OTO Chapter 50

Shout out to these kind people for becoming my patron

Some guy

Wilson Hammer

Major Quincy

Emilio Nieves

B H

Maria Crookstone

Really thank you so much, you guys are awesome!


[Evil’s Counterattack]

The demon beasts has increased. Probably as much as the number released earlier, they are also released all at once.

I was thinking while looking in the direction of the sound.

Doubled.

If it’s like this, even Kemuri-san and the others won’t be able to handle it, and there’s a chance that Tsurugi and the others might be in danger.

Damn, it’s the worst situation.

The sounds of battle of Kemuri-san and the others are still intense.

Maybe, because Kemuri-san and the others has the upper hand, that guy was put in a situation where he had to release more demon beasts.

Speaking of which, he said that 100 demon beasts only took 1/3 of his capacity before…[1]

Now that he has released 200 demon beasts, there is a high possibility that he only has 100 demon beasts left.

Moreover, the only demon beasts that he had gathered are dangerous species that will attack human on sight.

It is almost certain that the man’s ability is the ability take out “things” including living beings from somewhere.

He also take out a damn wall before, right.

As for capacity, is there a space where he can manage the things that he put away?

If humans can also be taken in, we must not let our guard down.

I don’t know what kind of conditions it has and how to use it, but it’s a very troublesome ability.

I hope Kemuri-san and the others can beat him.

I held two chairs that I found in the shoes corner, and hurried back to the place before.

Then, coincidentally, Rin also brought chairs to the place, she got 3 chairs in good timing.

I stack them, and climb on them.

The ventilation hole is just within reach. With her height, Rin won’t reach it, so I have to go up and pull her up.

I managed to remove the ventilation grill somehow, and I put it on the floor.

“Can we make it?”

“Seems like I can if I jump up. I think it’s better for me to go up first and pull Rin up.

“Can you climb it? Because you’re clumsy, you are likely to fall.”

“That’s too stupid, right.”

I looked down and replied Rin.

It was then that I noticed the sounds of approaching footsteps.

Probably a horde type demon beasts.

I didn’t notice until they got so close because the increased number of demon beasts increased the number of sounds I had to hear.

The sounds of their footsteps are small as well.

I said “Tie up your shoelaces” and got off the chair.

Then I look around.

“Gyaaaaaaa!!”

Somewhere, such death throes arose.

Rin was surprised and turned to the direction of the sound.

Did they get a human in this shop?

There are 4 of them. There is a high possibility that they will strike from the blind spots of the lined clothes. I already figured out their position.

They are not big demon beasts.

I guess it based on their small squeals and small sounds of footsteps.

There are chewing sounds. I exhaled, while blocking the unpleasant sounds and supressed my feeling.

“Just now…”

“…demon beasts, right.”

I picked up an umbrella, opened it, disassembled the skeleton and pulled out only the shaft rod.

Although it’s hopeless, it’ll do as a weapon for the time being.

Rin stood in front of me.

“It’s useless…! That thing won’t work against demon beasts. It’s better to go up to the vent earlier.”

“That’s a bad move. Climbing up the chairs would catch their attention, so there’s a chance that we’ll be targeted. Even if we entered the vent, what if they chased inside?”

“……”

“Right?”

“…It’s possible.”

Now, how to breakthrough this place?

We’re getting checkmated at every turn.

We’re also against time. There are still few demon beasts coming here.

Their territories they covered are getting closer and closer, but the vent is not the only escape route left.

Speaking of which, there is a large amount of clothes in the place we separated from Tsurugi.

There is no demon beast there now, and if we drop those clothes to the first floor, we can get down to the first floor in the same way.

Exit 23 should not have been blocked, and if rescues from the Self Defense Force come together immediately, we can expect them to intrude from there.

After telling Rin the gist of it, Rin nodded and ran with me.

I cut off all the sounds that Rin and I make so that the demon beasts can’t notice us.

Shortly after arriving at the place, I and Rin started working.

We grabbed the clothes and drop them on the first floor without stopping.

“You’re surprisingly calm. Even though I had an image that you’ll be panicking at such times.”

Rin suddenly said such things, so my heart skipped a beat.

“Aren’t you also calm? Even though I imagine that you’ll be making a ruckus like *kyakya* at such times.”

“What’s that?”

As we were working desperately while talking, a mountain of clothes immediately formed on the first floor.

However, it seems that dropping clothes from the second floor to the first floor is too eye-catching, the clothes that fell fluttering were catching the demon beast’s attention, a demon beast who looked at the situation here from far away was drawn here.

I was aware of it’s existence, but I left it because it’s still too far from here.

There is no way it can fly here.

It’s my mistake to not ascertain the kind of the demon beast from a distance.

