SLO Chapter 28

[Morning Routine]

I was slothful, but I started my day early.

Why? That, you see, was because beauty… wasn’t made in a day.

Although I’d begun doing skincare routines to avoid becoming an ugly fat toad, it had become my lifestyle now.

To start my day, I gazed at the face of the lovely angel sleeping next to me upon waking up.

This was the most important time of my day.

Humans weren’t meant to live alone, and just the thought I had an angel by my side was enough to fill me with bliss.

If there had been one thing that made me look forward to going to the academy, it was the chance to stay with Karin at night.

Karin not only excelled in cooking but also in academics.

She mainly studied business management in hopes of helping Count Caribbean in the future. She often studied until late at night.

The sight of her working hard toward her goals was both wonderful and lovely.

Careful so as not to wake her up, I got out of bed. It was still rather dark outside, a perfect time for an early morning walk.

I liked talking walks. It was healthy but not strenuous.

Of course, before I went, I didn’t forget to apply sunscreen.

Morning sunlight posed less threat of sunburn, but I’d rather not take my chances.

It was my first time taking a walk around the academy—and anywhere besides my garden, for that matter—so I couldn’t help but walk with a spring in my step.

“Okay time to let off some sweat. Bal, Trace.”

“(^^)/”

I happened upon an open space, so I summoned Bal and entrusted my body to it.

Bal then began to reproduce all sorts of martial arts stored in my memories with my body.

Bal had evolved a lot compared to when I was 5.

Back then, it had only been able to carry a cup at best, with great effort, to boot.

But now it was integrated with three spells:

・Form Change

・Trace

・Control

Form Change was a spell to change Bal’s shape.

Bal was practically a mass of mana and was originally shaped like a balloon.

With the spell, I could transform it into various shapes. I mainly went with a cushion made by a certain famous cushion maker which was big enough for me to lay on comfortably and could function as a vehicle.

If it can carry things, why can’t people? The idea for this spell came from such random thought.

The only flaw of this spell was Bal would become unstable and unable to maintain its form when its supply of mana ran low.

If there was a material compatible with magic and had high malleability, I’d love to try making its body out of it.

“Whew~ I’m sweating.”

Trace let Bal trace the martial arts I’d seen in my previous life and the battles I’d seen since I came to this world, and from them, it could create the optimal fighting style for my body.

Before coming to the academy, I’d seen quite a few battles involving knights and demi-humans.

The academy would be a good learning space, too. I’d be able to watch magic users fight in Ranked Matches.

I had no information about Dan’s fighting style in our battle, so Bal had simply chosen the most optimal way to defeat him.

“Bal, Control.”

Control was a spell that allowed me to consciously control Bal while it was possessing my body.

Our bodies were limited by our brains.

It was a self-defense mechanism to avoid self-harm.

But when I used Control, it was like I was holding a game controller. As such, my defensive instincts wouldn’t be triggered and my body could move beyond the limit.

Bal moved my body.

I controlled it.

This way I neither felt pain nor discomfort.

Have you ever thought that it would be easier if you could train your body by manipulating yourself while sleeping? This was exactly it.

And I could still cast magic since I was still conscious while Bal was in possession of my body.

Regardless of how battered my body became, I wouldn’t feel anything as long as I cured it with healing magic before dispelling Bal.

The only downside to it was that I couldn’t control Bal to do complicated work.

I once tried having it to wash my face, then it went and scrubbed my face, splashing water everywhere. It had a difficult time adjusting its power.

“Phew~ that’s some time well-spent.”

Bal sure was my greatest invention. It allowed me to train both my physique and magic at the same time.

After returning to my room, I took a shower, washed my face, and put on lotions to protect my skin.

Then, it was beatitude time.

Why did I go to the Great Store Mido? Because there was a great item that was only sold there.

It was… ‘Magical Hairdryer’!!!

I couldn’t style my silky hair without it.

A good-looking guy couldn’t possibly go out with messy hair, could he?

The small magic tool even came with cold and hot air flow options. I couldn’t be more grateful to whoever invented such a wonderful magic tool.

Before Magical Hairdryer, I used to dry my hair with a towel. I had to be really careful so as not to damage it, but now I could dry and comb my hair at the same time without worry. It was oh-so satisfying.

“I’ll apply camellia oil again at night.”

Done with my beauty routine, I put on my uniform, when…

“Lord Luc. It’s me, Rivera.”

“Oh, a second.”

…Rivera knocked on my door.

It seemed she had wanted to help me put on my clothes because when I opened the door with my clothes on…

“Ah, you already wore your uniform.”

…She had a very sad look on her face.

Syrup would react the same way whenever I put on my clothes by myself back home.

“Yeah. Shall we go have breakfast?”

“Let’s!”

Our dorm’s cafeteria served food in a buffet style, so you could eat whatever and as much as you wanted.

Did I not bring my own chef? Haha, some nobles did bring their own, but the cafeteria already had first-class chefs and the food they made tasted great so most, including me, didn’t see the need to.

“Morning, Sister.”

When I came down to the cafeteria, I found my sister having tea in the VIP area.

She had low blood pressure and tended to be in a low mood in the morning, so she usually only had honey tea instead of a proper meal for breakfast.

“Good morning, Luc. Miss Rivera.”

“Good morning, Lady Iris.”

“Luc, be sure to eat your fill.”

I only learned it upon coming to the academy, but my sister could be caring.

We never talked much back at home, but maybe because our brother and father weren’t around at the academy? She became less strict and showed her kinder side to me.

“Got it, Sister. Rivera, let’s go.”

“Excuse us, Lady Iris.”

“Yes.”

Karin was also not much of a morning person, so she didn’t come down even after I finished my breakfast.

We could meet again in the evening, so I didn’t wait for her and immediately headed off to my classroom with Rivera.

So was my morning routine.

I might stop doing it when I got older, but I’d like to maintain a healthy body even then.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

3 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 28

Leave a comment