SLO Chapter 39

[Extracurricular Lesson]

The forest dungeon where the extracurricular lesson was on a huge mountain.

It’d be a three-day exploration, with Class 0, Class 1, and Class 2 going in first so that the professors could ensure the students’ safety in case of accidents.

“Today begins the extracurricular lesson. You will be spending three days inside the dungeon. This means your survival skills will be put up to the test. You will have to find your own food and prepare shelter on your own. If you find yourselves in a life-threatening situation, we will come to your rescue, but keep in mind that it will reflect negatively on your grades.” Professor Cirrus explained as the one in charge of the extracurricular lesson.

The students gathered with their respective teams, looking ready and determined.

“H-hey.” Lyncean was our team leader but since she had lost to Ruby, it seemed she intended to follow my words, upholding her promise.

She had been silent since she’d arrived, and only now that we were finally going to enter the dungeon that she broke her silence.

“What’s up?”

“Is that everything you’ve got? Isn’t it too little?”

Lyncean was wearing heavy-looking plate armor with a big rucksack slung over her shoulder.

Gotta say, she was overprepared for a three-day dungeon exploration.

“No, I’d say I’ve got just enough. But someone certainly has quite a heavy baggage.”

“Well, it’s only natural. We’ll be spending three days outdoors. Women need many more things than just food!”

Myril and Ruby exchanged glances at Lyncean’s remark.

Being an orphan, Myril’s morning prep usually consisted of washing her face with water, and that was it.

Ruby, on the other hand, was used to camping owing to her occupation as an adventurer.

For exploring the dungeon this time, they only brought the basic necessities, such as equipment and preserved food.

Lyncean, meanwhile, was the daughter of a ducal house. In spite of that, however, she only had Dan, a male, as her servant, so she was used to preparing her needs by herself, particularly the stuff for women.

I wasn’t saying it was bad, per se. But for exploring a dungeon… hre luggage was a bit excessive.

“Ruby. Sort out her luggage.”

“Roger-nya.”

“Myril. Explain to Miss Marshall Dungeon-Exploring 101.”

“As you wish.”

Rather than my words, hearing it from a fellow girl should be more convincing to her.

With her rucksack taken off and her armor stripped off… Lyncean made quite a pitiful sight and then she was forced to listen to Myril’s explanation, which was more of a sermon, to be honest.

Thus, now stood before me a lightly-equipped Lyncean.

“C-could you stop staring at me?”

She had a sword on her waist and a round shield on her back and wore a simple shirt and pair of trousers with leather armor protecting her vital parts. Hanging on her waist was a small pouch holding preserved food and a water canteen.

Her toned body was surprisingly slim, giving her a nice figure.

“Mhm. Perfect.”

“Hold on a minute! I get I brought too much stuff thanks to Myril’s explanation. But why aren’t you bringing a weapon?! And where’s your food?! I-I’m not going to share with you mine, you hear!”

Well, should I be glad that at least she actually showed concern rather than snapping at me for no reason?

She sure had grown meeker… Was it because she lost the fight with Ruby? Or was it because Dan had said something to her…?

“You don’t need to worry about me. I’d like to find a good camping spot before it gets dark, so let’s set off.”

“Yes!” “Okay-nya!” “A-all right.”

I had no choice but to step up and give command, since our leader had grown tame.

Thankfully, I didn’t have to walk on my own. Myril was pulling me along while I lay down comfortably on Bal and read my book.

“…H-hey.”

“Hmm? What is it?”

As we made our way to the dungeon, Lyncean came up next to me and called out to me.

“I heard from Dan.”

“Heard what?”

I replied half-heartedly while keeping my eyes on my book.

“…He said you carried me to the infirmary.”

“Well, I was going to, but I left you to Dan, in the end.”

“…I also heard from Myril… that you helped her orphanage. Is that true?”

“Dunno, did I?”

“You sure are a tough nut to crack… I lost to Ruby. She is stronger than me. But she said you are way stronger than her. H-how often do you train?”

Hmm, what was up with her?

She was sure talkative today.

Could she stop talking to me? I was trying to read here.

“I never. I hate moving my body. End of story. The dungeon is up ahead, so get ready.”

“Got it!”

At the mention of the word dungeon, Lyncean entered a battle stance.

Well, it was good that she was spirited, but our work was the same as last time. I put the monsters to sleep, then they finished them off.

That repeated over and over again until dusk when we prepared our tent.

“W-what in the world is this?!”

“Hmm? Can’t you tell? It’s a tent.”

“I know that, but it’s so big!”

“Keep it down, would you? I’ve got a magic bag. You saw it last time already. I stuffed the tent in it. It’s been a long day, let’s get in. I can’t wait to wash off my sweat and sleep.”

The tent was spacious enough for four and was equipped with beds, a simple toilet, and a magical shower.

It was bought and given to me by Karin. Apparently, she and her teammates had used a similar tent last year.

It’d be perfect if Karin could come with and cook for me, but I’d have to make do with preserved food she’d packed for me and cook for myself with the ingredients she’d prepared in the magic bag.

“What an extravagant dinner!”

“Again, keep it down. Proteins and lipids are necessary to maintain healthy skin while carbohydrates and wheat are bad for skin. That’s why you have to watch what you eat. As they say, you are what you eat.”

Our meal was dried meat and vegetable soup with pasta made from soybeans.

Although it was simple, the diet food invented by Karin tasted really good.

A certain duke’s daughter was so taken by it that she couldn’t help but exclaim loudly, so I had to warn her to mind her manners.

After a meal, a shower, and before bed skincare routines, I got into bed.

“H-hey. Who’s going to keep watch while you sleep? Should we divide the lookout duties? I can take the first shift.”

It was already night, but Lyncean became more eager instead for some reason.

I was too lazy to explain, so I left it to Myril.

“Lady Lyncean, that’s unnecessary.”

“Huh?”

“Lord Luc’s magic is in operation even while he sleeps. Therefore, monsters that get in within 30 meters of the tent will fall asleep even while he sleeps, so you don’t need to worry.”

I could feel Lyncean shift her gaze toward me, but I ignored it and fell asleep.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

4 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 39

Leave a comment