OTO Chapter 52

It’s hero(villain) time!


[Dancing Evil]

I was standing in front of the wall the man deployed when Hiya-san’s attack was interrupted.

I sent a sound to Hiya-san, but there was no reply.

It seems that she has fainted. If you use your ability to the limit, it’s natural.

As I was thinking about such a thing, the wall that had been deployed in front of me disappeared.

It’s more like a box than a wall.

Apparently, it seems that box was built with a high durability and can completely guard from all directions.

The box disappeared and the man who appeared in front of me looked at me and put fearless smile on his face.

“Please entertain me… Anonymous.
Don’t you run away this time, okay?”

*cyaki* his katana rub against the floor.

Then, as soon as he took a step, I released a Soundshoot.

Roaring sound.

Clothes store’s display were blown away, and glass showcases were shattered.

That guy…, he was defending by pulling out the wall.

Box… no. It’s a wall. In the case when he deployed the box, I thought that I would approach him instantly and cut his neck off from the back.

To guard in all directions means that there will be no escape temporarily.

I think it’s not a good defense method for him either.

And as expected he can guard against my Soundshoot in no time.

It’s a trick that instantly reads the killing intent and roughly predicts the next attack of the next.

He is not an average ability user.

“Your spirit is good. I don’t hate it.”

I released another Soundshoot to block his words.

As expected, it is the wall that appears with the explosion sound.

I jumped back a few times to get away from him.

The distance was just too short.

The Soundshoot is excellent. It becomes a barrage and he had no choice but to make a wall appear and defend.

The fireball that Hiya-san released before was collected by him touching it.

It seems that sound is truly uncollectible because he is defending my attack with a wall.

Hiya-san continuous shooting was prevented with a box because it was difficult to collect that amount of fire arrows in a row.

Throwing knives… I think even a single hit by it is dangerous. I’ll hit it with Soundshoot if possible.

…Other than that, my only option left is close quarters combat.

However, in the close quarters combat, Face Punch-san and Kemuri-san lost. Then this too.

I have to avoid it.

“It’s useless. Well, I think I’ll know if I can prevent it three times.”

A man reappears from the other side of the wall.

Useless…huh?

No, it’s not useless. It might succeed with enough shots, and it’ll be hard for him to guard instantly every time.

Well, the Soundshoot from the front certainly sounds like a waste.

“…”

“Are you afraid? Why are you keeping the distance?”

I wondered if the voice of the man should be cut off.

…Is it better not to cut it off?

I stepped back when the man stepped forward.

There is no reason to fight head on. The fighting while retreating is good.

In addition, here, Rin and Hiya-san are close, and the range of Soundshoot is limited.

I want to leave this place somehow.

Speaking of which, there are few demon beasts on the first floor.

For some reason, most of the people on the first floor can evacuate, so their prey are scarce.

The number of demon beasts on the 2nd and 3rd floors is much higher than on the 1st floor.

It’s also because the demon beasts were released on the third floor.

The screams and chewing sounds that could be here even now are painful.

However, it is helpful that there are few demom beasts on the first floor.

There are Rin and Hiya who can’t fight, so I was planning to kick off the demon beasts while fighting, but it’s unnecessary.

Besides, the number of demon beasts is decreasing. Is it because Tsurugi starts to make his moves?

However, there is a possibility that the third wave is ahead.

I also have to be careful.

Shit, the more I think about it, the more I think I won’t win.

However, there is no choice but to do it.

“Oi oi, somehow your reaction is boring!”

The man said that and threw a knife.

Unlike the previous ones, he’s throwing it using his whole body.

Fast…!

When I saw it, I immediately avoid it by dodging.

“Huh…”

I remove my knife from the holder.

It seems that it is better to guard with a knife rather than to hesitate when it come flying like that.

“My name is Hal. You?”

Hal.

Come to think of it, he was called that way. I forgot, he has such a name.

However, he talks a lot during battle.

Well…

Then~, let’s try provoking him a little…

“My name, huh?”

I wish I could get him with a cheap provocation.

“My name is Shion…
The name of the man who kills you.
Remember that, puppy.”

For a moment, I felt that the area was quiet.

“Ha ha!”

The man…, Hal looks up at once, opens his hands and laughs.

