SLO Chapter 19

[Rivera Glico]

(Rivera Glico Side)

My name is Rivera Glico.

My father is Baron Marsz Glico, the Director of the Ministry of Magic’s Attribute Control Committee Administration Bureau.

The Ministry of Magic was an institution that oversaw magic spread in the kingdom.

And my father was one of their higher-ups. I was proud of him.

He taught me all sorts of things about magic from a young age.

He told me that magic held infinite possibilities and that I shouldn’t look down on attributeless magic so often that I metaphorically got calluses on my ears.

But I didn’t hate it. In fact, it made me fall in love with magic.

Of all magic that existed, the attributed ones were the more powerful kind.

They could either be good or evil depending on the wielder.

Either way, the fact remained that they were, without a doubt, gifts bestowed only upon blessed individuals.

But I found that very unfortunate. I wished everyone was able to use attribute magic and experience its wonder.

My father suggested me since I loved magic that much, I should try to discover possibilities in attributeless magic.

When I was 11 years old, my father met a boy who was a genius in magic.

According to him, because of a strange turn of events, he ended up becoming something of a teacher to the genius boy. It should benefit the boy, as my father was very good at teaching.

My father spoke of the genius boy with a face full of smiles, and the stories he shared with me shook my heart.

The genius boy manipulated mana in ways that other people never thought of, giving birth to a variety of alterations.

The more I listened, the more possibilities of attributeless magic expanded in my mind. I learned so many new things.

Before I knew it, I came to recognize him as a child of magic, or perhaps a monster.

His comprehension of attributeless magic was just that terrifying.

My father kept his attribute magic a secret, but I couldn’t help but wonder how the result would be if he applied his infinite creativity and imagination to his attribute magic.

The word genius didn’t do the boy justice. He was more like a monster who had grasped the abyss of magic.

I wanted to know more about him.

For that reason, I immediately volunteered myself when I heard words that his father, the Duke, looking for an attendant to serve him while he was attending the Alecidus Royal Academy.

What kind of person was he? My father told me that he was a very beautiful, yet slothful boy who tended to find most things bothersome.

How could that be? After all, from what I heard, besides his mastery of magic, he was an expert in the field of beauty and health and he routinely cared for his skin and paid strict attention to his diet. I almost couldn’t believe it.

Beauty care was a very tiresome task.

Yet on top of that, he also cared for his diet and health as well? That was very diligent of him. Me? I’d rather use all that time to research magic.

The genius boy had invented so many curious things, one of which was the herbal tea that my father shared with me.

It was refreshing and went down the throat easily, and I felt like my head cleared up after drinking it.

Above all, it seemed to be good for the body.

The boy sent it to us regularly, and now we couldn’t live without it.

When I asked my father about how he looked, this was how my father described him:

His hair was long enough to reach his shoulders and it was so beautiful it reflected light.

His skin was so white it was almost translucent. His eyes were a little slanted, but his smile was as warm as sunshine.

Huh? Did such a person really exist?

That sounded like some prince that came straight out of a fairytale.

But on the first day of school, I found him on his way to the dormitories.

I was instantly fascinated. Everything my father said was true, understated even.

His beautiful hair shone and fluttered blown by the spring breeze, and his beautiful skin reflected the sunlight.

His eyes were certainly slanted, but as he walked silently, there was a gentle and soft atmosphere around him.

“Might you be Lord Luc?”

The boy I’d always wanted to see was right in front of me.

He was far more beautiful and cooler than I imagined.

“Who are you?”

“Tehee, I knew it was you right away. You look exactly as my father described.”

“Father?”

“Oh, pardon me, I haven’t introduced myself. My name is Rivera Glico, daughter of Baron Marsz Glico, Director of the Ministry of Magic’s Attribute Control Committee Administration Bureau.”

In the noble society, a lower-ranked noble could only talk to the higher-ranked one after being given permission.

If this wasn’t for the academy, never mind talking, I wouldn’t have been able to even greet him. That was just how big our difference in status was.

I was beside myself with nervousness, but upon listening to my self-introduction, a smile bloomed across Lord Luc’s face.

“Ah~, you are Mr. Mar’s daughter.”

His smile was as bright as sunshine. It had my heart skip a beat.

“Tehee, you are the only one who calls my father by such an endearing nickname.”

“Really? Then since you are Mr. Mar’s daughter, do you want me to call you Miss Riv?”

“No, that is unnecessary. Please just call me Rivera.”

It was the first time I met someone who called my father so affectionately.

My father said the Ministry of Magic was filled with researchers.

Most of them were antisocial, and only a few he could call his friends.

Oh no, the longer I looked at his smile, the harder my heart pounded. Concentrate on the conversation, me!

“Do you like magic?” Lord Luc asked out of nowhere. I did love magic, but how did he know? Well, that didn’t matter. What mattered was…

“I love it! That’s why I dream to work at the Ministry of Magic in the future!”

I felt as if I was floating on a cloud. I got to tell him what I loved loudly and clearly… It was just, I was afraid he’d make fun of me for wanting to work at the Ministry of Magic, as others did.

However, Lord Luc…

“I see. You seem diligent, so I’m sure you will be able to.”

“Thank you! However, I will be your attendant during your time in the academy, so please let me serve you to the best of my abilities.”

He encouraged me. He told me I could do it.

That alone made me want to be with him.

“You don’t have to care so much about me. I can take care of myself.”

“That is no good! I would like to take care of you personally.”

“…Really?”

“Yes. I would love to know more about you, and the magic you created!”

I heard from my father that he had created original magic using attributeless magic.

I wanted to see it. I wanted to know more about it. I wanted to learn it.

“Well, we’ll have time for that later. For now, I have to apply for a room at the dormitory.”

“I have taken care of it. I can’t possibly trouble you with such a small task!!!”

I mustn’t waste even a second of his time.

My father had kindly reminded me before I’d departed to the academy: “Lord Luc is a very slothful person, so he’d be really happy if you take care of him.” Therefore, I had to do my best to take care of him and not inconvenience him in any way.

“Mm, thanks. Then, how about we talk about magic while we wait for the entrance ceremony to start?”

“I’d love to! I will brew us some tea!”

Until the entrance ceremony began, I was able to listen to Lord Luc’s thoughts and views on magic, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

5 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 19

Leave a comment