SLO Chapter 55

[First Year Sword Emperor’s Cup 2]

[Lyncean Sword Marshall Side]

The Sword Emperor’s cup was finally beginning.

Brother had won the championship and got knighted in his first year.

I wished to get knighted as well.

However, there were many strong contenders this year.

Among the third years, there were fierce warriors who had been sharpening their skills after being suppressed by Brother, Testa Hugaro Deskustos, and the first prince for years.

Among the second years, there was Iris Hugaro Deskustos, the leader of the Noble Faction in the academy. Beside her, there was Caligula Gouf AcGee, the ‘Rogue’. He was the son of Marquis AcGee and I heard he was adept at using Aura.

And among the first years, there was Luc Hugaro Deskustos.

Dan had been steadily getting stronger since the Sword Emperor had taken him as his disciple as well.

They all would surely prove to be challenging opponents.

Even so… I would win the championship!

“Lyncean, you seem to be quite fired up.”

“Oh, it’s you, Elina. Well, how can I not? Brother won the championship in his first year. I have to win as well.”

“That’s good, but don’t forget to be careful… many interests are intertwined in this tournament.”

“I know. I caught rumors that some nobles are cooking something up behind the scenes. You should also be careful.”

After parting ways with Elina, I headed to the venue where the qualifying rounds were to begin.

The match-ups were randomly selected, you wouldn’t know who you would be facing until you met in the arena.

The qualifiers weren’t free of dirty tricks. It wasn’t rare for illegal acts during battle to get caught through video recordings and subjected to fouls.

Accidents that led to death happened sometimes as well.

If you were scared by that, you just have to not come to the venue, then you’d be declared disqualified by non-attendance.

More than half of the students chose this, in fact.

They either had no confidence in their skills or were afraid of the dirty tricks.

Anyway… now I was standing before my opponent, but…

“So you’re my first opponent… Rivera Glico.”

A witch wearing a light blue robe.

She was a first-year like me. The attendant of Luc Hugaro Deskustos.

“Good day to you, Lady Lyncean Sword Marshall. Swordsmanship and sorcery… the path we pursue may be different, but I believe we can understand each other,” Rivera Glico lifted the hem of her robe.

She might look weak and frail, but my instincts told me I shouldn’t let down my guard, or else I’d pay for it dearly.

“I hope you can be lenient with me.”

“Sorry, I don’t I can.”

Rivera readied her staff, and I my sword.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

[Live Commentary]

Live: “This year’s Alecidus Royal Academy Sword Emperor’s Cup has finally begun. It always sees quite a few non-attendance every year, but the remaining ones mostly display splendid skills.

“The qualifiers are taking place in various parts of the royal capital, but I wonder who are the favorites to win this year’s championship?”

Commentary: “Well, one of them is Lady Lyncean Sword Marshall. His older brother, Lord Guts, won the championship while he was still in his first year four years ago.

“Called the [Blazing Maiden], she is doubtless one of the strongest students in this cup.”

Live: “[Blazing Maiden]?”

Commentary: “Yes, it originates from Lady Lyncean’s red hair as well as beauty and fighting style.”

Live: “I guess her opponent is out of luck.”

Commentary: “Not necessarily. Her opponent is Rivera Glico, the [Water Lotus Witch]. Her exceptional mastery of her [Water] attribute magic is widely known.”

Live: “I see, then their match is sure to be a must-watch!”

Commentary: “That, you’re right. This year, we also have upperclassmen such as the [Uncrowned Prince], the [Goddess of Beauty], and the [Rogue], so it will surely be an exciting year.”

Live: “Well then, let us watch the match between [Blazing Maiden] Lyncean Sword Marshall and [Water Lotus Witch] Rivera Glico.”

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

(Rivera Glico Side)

Lord Luc… please give me strength… I fixed my gaze on Lyncean Sword Marshall facing me.

“Let us begin, then.”

Using the mana absorption technique Lord Luc had taught me, I filled up my mana pool to the brim.

“O [Water].” I used half my mana to create as many Water Arrows as I could.

“Wha! So many?!”

I was just as surprised as Lyncean.

I usually limited myself to simultaneously casting 3 Water Arrows at most. Because it consumed a lot of mana.

When fighting monsters, we couldn’t just use all our mana for attack magic, we should also spare some mana to use body strengthening to avoid the monsters’ attacks. That was why mana management was very important.

However, now that I didn’t have to worry about recovering my mana, I needed not to limit myself anymore.

“Well… shall we see if can you take 100 Water Arrows coming at you from all directions?”

I swung my arm down, and the Water Arrows shot toward Lyncean Sword Marshall from all directions.

I didn’t need to supply mana into the arrows after casting them, so I immediately start concentrating to absorb mana in the air.

Lord Luc was able to absorb mana and cast magic simultaneously, but I sadly wasn’t as capable as him.

Still, with the massive barrage of Water Arrows, I should be able to easily take Lyncean down while keeping her at bay.

“Don’t underestimate me!!!”

A pillar of fire rose around Lady Lyncean and evaporated the countless Water Arrows coming at her.

“So the rumors were true.”

“I have awakened my second attribute magic. [Flame] evaporates your [Water].”

I had heard that Lyncean had acquired [Flame] attribute magic after reaching level 20 while I had been helping out Lord Luc with his research. Still, I wasn’t going to lose when it came to magic.

“Lady Lyncean… you may have gained your second attribute magic, refined your fighting skills, and learned how to use Aura in the last six months. You are a formidable one.

“However, I’ve been taught many things by someone far more incredible than you.”

The time I had spent with Lord Luc had been more fulfilling and enjoyable than grinding level.

“Witch. What can you possibly do to someone your magic is ineffective against?”

Lyncean pointed her sword at me, her body strengthened. However, feeling the mana filling me up, I instantly launched a preemptive strike against her.

“Wha–!”

“Did you think I was incapable of close combat?”

Using body strengthening myself, I lunged forward and swung my staff at her.

It might have caught her by surprise, but I knew my close combat skills couldn’t be compared to hers.

As such…

“Debuff Magic: Water Chain, Water Lance.”

I threw my staff aside and used my now free hands to cast two different magic.

One to restrict her movement and the other to attack her.

“Wha-?! Two different magic simultaneously?!”

Lyncean’s body strengthening lost effectiveness and her movement got restricted.

The Water Lance, which was much larger than the Water Arrow, pierced through her armor from close range.

“I knew I shouldn’t let my guard down against you.”

“Don’t you feel pain?”

The Water Lance was stuck in her side… but her sword was pressed against my neck and could reap my life at any time.

“I surrender.”

She sacrificed her flesh to land a critical strike at her opponent… her resolve was greater than mine, it looked like… it was my complete defeat…

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

3 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 55

  1. Thanks for the chappy!

    I just binge read this & some MSM and I love you. Im NEETing right now so im a broke bitch but I will donate in da future

    Like

Leave a comment