SLO Chapter 31

[Team Meeting]

Dungeons.

Magical places where monsters are born.

They come in various forms. Caves, forests, and underground facilities, to name a few.

Research shows that places rich in mana tend to result in the formation of dungeon cores. They are the ones that give shape to dungeons and govern them.

It has yet been confirmed whether dungeon cores have wills, but they all act the same. That is, producing monsters and expanding their dungeons as if to expand their territories.

As dungeons expand, so does their mana absorption range, increasing their power and level.

The dungeon level goes from 1 to 10, with 1 being a newborn dungeon.

Level 10 dungeons house monsters so powerful that people cannot even set foot in them.

Dungeon cores not only produce monsters but also minerals and mysterious items.

These resources are always in high demand, thus people never stop delving into their depths.

Once the number of monsters in a dungeon exceeds capacity, they will overflow from the dungeon and attack people if left unattended, so they must be culled from time to time.

Monster by-products are used to create magic tools and their cores to fuel them.

Mana, magic, magic stones, magic circles, and magic tools. The combination of them may hold infinite possibilities.

Author: Dungeon Researcher Nortman

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

The academy supervises two dungeons.

One is an underground labyrinth often also used by the knights.

This dungeon is connected to the catacombs underneath a church.

It is home to many unholy monsters such as zombies, skeletons, and incorporeal beings.

They are weak against the attributeless magic healing and the attribute magic fire and light.

Physical attacks are effective against zombies and skeletons, but they are completely ineffective against wraiths and ghosts, which are incorporeal beings.

The dungeon has grown to level 3 because it went unnoticed for a long time.

It is too difficult a dungeon for new students.

As such, the extracurricular lesson for the first years will be taking place in the other dungeon under the academy’s supervision, a forest dungeon.

It is level 2 and thus produces relatively weaker monsters.

Unlike newborn level 1 dungeons, powerful monsters known as boss monsters and rare monsters occasionally spawn near the dungeon core of level 2 dungeons, so it is inadvisable for those with low levels to explore too deep into them.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I yawned while listening to Lyncean Sword Marshall’s long lecture.

“A-are you feeling sleepy? W-would you like to use my thighs as a pillow?” Myril mustered her courage and offered something absurd.

I wondered what gave her the idea that I would use the thighs of a girl I barely knew as a pillow.

She was cute, sure, but she was too skinny and her thighs didn’t seem to feel as comfortable as Karin’s or Syrup’s.

“Y-you! W-what do you think you’re saying?! The academy is a place for learning! Such an indecent act is forbidden here!” Lyncean screamed at Myril’s remark. Keep it down, would you?

“You can also use my thighs if you want-nya!” As if she didn’t hear Lyncean’s words, Ruby offered her thighs too, for some reason.

Her trained thighs were voluminous and seemed comfy, but my attention couldn’t help but be drawn to her tail wagging under her skirt.

I’d love to rub it and her ears.

“As I said, that’s forbidden!” Lyncean snapped again.

We were now in a private room called a Party Room, but she was being so loud I couldn’t sleep.

Should I use [Sloth] and make everyone lose their motivation?

“Thighs aside, I think we’ve heard enough about dungeons for a day, so how about we move on?” I wasn’t the only one getting sleepy, the others were too. I mean, we’d been reviewing what we had learned in the basic classes for hours, and Lyncean’s never-ending explanation didn’t help much, either.

“Hmph, then, let’s decide our roles next. I can handle myself quite well with a sword and shield, so I can be a vanguard.”

“Same here-nya. I use daggers-nya. I’m good at dodging-nya. And I can use attribute magic-nya.”

“C-combat isn’t my forte, but I’ve been studying healing magic, so I’m quite good at it. I-I also know a little bit about how to use the bow, so I’d like to be a rearguard.”

After explaining their specialties and roles they wanted to take, the three turned their eyes to me.

“I want to sleep.”

Now we were done here, right? Let’s go back.

“You! We’re having a serious discussion here! What’s with that attitude!”

In response to the mad Lyncean…

“O-of course, you’d want to. Lord Luc, you can stay in the rear with me and sleep without worry. I will carry you the whole way.”

“T-that’s right-nya. You just have to move when things get dangerous-nya.”

“You two! This guy is like this because you don’t stop accommodating him!”

For once, Lyncean’s anger wasn’t directed at me, but at the two girls.

“Eep!”

“Hmph-nya.”

Myril got frightened, whereas Ruby brushed it aside.

The two were polar opposites, but they cared so much about me and I had no idea why.

Were they trying to get closer to me because of my status as the son of a duke? Or were they attracted by my looks?

Each of the heroines had their own troubles, and it was supposed to be difficult to become friends with them without helping to solve them.

“Haah, let’s stop here and call it a day. We’ll challenge the dungeon this weekend, so be sure you’re ready then. Understood?”

“Yes.”

“Okay-nya.”

“Sure~.”

With that, I immediately exited the room and that was when I found Rivera and Dan talking in the hallway.

Did they get closer already? No sooner had the thought occurred to me than Rivera walked up to me.

“Lord Luc♪ I’ve been waiting for you!” She’d had a deadpan look as she’d talked with Dan, but she gave a cheerful smile to me.

“Weren’t you talking with Dan?”

“Don’t worry, it’s nothing important. Now, let’s go, shall we?”

I began to head back to the dorm hand in hand with Rivera.

When I looked back, I saw Dan looking our way.

Strangely enough, there was no hostility in his eyes like back at the entrance ceremony.

Instead, his eyes were filled with bewilderment.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

3 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 31

Leave a comment