SLO Chapter 21

Shout out to ShitaiNoKootoRyuu for becoming a patron!

T/N: I forgot to mention it in the last chapter but I changed the practical exam to combat exam


[Ranked Match]

(Grade Ranking)

Alecidus Royal Academy admitted 300 new students.

They were all ranked based on the results of their entrance exams.

They were then divided into eleven classes based on their ranks.

From best to worst, the classes went from 0 to 10. The top 20 students were, of course, placed in Class 0.

Students belonging to Class 0 were granted the privilege to use various services provided by the academy, whereas those belonging to Class 10 were subjected to various restrictions.

This system was made to drive the students’ competitive spirit and spur them to work harder to improve themselves.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Students could freely pick their seats. Since the classroom was shaped like a bowl, it was easy to see the professor from any seat.

“Greetings, Class 0. My name is Gloren Research and I shall be your homeroom teacher going forward.”

The professor was a man in his early 30s, and he had a gentle smile on his face. He was an oddball who had transferred from the Ministry of Magic to become a professor just for the new magic tool that would be introduced in the academy this year.

This was where the adult romance strategy simulation game began.

I recalled the game’s opening event as I listened to Professor Research.

“I’m Cirrus, assistant homeroom teacher.”

The assistant homeroom teacher was a young woman that looked to be in her early 20s, but she was from the fairy race, specifically an elf, so you couldn’t judge her age based on her appearance. She was one of the romantic interests.

She was actually several hundred years old and she had grasped the abyss of magic. She was the most difficult romantic interest to win over, you at least had to have been granted peerage just to get the chance to get close to her.

After the two professors finished their greetings, Professor Research looked around the classroom, making eye contact with each student.

“Only those who have achieved stellar results in the entrance exam are assigned here in Class 0.

“It is not an exaggeration to say this class is the gathering of the best of the best.

“Here in the academy, your family background doesn’t matter. Regardless if you are a royalty, a noble, or a commoner, we evaluate you based on your abilities and abilities alone.”

A girl raised her hand.

“Ah, do you have a question, Miss Marshall?”

“You say you evaluate us based on our abilities, but how do we know each other’s ranking?”

“That’s a very good question. Well, I suppose I should distribute these to you before answering the question.”

What I received was a wristwatch-style magic tool.

“They are called Magic Watch.

“They are magic tools that allow you to see your grades and rankings.”

“You may operate them by simply imbuing your mana into them. Go on, give it a try.”

When I did as instructed, a status window appeared in front of me.

I see, with this, they could confirm our status. Did they use appraisal magic to create it?

Besides grades and ranking, the status window contained various other information.

Name: Luc Hugaro Deskustos.

Age: 15 years old

Level: 1

Monster Subjugated: 0

Affiliation: Class 0

Combat Evaluation: A

Academic Evaluation: B

Magic Evaluation: S

Grade Ranking: 2nd

Learned Magic:

– Attributeless magic:

・Life magic

・Strengthening magic

・Support magic

・Healing magic

・? ? ?

– Attribute Magic:

・[Sleep]

・[Sloth]

It seemed you could see more detailed information on each entry, which was exactly what I’d like to do, but… now wasn’t the time.

“Have all of you tried it? After you imbue magic into it, the Magic Watch will identify your mana pattern and register it.

“That way, no one other than you can access your Magic Watch.

“The projected information is only visible to you.

“However, for obvious reasons, the academy needs to keep track of your evaluations and grade ranking, so they are put up on the bulletin board, which is accessible to everyone.

“If you’re curious about your friends’ rankings, do try to give it a check.

“Well, what do you think about the Magic Watch? It’s amazing, right?! Magic tools are the greatest invention that will bring mankind to greater heights!”

Professor Research started to get overexcited, so Professor Cirrus stopped him before he destroyed his image further.

“I’ve heard the rumor, but it seems Professor Research truly is obsessed with magic tools. What an oddball he is.”

Rivera? That was rich coming from you with your obsessiveness with magic.

“How does your status look like, Rivera?”

“…Erm, I think it’ll be prudent if we discuss it in a more… private location.”

Some of our classmates perked up their ears upon hearing my question.

It seemed that it was a topic better not to be discussed in public.

“I will be taking over the explanation.” Professor Cirrus began explaining in Professor Research’s stead. “The evaluations on your Magic Watch are based on the results of the entrance exam. You may see them raising or dropping depending on how well you do on the regular exams, i.e. the academic and magic exams.

“Courses are elective, so it is up to you to decide which field to focus on.

“A word of advice, you’d best give it all you’ve got in whatever you decide. Students in this academy tend to get very competitive, see.”

The students from other classes must be listening to the same explanation. I was guessing it was meant to give lower-ranked students hope to raise their ranks and warn the higher-ranked students not to sit on their laurels.