Fly Trollcat.

A demon beast that hides the wings on its back and hunt it’s prey by instantly approaching from afar.

I shouted while watching it approaching in high speed.

“It’s bad! Rin! Jump!”

“……!”

Listening to my voice, Rin immediately moved her body and jumped down to the first floor.

At that moment, I immediately release an explosion sound towards the Fly Trollcat.

The explosion sound heard only by the Fly Trollcat cat seemed to be very effective, and the demon beast bounced in the air and ran away.

When I saw it off, I followed Rin and jumped down to the first floor.

Rin who was hiding in the first floor, saw the Fly Trollcat turned back and said.

“What did you do…?”

“No, I didn’t do anything. It turned back on its own.”

“Really, we are saved then. Anyway, why you didn’t jump together with me. Were you trying to be a decoy?”

Rin said that with a tone mixed with anger.

“That was… I was just afraid to jump down…”

“… What if you die?”

Rin said before I finished.

“Sorry” I apologized, Rin grabbed my hand firmly and proceeded toward the exit again.

Rin doesn’t know that we can escape from Exit 23, so I have to guide her.

However, we are heading in that direction so far, so there should be no problem.

The demon beasts behind us doesn’t seem to be approaching either, so we can escape if we go as it is.

Then, we arrived at Exit 23.

But, what was there was an exit blocked by the same rubbles as the others.

“Not here…”

Why… Kemuri-san said Exit 23, right?

Did he made a mistake? No, that’s not the case with Kemuri-san.

There must be some reason.

Looking closely, there are no people on the first floor. People who have been killed by the bombs at the exit are all lying around, but it’s strange that there’s no survivor.

So, was there any other escape route?

“Maybe we should wait for rescue here…”

Rin muttered weakly.

I also felt that way is better. Rescue should come soon, and it will only increase the chance to encounter demon beasts if we move around.

I though so while turning my attention to the situation of Kemuri-san and the others.

Then, the sound of battle is still spreading while moving, but when I listened to the sound properly, the number of people has decreased.

There are only 3 people, so that means one of them has dropped out?[2]

“That’s right.”

For now, I replied to Rin’s words, and leaned against the wall near the exit and sat down.

“I wonder if Tsurugi and Ohashi is fine.”

“It’s fine. They’ll find their way here somehow.”

“Anyway, what on earth is happening? What on earth are those people…”

I try to say things that I would normally say.

“Maybe, terrorist.”

“… Terrorist?”

“Scared?”

“Well, of course.”

It’s unnatural. Reciprocally.

Normally, this is a situation where it wouldn’t be strange if you go crazy seeing the corpses lying around.

Rin as well, maybe her senses gone numb.

While thinking about such things, I heard a loud explosion from the upper floor.

After the explosion, the figure of two people fall down along with rubbles.

On the spur of the moment, I and Rin hid in the shadow of the rubbles.

The identity of the figures are the aforementioned man and Hiya-san.

The two landed, and stared at each other.

The man was the one who had the upper hand.

“We won! In addition to Kemuri we also caught Face Punch…! Sady died, but there’s no other way! It was a necessary sacrifice!
You are the only one left, Hiyaa…!!”

“You think you can win against me in one-on-one, you small fry!”

Hiya-san said so, but when the man slowly step forward, he was unintentionally stepping back.

The man who saw it raised the corner of his mouth further.

“Hahaha! I’m sorry that you guys have bad compatibility with my ability! You guys are defeated because you made a mistake in choosing the person to put against me!”

Hiya-san condensed flames on his hand, and shoots the flames at the man.

When the man put his hand on it, the flames disappeared once, and when I thought that it appeared again, it flew toward Hiya-san.

“It’s useless!”

“Shit!”

Hiya-san scattered the flames with his hands and shouted as he ran.

“Shioooooooon!! You done yeeet?!”

“Eh?”

I unintentionally let out such voice.

“What’s wrong?”

Rin who was beside leaned her head and said that.

I said, “Nothing”, and thought about why Hiya-san called me.

Why…?

Did you only asked me for help?

Did you trying to ascertain whether I have escaped?

…wrong.

I see the mark written as number 23.

In the first place, Kemuri-san’s words, Exit 23, was not keyword to let me escape.

I thought I should leave it to Kemuri-san and the others and quickly escape, but that was a mistake.

Then at that time, I see something in the corner of my vision.

There is my suitcase there.

Prev ToC Next


[1] I can’t find where it was mentioned.
[2] There should be 5 people in total (Kemuri, Hiya, Face Punch, The tall guy, and Sady) maybe the author’s typo.

Want more? Check out my patreon!

5 thoughts on “OTO Chapter 50

Leave a comment