daughter.

A magician whose father was from the Ministry of Magic.

A beastkin with adventurer parents.

A fairy who worked as a teacher.

A young lady from a ducal house.

The first princess.

Those were the seven main heroines, and in addition, there were also hidden heroines, giving the game high replay value.

“Do you like magic?” I suddenly asked, recalling the passion of Rivera’s, the magician whose father was from the Ministry of Magic.

“I love it! That’s why I dream to work in the Ministry of Magic in the future!”

As I recall, in-game you should be able to get close to her once your magic skills reached a certain level as she loved magic.

Once you had won her affection, in your third year, she would confess to you, saying “Would you reach the end of magic with me?”

“I see. You seem diligent, so I’m sure you will be able to.”

“Thank you! However, I will be your attendant during your time in the academy, so please let me serve you to the best of my abilities.”

“You don’t have to care so much about me. I can take care of myself.”

“That is no good! I would like to take care of you personally.”

She said the same thing as Syrup did, making me taken aback momentarily.

“…Really?”

“Yes. I would love to know more about you, and the magic you created!”

Ah~… I’d expect no less from a magic geek.

There was nothing she wouldn’t dare to do when it came to magic and she caused all sorts of problems. Each time the protagonist bailed her out, they would grow closer.

“Well, we’ll have time for that later. For now, I have to apply for a room at the dormitory.”

“I have taken care of it. I can’t possibly trouble you with such a small task!!!”

She was highly motivated and worked fast.

I wasn’t sure why she held me in such high regard, but Mr. Mar must have told her a lot about me.

“Mm, thanks. Then, how about we talk about magic while we wait for the entrance ceremony to start?”

“I’d love to! I will brew us some tea!”

She brewed the herbal tea I regularly sent to Mr. Mar.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

8 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 18

  1. I figured Luc would have some romantic interest in the maid, Syrup, but is it ok for him to do so? Isn’t he already engaged to be married off? Like, if he were the next heir that’d be one thing, but he isn’t. So he’s technically the one in a lower position than his fiance, right? Isn’t he fucked if he messes up the engagement?

    Putting that aside, I really like Karin, so I hope he doesn’t break her heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He’s not actually engaged to be married off. He’s engaged because the father didn’t say anything against it. There is no pressure on him at all and, considering the attitude of Karin’s family while the engagement was taking place, Luc is definitely not in the lower position.

      Plus, even if Karin (who is head over heels in love and owes Luc too much to leave him) does end up breaking the engagement off, Luc’s appearance alone would make the noblewoman swarm toward his direction anyway. His magic talent and rare genius are just more icing on the cake too.

      Unfortunately, Luc is completely safe in this exchange. Either way, I hope Karin’s ends up fine too.

      Like

  2. [“Mhm. I’m not sure if Karin will allow it, but I want you to give birth to my child, if you would.”]

    …!

    I had to read that line twice, but…fair enough! The MC knows what he wants, and is aware of the emotions of the people around him. I can appreciate it. Truly, I have to give him props for that. Still…! You are engaged, man!

    Ah, well, I’m just speaking without knowing about the customs or anything of that world. Perhaps it is common to have concubines and stuff in that world? Although I still think that you should consult Karin before saying stuff like that or making arbitrary promises, maybe it’s fine? Anyway, you just put yourself in a trap Luc regardless.

    If Karin doesn’t agree, then you either just gave Syrup false hope or are forced to do something behind Karin’s back now. Plus, the question itself might be a problem for Karin. But…well, whatever. Luc is the main character who can do no wrong. Karin will be fine simply because of plot armor!

    [A merchant’s daughter.
    A magician whose father was from the Ministry of Magic.
    A beastkin with adventurer parents.]

    Welp, we should have met these three already. There is also that new commoner, from that orphanage, in the play too…

    Actually, err… How many girls is Luc going to get again? I count six already… It’s a bit excessive.

    Also… [A fairy who worked as a teacher.]


    …yay to ethically immoral working standards!

    Thank you for the chapter

    Like

  3. So the protagonist of the game is that guy who fought with the ducal daughter in the last chapters. Too bad dude but most or even all of your supposed-to-be girls will be by our mc’s side. You’re a good guy (Maybe) so I also hope for your happiness.

    Like

Leave a comment