SLO Chapter 20

Shout out to Jaidz The Critic for becoming a patron!


[The Knight Hates the Villain]

The class division was based on the results of the entrance exam.

The subjects of the exam were: combat, academics, and magic.

Those that came in first in each exam were automatically assigned to Class 0.

Meanwhile, the one that came in at number one overall—didn’t necessarily mean they came in first in any of the exams—got to give a speech at the entrance ceremony as the new student representative.

“Now, let us give a warm welcome to our new student representative, Elina Cildy Borg Alecidus.”

A rather long name was called out, and applause erupted in the hall. No wonder, she was the first princess, after all.

“Good day, everyone. My name is Elina Cildy Borg Alecidus, the new student representative.

“Some of you may have already known that I didn’t come in first in any of the exams.”

“It makes me feel that I am unworthy to be speaking here, but since I have been chosen, I will try to fulfill my duty to the best of my abilities.”

She had long, beautiful silver hair, and the boys released sighs of admiration at the sight.

Moreover, her body was so well-proportioned it was unbelievable she was 15. That was an eroge heroine for you.

But I wasn’t interested in her, so I turned my gaze to the students sitting in the large hall.

I was looking for the game’s heroines, each of whom carried their own worries.

There were supposed to be five heroines who enrolled this year. One of which was Rivera sitting next to me, and another was Elina giving a speech on the podium.

But other than those two, I could only find one other in the large hall.

She was sitting across from me in the VIP seating area for nobles.

The red-haired girl had her sword leaning against the side of her seat.

Lyncean Sword Marshall.

Your typical female knight. She was the closest person to the protagonist… in case the protagonist didn’t date her, she’d end up getting kidnapped and tortured by the villainous noble Luc.

The torture scene was quite crazy.

“Did someone catch your interest?”

It seemed recalling the game had me smile unknowingly.

Rivera asked.

“Nope. I was just curious about the young lady and the boy across from us. They look close.”

“Oh, she is Lady Lyncean from the Marshall House.

“From what I heard, she is a very brave and chivalrous person.

“While magic isn’t her strong suit, her attribute magic [Shield] has been deemed as rare magic.”

Being a magic geek, Rivera probably knew the magic of everyone present, like a living magic dictionary. That part of her was really interesting.

“Is the boy Miss Lyn’s fiancé?”

“Hehee, Miss Lyn, you say… Please don’t call her that in front of her. She will likely get mad at you.”

“Really?”

“Yes. I heard she is a very strict person.

“As for the boy, I believe he is Dan, the son of an honorary knight of the Marshall House.

“He is in service of the Marshall House as Lady Lyncean’s personal knight, if I recall correctly.

“His attribute magic is [Boost], which is also deemed as rare magic.”

I see… I already knew who he was, though. He was the protagonist.

But I wasn’t sure why… he was glaring at me.

Moreover, his eyes were filled with hostility.

“Why is he looking at me with hostility?”

“Is that truly? Hmm, perhaps because the Ducal House of Deskustos and the Ducal House of Marshall aren’t on very good terms with each other?”

Seemed like… the protagonist and I were bound to have a hostile relationship from birth.

What an annoying setting.

“Fuah~… when is the speech going to end? I’m bored.”

“Why, the princess is very beautiful. Are you not interested in her?”

“Nope. I’ve already got a fiancée and an older sister who loves me dearly.”

“So I have two competitors… it looks like I must work harder.”

“Mhm? What was that?”

“No, it’s nothing. If you are sleepy, how about taking a nap?”

“Can I?”

“I don’t see why not. We can’t discuss magic here, anyway.

“I will wake you up when it’s done.”

“Then, I’ll take you up on your offer.”

While the VIP seat was comfortable, I could sleep more comfortably with my original magic. I manifested Bal in cushion form, lay on it, and slept.

“Lord Luc. Lord Luc.”

“Nggh? Oh, hi, Rivera. Is it over?”

“Yes. Everyone has started leaving the hall, so I thought it was time to wake you up.”

“I see.”

“Anyway, is that the cushion I’ve heard about?”

“You’ve heard about it?”

“Yes. My father said you were floating on a cushion on your first meeting.”

Mr. Mar and I had had exchanged a lot of letters since then. Remembering our first meeting made me smile a little.

“I see… yup. This is it. It’s really comfy, you know? I’ll let you see for yourself later.”

“Will you really!!!”

Rivera shouted in great joy. What a cute girl.

Her interest in magic must be infinite.

“Kh, we have orientation in the classroom next. If only we haven’t…”

She looked like she couldn’t wait to get on Bal and began to ponder whether to skip the orientation.

“Later, okay? We’ve got to head to the classroom now.”

After getting off Bal, I held Rivera’s hand.

“Fue! Y-you are holding my hand!”

“Huh? Should I not?”

“N-no, that’s not what I meant. It’s just, I’ve never held hands with a boy before.”

“Sorry I took your first. Then, shall we go?”

So, I left the hall with a blushing Rivera, hand in hand.

But as soon as we did, we bumped into a ponytailed girl with a sword.

“Hmph. Weakling.”

Lyncean Sword Marshall spat seeing Rivera and me holding hands before walking away.

Of course, Dan, her personal knight, was with her. He gave us a glare before following Lyncean.

“W-w-w-w-w-what is their problem! I-i-it’s not like we are doing anything improper…*squirm, squirm*.”

“There, there. Don’t mind them, Rivera.”

“…Are you not mad, Lord Luc?”

“I’m not. I mean, what’s the point?

“I’d rather have a good time with you.”

“Tehee, that is a very you answer… are you having fun spending your time with me…?”

“Yup, I am.”

“All right… that is all that matters.”

The mad Rivera blushed a little and regained her cheer.

Then, we resumed making our way to the Class 0 classroom.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

8 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 20

    1. I’m guessing here, but Its likely that our mc scored higher than them in either magic, or the combat exams, so they’re probably just mad about that. I mean, they’re both supposed to be super smart geniuses in combat who probably trained really hard for all of their lives to get to where they are, and then some lazy boi just walks in and outdoes them in his sleep. If I where them, I’d be pretty mad too.

      Again, I’m just guessing, but If it’s not that, then it’s probably just some dumn misunderstanding…about either him or his family.

      Like

      1. This is most likely. That or the protagonist is a reincarnated person too and hates the ‘villain’ based o his knowledge of the game. Though that option is less likely as its doubtful the protagonist would overlook the complete makeover the villain has undergone.

        Like

Leave a comment