I swallowed my saliva and gripped my knife.

“Interesting! Don’t regret it, you trash!”

I opened my eyes to Hal who approached me instantly.

Pure speed.

The distance I took was closed at once, and his katana slashed at me from the side.

I jump back to avoid it.

No, it’s close…!

The tip slashed my tuxedo slightly and the edge return to me like the blade bounced back.

I was prepared to give up one of my arms, so I thrust my hand out and prepare to shot a Soundshoot.

Then Hal stopped his katana and made a few steps away from me.

What appears there is as expected, a wall.

I did not release the Soundshoot, I took a little distance from the wall.

Dangerous…!

Just now, Hal could cut off my arm and pull the wall out before I released the Soundshoot.

I’m saved because he pulled back. No, he is just wary of sound attack, huh.

“Annoying, annoying, annoyingー!!”

Hal jumped down from the top without putting back the wall.

I knew the surprise attack from the sound, so his attack did not reach.

Looking at it, Hal’s attack has switched to throwing a knife.

I tumbled over, heaved the knife, and immediately stood up, I turned my back to Hal and started running.

First, I have to leave this place to talk.

“Don’t run, you small fry!”

Naturally he follows from behind.

It is difficult to avoided a thrown knife while running.

I run as low as possible and place obstacles on the line with him.

The speed of the guy running while throwing the knife was naturally slower than me.

The distance gradually increases.

“Come on, you want to kill me, right! Face me fair and square!”

What did you said? I’m not going.

If I’m touched, it’s the end and Soundshoot is not effective. How do I deal with such a person properly?

Thinking about such a thing, I jumped over an object’s potted plant and I turned a corner.

However, when I turned, I braked suddenly and I stuck my back to the blind spot at the corner.

Then, I make sounds footsteps that make a sharp turn around the corner and run through.

That guy is moving fast.

When he jumped out of the corner, I shot a Soundshoot from the side.

“Wha-!”

The wall is in time.

He could even guard against this, what’s with this guy? It’s already in disgusting level.

However, I can’t complain.

I cut off the sound, appeared from the right side of the wall, and shot the man again.

The wall appeared again.

“Hah…! Hah…!”

Damn, it won’t hit.

Also, I’m shot too many Soundshoot. I can still afford it, but I can only shot it 10 more times.

I turned my back to the wall and started running.

When he smashed the wall, there was a big distance between me and Hal.

I cut off all the sounds that I make.

Footsteps, breathing sounds, rubbing sounds, and the sound of flipping a knife. Everything.

I pick up the grappling gun on my waist and aim it to the second floor.

Then, I pressed the button of my thumb hard and fired a wire.

The ejected wire wraps around the handrail that surrounds the stairwell on the second floor, as intended.

I run as it is, roll up the excess wire, and thrust it into a pillar.

Then, I pulled the wire as it was, and I rush up the pillar.

The power of the grappling gun alone cannot lift me upstairs. However, if I’m kicking the wall, I can somehow go upstairs.

I go upstairs because I need to throw him off once.

A knife thrown by him scratched my mask.

“Wait, stop!!”

I hurried up to the second floor and started running again.

He summoned obstacles between the first floor and the second floor to create a step and climbed up as it was.

However, at that time I had already hidden myself and listened to him from behind.

Hal who went upstairs and lost sight of me stopped there.

“Tsk.”

After a clicking his tongue one, he slowly walks.

He is completely wary of my surprise attack.

However.

“Behind.”

Humans are

Relying on sound is, impossible.

The moment when Hal looked back with “my voice heard from behind”.

I jumped to that behind and shot a Soundshoot.

“…!”

But this too…was blocked by the wall.

Well, as expected.

I approached as it was and turned to the back of the wall.

The man’s knife attack me.

The knife graze my shoulder and flew away.

I point the grappling gun at him and shoot it.

However, Hal caught the wire ejected at high speed by hand.

“What…!”

I cut the wire in a hurry and shoot a Soundshoot.

Naturally the wall protect him.

The wall disappeared immediately, and Hal approached me rapidly.

It’s bad…! There is no escape.

Should I jump to the first floor…? But…!

“Ha ha!”

While I was hesitating, he grabbed my neck, trip my foot and pushed me down.

“Tsu…!”

I was touched…!

