OTO Chapter 51

[Wavering Evil]

The suitcase that stick out a bit from the rubble’s shadow is just a few steps away.

The contents are of course tuxedo and mask, and I guess, weapons such as grappling gun.

I’m frozen in front of it.

I know Hiya-san is asking for help. However, there is Rin next to me.

Changing clothes and go to help in this situation?

Impossible.

No, it’s possible if I make Rin unconscious.

Should I hit the back of her head? Hit her stomach with all my strength?

Or strike her neck with a handsword?

No good. I don’t have such technique. I will only make Rin injured.

In the first place, I think it’s wrong to ask me for help. If you’re counting me as fighting force, I’d be glad if you told me from the start. Then I could took different actions, and I could support Kemuri-san and the others while acting with Tsurugi and the others.

It should be impossible to guess that, right? I didn’t have a long enough relationship with Kemuri-san to immediately guess what he think about on the spot.

You expect too much from me, right?

If this will reveal my true identity, I’d rather choose the option of letting Hiya-san die.

…as expected, that’s not good.

I have to think up a plan.

Haa, how easy it would be if Roll was here.

But Roll is not here. I have to do something by myself.

I observe the battle between Hiya-san and the man from behind.

Rin also poke her head out a bit from the corner, and was watching the two people skipping around while destroying the area.

And when she saw them moved a short distance away from us, Rin looked back.

“It seems like we should stay here until the two go away.”

“Right…”

I agree from the bottom of my heart. However, reality is unlikely to go that way.

“Anyway, why Anonymous fighting against the terrorists?”

“Even if you ask me, I wouldn’t know, right.”

They are simply hostile.

“That’s true.”

I will try to see Hiya-san’s situation again.

She is out of breath and just warding off the man’s attack.

Her ability is [Bow of Fire(Ante Arrow)].

Ability to manifest bow and arrows of fire, and shoot enemies. Actually, it’s just an ability to generate flames, but Hiya-san used it in such way.

From the start, contrary to her tough personality, Hiya-san’s main role is support.

It didn’t mean the she was weak, but as expected, in close combat, she would lose her advantage.

Actually, she has been cornered. And she is at her limit.

If she don’t take a distance, it is the same as having her hands and feet tied.

I gulped.

If this goes on, Hiya-san will surely be killed.

That man said he had “caught” Kemuri-san and Face Punch-san.

Looking at Hiya-san’s caution, it is clear that “Human” is included in that guy’s ability range.

Probably, you’ll be ‘out’ if you get touched.

Hiya-san also understand that and that’s why she is moving around.

And for that reason, that guy is letting his last prey to tired out to caught it.

The man’s attacks are various.

Launching innumerable knives, instantly drawing near and swinging katana, making obstacles appear in Hiya-san’s path, and slowing down her movement.

He is a troublesome type to fight.

Face Punch-san is really incompatible against him.

But I don’t know how he caught Kemuri-san. Even though Kemuri-san is the best choice to fight against him among the three of them.

Rather, there should be a factor that makes Kemuri-san defeated.

Maybe, the battle royal against the demon beasts was tough.

Is it possible to rescue them after being captured?

What will happen to those he holds if we kill him?

Stay as it is? Or will it pour out?

As I was thinking about that, there was a change in the battle situation between Hiya-san and the man.

Hiya-san received a fatal blow.

A thrown knife stabbed her thigh, then the man followed it with a knee kick.

Hiya-san was thrown a few meters and dropped there.

“Hahahaha! It’s a checkmate Hiya! Whaat, Anonymous is nothing biig!”

It’s bad…

It’s no time to hesitate. Hiya-san will be killed.

Sweat trickled down my cheek.

Rin who is next to me was also watching Hiya-san and the man.

There’s no other choice. Even though my identity will be revealed, it is not good to only watch while my comrade is about to be killed.

Farewell Rin.

When I affirmed my will and was about to jump out, a child jumped out in front of the man.

“Uooooooo!”

The boy who jumped out rushed towards the man while rising such scream.

“You are in the way, brat!”

Sure enough, the boy was kicked away by the man, bounced once and rolled on the ground.

“……!”

The man walks up to the child with a katana in his hand.

This may be the chance to save Hiya-san.

It is his weak point to neglect dealing the finishing blow and give priority to other things. It was the same as that time with me.

“Kazato.”

Suddenly, Rin tap my shoulder and said that.

“What?”

“I’m going. I can’t just stay still and watch while that kid getting killed. Kazato stay here.”

After saying that, Rin jumped out of the corner.

“…whaー!

For a moment, I was confused.

Rin jumped out…?

To save that child?

I follow Rin’s figure from the shadow.

She was fast. It was a trained movements.

Rin who rushed to the man from behind, grabbed the child who had fallen on the floor and took a distance from the man, and confronted him.

“Gooood! I don’t hate that!”

That Rin… She’s going to fight him.

Reckless. There’s no way she can win.

Rin lay the child down behind her and stand up.

The next moment.

A knife was thrown at Rin.

*Clang*, metallic sound resonate.

It was the sound of Rin knocking off the thrown knife.

Looking at it, part of her hand has turned into silver color.

Is that Rin’s ability…?

Rin’s ability that I knew is the ability to harden any part of her body just a little bit…

However, there is no mistake that the thrown knife was knocked off, she wouldn’t be able to do it by just hardening her hand a little bit.

“Ooh! A civilian!

The man rejoiced.

Rin knocks off the thrown knives one after another.

However, it wasn’t perfect.

Sometimes she missed the knives, and get damage.

So that’s it. She can’t harden her whole body.

As expected, there is a clear difference in ability.

