SLO Chapter 27

[Status]

Due to the tutorial battle, the way other students looked at me was separated into three:

Those from Duke Marshall’s faction looked at me with disgust and hostility.

Those from Duke Deskustos’s faction with respect and worship.

The princess and the rest with interest but hesitancy.

And due to the members of the opposing factions, Class 0 was always filled with a slightly bleak atmosphere.

I wasn’t bothered by it, however. I mean, even those hostiles to me would look away hastily when I entered the classroom. None of them dared to make eye contact with me.

“The threat works like a charm.”

“Pardon? Is something the matter?”

“Nah, never mind. You free later today?”

“Yes. Ah! Are you going to let me ride on your magical cushion?”

“Oh, right~. I promised you, didn’t I? Sorry, that’s not it, I need your help with something.”

“Eh~.” Rivera pouted and sulked. How cute.

Her body was less developed than Karin’s, but as one would expect from a heroine, her face was top-class.

“I’ll let you next time, I promise.”

“All right, then. So, what do you need help with?”

“Examine the Magic Watch’s functions. So, are you down?”

“Of course! I’ve been meaning to do so as well. It’s quite an interesting magic tool, after all.”

Having made an appointment with Rivera, I decided to plan out my study.

Here at the Alecidus Royal Academy, we were free to choose our courses.

As such, we could focus on whatever fields we were interested in.

Of course, there were compulsory courses, which were going to be on exams.

This was a measure to get nobles and aspiring knights to learn basic knowledge because they tended to focus only on magic and combat.

In-game, you must select which field to focus on as the protagonist.

Focus on academics, and it would be easier to get along with the scholarship student and the merchant’s daughter.

The two weren’t really good in combat, so they often lost Ranked Matches and were even demoted to the lower class. But their ranks would bounce back up after every exam and they would be back to Class 0 before you knew it.

To date them, you must team up with them and protect them in Ranked Matches.

That way, they wouldn’t get demoted from Class 0, and you would have more time to get closer to them.

Focus on magic, and it would be easier to get closer to the princess and the magician.

In fact, in the princess’s case, you need to focus on magic and combat. Because to date her, you must defeat her in a Ranked Match, and that wouldn’t be possible if you didn’t improve your magic and combat skills as she was a formidable foe.

So, in reality, if you focus on magic and magic alone, you could only pick Rivera.

Focus on combat, and it would be easier to get closer to the duke’s daughter and the adventurer.

Of the two—no, of all heroines, the duke’s daughter was the easiest to date. You just had to train and spend weekends together with her since her love meter was high from the start.

The adventurer was the exact opposite. To date her, you had to prove your strength by winning not only a Ranked Match against her but also the Sword Emperor Cup.

If you consult with Professor Cirrus after you had won the Sword Emperor Cup, you would enter her route.

But in this world, all that got nothing to do with me. I wasn’t the protagonist.

Now then, what to pick? This gonna decide what I’d be doing for the next three years, so I had to carefully think it through… First off, I hated moving, so I could cross combat off the list.

It got no exam, so it was a-okay to ignore.

If I focused on academics, I would likely do a lot of reading and listening, which sounded interesting, but I felt that the basic classes were more than enough for me.

So I guessed, that left magic, huh? I was interested in it, and it was necessary to make my life more comfortable. Magic, it was then.

“Have you decided on your classes?”

“Yeah, Magicology and Magictoology, plus the basic classes.”

“Teehee, what a coincidence. Mine is the same.” Rivera exclaimed in joy having heard my choices.

To no surprise of mine, she focused her studies on magic. Looked like I’d be seeing her a lot going forward.

It honestly made me glad as she was the only one whom I got along with and who would come and talk to me.

In-game, Luc the ugly fat toad had two underlings.

I had no relationship with them, but I turned my gaze toward them.

One was Tashte Park Nezul, the sly-looking son of a count with a mouse-like face. He was short and good at both magic and academics, but not very much at combat.

Although his combat prowess was nothing to write home about, his cunningness and surprisingly convenient attribute magic made him a troublesome opponent.

The other was Himeno Gu Gouman, daughter of a viscount.

She was a potential lover to the ugly fat toad Luc.

She was good at combat, weak at academics, and average at magic.

She had a round and cute face, but she was a little gold digger who aimed for Luc’s money.

Since Rivera had been taking good care of me, I had yet to make any contact with the two.

They got along well with each other as they were from the same faction. Of course, I mean Duke Deskustos’s faction, which in Class 0 had a total of 4 members, including them.

As I was gazing at the original villainous noble Luc’s underlings, Rivera peered at my face.