“There is no exam for combat, but in exchange, we have the yearly Sword Emperor Cup.

“The Sword Emperor Cup is a grand event not only for Alecidus Royal Academy but for the whole kingdom.

“Every time it’s held, the whole royal capital will be bustling like there’s a festival, and preparations are underway so that everyone in the royal capital can watch.”

“The winner will be granted knighthood and given the chance to fight against the strongest man in the kingdom, the Sword Emperor.”

The protagonist’s main goal in the academy was to win the Sword Emperor Cup.

He wanted to become an official knight and join the ranks of nobility.

“To let students prepare for the Sword Emperor Cup, our academy allows In-school Ranked Match.

“A lower-ranked student may challenge a higher-ranked student to a Ranked Match, but not the other way around.

“If the lower-ranked wins, their rank will rise.”

Excitement filled everyone’s faces at Professor Cirrus’s explanation.

What a bothersome system.

Why did we have to fight when we could just study peacefully…? Well, I knew why. Because that was how it was in the game.

The tutorial event should begin right about now…

“Professor. May I ask a question?”

“You are… Mr. Dan, yes? Well, ask away.”

“When will we be allowed to this Ranked Match?”

“When I wonder…”

Professor Cirrus turned to Professor Research, who said, “As long as you have completed your Magic Watch registration, anytime. Even now.”

“In that case, I’d like to challenge someone right now.”

Dan stood up and looked at me.

“I’m ranked 20th, which makes me at the bottom of the class.”

In Class 0, there were 20 students including Dan, so he was indeed at the bottom here.

“Luc Hugaro Deskustos, I challenge you.”

“Why? It sounds annoying, and I don’t want to do annoying stuff.”

Or more like, I hated it.

But, in-game this was supposed to be the tutorial battle. No matter how much I hated it, I bet I couldn’t get out of it.

The original Luc was so ugly that he was called an ugly fat toad.

His pride was so uselessly high that he thought there was no way he would lose to a commoner knight.

But when all’s said and done, Luc was nothing but a stepping stone for the protagonist.

He had his ass handed by the protagonist in this Ranked Match.

The victorious protagonist caught his female classmates’ interest and became the man of the hour.

In contrast, Luc, the villainous noble, didn’t accept his loss and swore revenge on the protagonist out of some ugly pride.

“Hmph, are you scared?”

The original Luc would accept the Ranked Match in response to the protagonist’s provocation. Unfortunately for him, I wasn’t him.

“Haa~. Listen here, there’s nothing in it for me to have a Ranked Match with you.

“Your rank will raise if you win, sure.

“But me? What do I gain? Nothing, that’s what. So why should I bother?

“It’s such an obvious thing, yet you don’t understand it. Are you an idiot? I don’t want to fight an idiot.”

The fact it was annoying aside, why would I help strengthen someone whom I knew would be my enemy in the future? That was so stupid.

“Y-you! You are a noble of the glorious Alecidus Kingdom! How can you turn down a challenge?!”

My attitude pissed off not only Dan but also Lyncean. She stood up and lashed out at me.

They sure had short fuses… or rather, what a pair of pain in the neck, these two.

These sorts of self-righteous people were the most annoying bunch to deal with.

“Haa~ you fight him then, I’ll pass.”

The self-righteous female knight glared at me.

The atmosphere worsened and Rivera became flustered, but right then, a girl stood up.

“I see everyone would like to see Ranked Match between Mr. Dan and Mr. Deskustos.

“Mr. Deskustos.

“Please follow the academy rules.

“A lower-ranked student may challenge a higher-ranked student to a Ranked Match, but not the other way around.

“A higher-ranked student does not have the right to refuse a challenge to a Ranked Match.

“Besides, guiding the people is one of a noble’s duties.

“As a noble, you can’t refuse.”

Huh~ here came another pain in the neck.

Didn’t she listen to what the professor said before?

Family backgrounds did not matter here.

Haa~… now that not only Lyncean but also Elina Cildy Borg Alecidus have spoken up, I couldn’t refuse.

Really, I hate them.

“Okay, okay. As you wish, Princess.

I released a deep sigh and agreed.

Seemed like I couldn’t change the flow of the game, after all.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

6 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 21

  1. I’m really enjoying SLO – is it possible to JUST pay for all the advance chapters for only SLO?

    Like

    1. I mean, if you become my patron on patreon, you’ll be able to read all the available advance chapters of not just SLO but also the rest of the webnovels I’m translating.

      Like

  2. Instead of trying to make her personal knight Dan-kun famous, that ducal girl was trying to make him suffer under our mc’s feet and giving her heart a chance to start to lean over to our mc huh? That’s fine by me. I originally wanted her to be with the protag thinking that he might be a good guy. But if she wants our mc to go with the NTR way, then so be it.

    Like

Leave a comment