The man throws the knives while closing the distance. Meanwhile Rin is on the defensive.

As the distance gets closer, the times she missed the knives increases.

While looking as Rin becoming more and more tattered, I took a deep breath.

Rin is about to be killed. I have to save her.

However, it is bad to jump out as it is. If I jump out without a plan, I’ll just become like Rin.

……no, wait?

In first place, is there any need to go and help her?

Suppose that Rin is killed. If so, wouldn’t it be easier for me to move?

There is also another option which is changing clothes right now and save Rin, but by doing so, there is a possibility that my identity will be revealed to Rin.

And if my identity is revealed, I have to kill her eventually.

Then, I have to think about how to defeat that man without going to help myself.

In the first place, wouldn’t it be convenient for [Shion] if Tsurugi, Rin and Ohashi died?

Blood spurted out from Rin’s hand.

Is her hardening can’t make it in time, or was it the limit of her ability?

However, she soon recovered.

She grabbed one of the thrown knives and used it to intercept a stray knife.

The target of that knife has changed.

No, I can’t say it’s changed.

Only one of the knives, that one originally flying toward the boy who was laying behind Rin.

Rin didn’t have a choice because the knife was thrown at him.

She dealt with the released knives with her best effort, even not letting that knife pass.

When I made that conjecture, Rin can’t help but to take the knife in front of her with her body, and received the knife with her leg.

Blood spurted out again.

It seems that her hardening can’t make it in time.

She managed to control her thighs, dealt with the flying knives with swordhand, but her precision became bad and she received damage here and there.

When Rin was kneeled on the spot, the man stopped throwing the knives.

“Hahaha! Oyuzuri-chan, those moves weren’t bad.”

The man carried his katana on his shoulder and slowly shorten the remaining distance.

Rin looked up with a stern expression.

I looked away from Rin, reached for the suitcase in the rubble’s shadow, then my movement stopped there.

Is it really okay to give up…?

“Dieee!”

“Tsurugi…save me…”

Listening to such voice, I suddenly jumped out of the corner.

Silencing the sound, and from behind, I rush over to the man’s side instantly.

Then while running, I picked up a fallen knife and lunge at the man.

“Aa!?”

“Kazato…!”

The knife was received by the man’s katana.

This reaction. It is as quick as I expected.

I wanted to attack with a Soundshoot if possible, but in this position, Rin and Hiya-san will be dragged into it.

No.

Why did I helped her!

The situation will definitely improve if Rin died. Staying away from that suitcase… Damn it, what am I doing…!

No, I’m not wrong.

Right now, I’m Kamiya Kazato.

If Rin died, wouldn’t I be sad…!?

“Another mob again!”

At the same time I was pushed back by the katana, I launch a kick.

Then, using the fact that the man retreated and hesitated, I jumped back to Rin.

“Kazato…, why did you come out…!”

“You too, why did you came out, you idiot!”

I hold Rin and start running.

“I won’t let you escaaape!!”

Hiya-san obstructed the man who followed us from behind.

Hiya-san managed to distanced herself by dragging her injured body so that she would not be noticed by the man.

Fire arrows pours down on the man from all sides.

The man had to pull out walls to block it.

“Hiya-san! Thank you very much!”

I sent a voice that only Hiya-san can hear while running.

In the meantime, I entered a shop that looks suitable, and let Rin lie on the ground.

Rin has knife cuts all over her body.

There are also deep ones. However, it seems that it will be fine even if the treatment is delayed.

“Are you okay?”

“Yeah…”

“Then stay here.”

“Where are you going…?”

Replying to this, I silently stood up.

Rin grabbed my sleeves to hold me back.

“I’ll go looking for something to treat you.”

“…don’t. You should stay here. This much is enough…”

That’s true.

However, actually, I’m going not to look for such thing.

I’m going to kill that guy.

It’s more efficient than calling for help. First, we have to eliminate that risk factor.

Rin will not be able to move again in this situation. Or rather, she shouldn’t be able to move with that injury.

Therefore, I can leave Rin with a suitable excuse, so this time I can change my clothes without getting revealed.

It’s indeed a nice camouflage for wandering around by using such amateurish reason.

“Kazato…!”

“That’s right, you… has that kind of ability.
I didn’t know.”

I thought back to Rin’s battle from before, and said that.

“That is…”

Rin’s hand that was grabbing my sleeves loosen.

I released that hand and stand up.

Then I leave that place.

The wall is still standing, preventing Hiya-san’s fierce attacks from reaching the man.

The wall he pulled out seems to be quite sturdy.

“Hiya-san! How long can you hold out!”

“I can’t hold out anymore!”

“A little longer, please hold out a little longer!”

“Tsk! Then, hurry!”

I rush to Exit 23 and open the suitcase.

Then I took out the tuxedo.

I forcibly remove my uniform, and shove it into the suitcase.

I wear the tuxedo, and put on a tie.

Even so, things went well unintentionally.

…the problem starts from here, huh.

I don’t know if I can beat that guy.

I have the upper hand. But I can’t expect to cooperate with Hiya-san.

I’m required to crush him alone.

Will reinforcement come?
When will SDF rush in?

I put the grappling gun on my waist and put the familiar knife into the holder.

Then I covered my face with a mask.

From now on, I’m Shion.

Prev ToC Next


Want more? Check out my patreon!

6 thoughts on “OTO Chapter 51

  1. Thanks for the chapter. It worked better then what I thought it would happen. Shion can do it, wonder what Fun explanation will be, labor like there isn’t one she can always say she wanted to “protect people and always try to get stronger.”

    Like

Leave a comment