“Is something bothering you?”

“No, not at all.”

“Is that so? Then, shall we go to the private practice room?”

“Private practice room?”

“Don’t you know? Our academy has various facilities and students of Class 0 are free to use all of them.

“Private practice room is one such facility. It is meant for students who want to quietly study or practice magic.”

Well, wasn’t that convenient? Preferential treatment really was great when you were on the receiving end…

“Okay. Let’s go there.”

“Yes.”

We left the classroom and went to a private practice room.

Other students had to make a reservation, but we, being members of Class 0, could use it whenever we’d like to.

When the door was closed, it felt like I was in a different space. The room was so wide that you couldn’t only practice magic but also train your combat skills.

“Are you sure this room’s meant for studying? It is wide, but is pretty empty.”

“Yes, the space here is being expanded by a magic circle. Normally, it is like this…”

Rivera cast magic, then the room that felt like a different space transformed into a small private room with two desks lined up.

“Oh, now this is a perfect place for studying.”

“Heehee, you’re so strange, Lord Luc. You are capable of amazing feats, yet sometimes you are unaware of the most common things like this,” Rivera giggled.

I looked to the center of the room, where there was a magic circle drawn on the floor.

“I didn’t know you could use magic this way… how marvelous~.”

“I knew you would get it with your fondness for magic. Magic circles are necessary to set magic in a place. They have to be drawn well, or else they won’t activate. Therefore, they require a certain degree of drawing talent.”

Magic was convenient, but oftentimes required effort to use.

Everyone theoretically could use attributeless magic, but they wouldn’t go far without imagination and creativity.

Attribute magic, meanwhile, came with basic spells, so it was easy to use, but it took practice to master.

“Magic sure is deep.”

“Yes! That’s why it’s so interesting!”

Before Rivera’s magic geek switch got flipped, I hurriedly changed the subject.

“Then, let’s get down to business, shall we?”

“Yes. Examining the Magic Watch’s functions, right? Then please give me a minute to write down my information.”

Name: Rivera Glico

Age: 15 years old

Level: 4

Monster Subjugated: 36

Affiliation: Class 0

Combat Evaluation: C

Academic Evaluation: B

Magic Evaluation: S

Grade Ranking: 7th

Learned Magic:

-Attributeless Magic:

・Life Magic

・Strengthening magic

・Support magic

-Attribute Magic:

・[Water]

“You’re ranked 7th? That’s amazing.”

“Is it? I don’t think so. If anyone is amazing, it’s you, Lord Luc. You came in 2nd, right?”

“Yeah, but that’s beside the point. Selling yourself so short isn’t good, you know?”

Anyway, her attribute magic was… [Water], huh? That was a surprise.

It was a natural type, but [Water] wasn’t classified as rare magic because of its high manifestation rate.

“Were you surprised that my attribute magic is [Water]?”

“Honestly, yes. But it’s easy to use, so I think you’ll figure out many ways to use it.”

“Yes! And I have, in fact. Attack, defense, support—you can count on me for everything!”

“That’s reassuring to hear. By the way, here’s mine.”

Name: Luc Hugaro Deskustos.

Age: 15 years old

Level: 1

Monster Subjugated: 0

Affiliation: Class 0

Combat Evaluation: A

Academic Evaluation: B

Magic Evaluation: S

Grade Ranking: 2nd

Learned Magic:

– Attributeless magic:

・Life magic

・Strengthening magic

・Support magic

・Healing magic

・? ? ?

– Attribute Magic:

・[Sleep]

・[Sloth]

“This!!! Are you sure about showing this to me? I’ve never heard of this attribute magic before, it’d be best if you keep them secret, you know?”

“Well, Mr. Mar knows them, and he’s already registered them with the Ministry of Magic, so they’re not exactly a secret anymore. Still, I hope you don’t tell other people about them.”

“Rest assured, I will never speak a word about them until you say otherwise. Now I understand how you knocked Dan unconscious in an instant. But what may this ? ? ? be, I wonder?”

I was wondering about that too.

I pulled up my status and check the detail.

? ? ? = Unregistered magic. Impossible to analyze.

“Oh, I see. It must be your original magic. The Magic Watch can’t appraise it!”

“You mean, Bal? Hmm~, I’m not sure if I should say the Magic Watch is amazing for detecting unregistered magic or it’s useless because it can’t analyze it.”

“The Magic Watch is still in its development phase. It still has plenty of room for growth. I think we can look forward to it.”

Thus, while looking at our Magic Watches, we checked and talked about the details of our statuses.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

3 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 27

Leave a comment