SLO Chapter 38

Shout out to Conner Craig for becoming a patron!


[Teacher]

Dungeon Boss

When a considerable number of monsters are defeated in a dungeon, the dungeon core will try to protect itself and eliminate all threats by creating a monster far more powerful than the regular ones.

This monster is known as the Dungeon Boss, and it possesses an extraordinary amount of mana and a huge magic stone.

With tower-type dungeons, there also exist boss monsters known as Floor Bosses and Rare Bosses that drop special items upon defeat.

It is said that when the Dungeon Boss is defeated, the dungeon core will temporarily stop functioning and the dungeon’s level will drop.

The cause of it, as determined by researchers, is the release of the dungeon’s accumulated mana upon the defeat of the Dungeon Boss.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

[Cirrus Side]

The Ranked Match between Ruby from Class 0 and Lyncean with the same class ended in Ruby’s victory.

Ruby, the winner, took the 4th place in the ranking.

Lyncean Sword Marshall, the loser, dropped to 18thin the ranking.

After watching the Ranked Match between the two, I left the arena.

——Knock, knock.

“Come on in.”

“Pardon my intrusion.”

Entering the principal’s office, I found, beside the principal himself, Professor Gloren Research and another man inside, sitting on the sofa.

“I came to report on the Ranked Match that has just concluded.”

“Hohoho, yes. We were able to watch it thanks to our Professor Research’s wonderful magic tool here.”

A magical monitor was installed in the principal’s office, and it was displaying the inside of the arena.

“I must say, we have quite a few excellent students this year, whether it be in fighting prowess or magic. With them leading the next generation, the future of our kingdom will surely be safe.”

The principal seemed to be pleased with the quality of the new students, but I couldn’t bring myself to convey my honest impression.

The students who had just fought indeed had impressive skills.

However, my interest laid more in the unknown magic I’d had the chance to see after the match.

Researchers were logical creatures.

The talks of attributeless magic created by Luc Hugaro Deskustos became a hot topic at one point in the Ministry of Magic.

I never had had the opportunity to see it with him always cooped up in his mansion, so I didn’t put much interest in it. But I did think he was amazingly talented because it was extremely rare for a child his age then could use magic.

However, having witnessed it firsthand, I could tell at a glance that the magic created by Luc Hugaro Deskustos was unlike any modern magic.

My reason for taking the offer to become a teacher in this academy was so that I could research magic.

However, in today’s age, magic development had been rather stagnant, as most research had shifted focus to things that made life more comfortable like magic tools.

Years had passed without me being able to quench my thirst for the unknown.

Yet, the magic I had seen today had been unlike anything I had ever seen before… a completely unknown magic… one could only imagine how shocked I had been.

“W-what in the world!!!”

My musing was interrupted by the principal’s exclamation of surprise. Something unusual seemed to have happened.

When I shifted my gaze over, I found the magical monitor was displaying Luc Hugaro Deskustos and Dan facing each other.

Are you going to cause trouble? Luc Hugaro Deskustos. The young man’s abnormal state gave me a sense of danger.

Was it a mistake to entrust Lyncean Sword Marshall to him, after all?

As I was wondering… I felt like his eyes were staring straight at me through the monitor.

“I’m just a slothful villainous noble. Never forget that.”

Was that a warning to me?

The amount of mana he released was much more than mine and I had lived for hundreds of years and my mana pool was on the abundant side even among my kins.

I was certain it far surpassed the figures displayed on the magical monitor.

“Hohoho, a rivalry is indeed the best source of growth for youngsters. Oh, to be young.”

Despite the magical monitor’s attempt to measure the amount of mana of the two young men, facing the abnormal amount of mana, it could only wave the white flag…

“Ahhh~!! W-what’s going on?! My magical monitor!!!”

The magical monitor started to spout fire.

It was overheating. The magic stone used in the magical monitor couldn’t bear the high output of mana.

If it wasn’t for the Dungeon Boss-class magic stone installed in the arena, it probably wouldn’t be able to bear it, either.

“Professor Research, are you okay?”

Professor Research rushed over to the magical monitor when it exploded.

The principal and I instantly set up a magic barrier around ourselves so we were unaffected.

The other man, on the other hand, was gone before I even knew it.

As for Professor Research?

“Nooooo!!! My magical monitor~!!!”

It seemed he was fine. At least, I’d like to believe so, since he didn’t seem to be in pain despite being charred all over and his hair went all frizzy.

“That child’s talent is truly out of this world.”

I moved my gaze from the flustered but energetic Professor Research to the principal standing by the window and looking in the direction of the arena.

“Hohoho, his presence will surely inspire his peers to grow. Truly, what an interesting group of children we’ve got this year.”

“I concur.”

“The Sword Emperor expressed his intent to look for a disciple earlier as well…

“Perhaps, among those interesting children, one will appear to succeed the mantle of the Sword Emperor. Oh, I can’t help but look forward to it.

“Right, Professor Cirrus. As one who has seen the abyss of magic, have you no interest in taking in a disciple?”

“Well… there is one student that piqued my interest.”

The figure of Luc Hugaro Deskustos came to mind.

“Hohoho, the disciple of the Witch of the Abyss and the disciple of the Sword Emperor. Interesting, interesting. In any case, how is the preparation for this year’s extracurricular lesson coming along?”

“Smoothly. Although we have quite a few… peculiar students in Class 0, I believe they will do just fine, considering their strengths.”

“I see, I see… It is a generation to look forward to, indeed. Those fools in power are starting to make suspicious movements. I hope you could ensure that our students don’t get implicated.”

Humans were truly troublesome creatures.

They were greedy and always seeking power and status.

“I think you don’t need to worry about them, but I will look out for them.”

“Thank you. A Dungeon Boss has been confirmed to appear in the dungeon the first years will be exploring as well. I will leave you to protect them from it as well as other dangers that may befall them.”

The principal, who was younger than me, bowed his bald head to me.

As I thought about the futures of the students… I began to think about how to best approach him, Luc Hugaro Deskustos.

“Nooo!!! My magical monitor!!! It took me a great deal of time and effort to create it, too!!!”

All while being disturbed by the noisy scream of a certain man…

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

3 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 38

Leave a comment