However, he did not use his ability, and pressed the newly taken knife to my neck.

“I gooot yooouuu!”

Damn!

“Kuhihi, don’t move…
Enjoy the feeling of a knife slowly sticking in your neck.”

“…!”

The sound attack won’t make it in time…!

Then…!

I shot the grappling gun in my hand to the sky behind the man, and when I grabbed the released wire with my opposite hand, I hooked it on Hal’s neck and turned sideways.

The knife that was being pushed with that momentum moved, and my neck was deeply torn.

“Tsuu…”

I let out a voice involuntarily.

…it’s around my collarbone. It’s great that I managed to diverted it somehow.

That guy, why didn’t he use his ability to collect me?

No, Hal’s ability is just to collect things. And to kill me, he doesn’t need to use it?

I squeeze the wire that tightens the man’s neck and slowly moves back.

Blood bleeds on my hand holding the wire.

“Guu…e…!”

Hal grabbed the wire with a trembling hand.

He’s going to collect me by touching the wire, tte there’s no way, right.

With that in mind, I cut the wire and shot a Soundshoot.

The roaring sound reverbrate.

The objects around him were caught up in the Soundshoot and blown away.

No wall appears…!

Is it a direct hit?

At the moment I thought so, his sound appeared behind me.

“Die, oraaa!!”

A clear teleportation.

The same thing happened in an abandoned building.

I can’t react…!

The sword stabbed from behind hit my shoulder directly.

The blade penetrated with an unpleasant noise, and I opened my eyes wide.

I was confused by the pain, but managed to release a Soundshoot behind me.

Hal pulled out his sword and made the wall appear to guard against the Soundshoot.

I make a distance between us.

“Huh, huh… huh…”

I received fatal damage.

Damn it.

“Huu, huu, you certainly can entertain me…”

Said Hal, who had pulled back the wall and appeared in it’s place.

“The blow I received just now was painful… Then I can’t fight anymore.
I’m bleeding so well”

That’s right.

The ability is overused. It’s bad. This situation.

And what’s with that teleportation.

Another ability…?

Or, he collect himself and appear in a different place.

There was a slight time lag, so possibility is high.

He didn’t used it often because it has some disadvantages?

Shit, I don’t understand.

“But, I’m not done playing, y’know?”

Hal slowly approached me.

What to do… Should I release a serious Soundshoot…?

However, I don’t think I can break through that wall.

I don’t know what material it is made of, but it is quite strong.

If I shoot it continuously till it reached it’s limit…?

No, it’s impossible. It also endured continuous fire attacks by Hiya-san and is durable.

At that time, I came up with a plan.

If it’s this… Will it work…?

It’s worth trying.

I put both hands forward and prepare to shoot a Soundshoot.

My left shoulder that was stabbed hurts a lot.

“That again, huh. It doesn’t work well, so stop it. I’m tired.”

It has been proven that the power of Soundshoot becomes lower as the range is narrowed down.

I had narrowed down the range until now, and I was shooting more carefully.

The reason for doing so is that it still has sufficient killing ability and that serious Soundshoot has poor stamina efficiency.

I understood that the wall won’t be destroyed with only one shot of my serious Soundshoot.

However, the Soundshoot that I shoot from now on will be in widened range.

Almost Serious Soundshoot.

The civilians may be injured.

However, there is only this…!

“It’s okay to shoot, but don’t overuse it till you kill yourself, okay?”

I released a Soundshoot to block his chattering.

Clearly different firepower than before.

*Bishibishi* and cracks entered the floor, and the explosion sound continued.

He is guarding with the wall as planned.

My head shook.

Am I gradually reaching my limit?

But another shot…!

“Haa!”

The wall that he summoned does not make a slight movement.

Another shot…!

“Fall dooown!”

I raise my voice and release a Soundshoot.

*bakibaki*(cracking sounds)

I erased that sound.

Don’t let him know.

I was unable to endure the Soundshoot, and when I saw the “that” that was falling, my mouth suddenly loosened.

I lowered my hands and breathed out.

Seeing the Soundshoot stopped, Hal remove the wall.

“Are you satisfied?”

Hal said so with a proud face, I thrust my thumb up and turn it upside down.

Then, “Ah?” , He made that kind of voice while making a bizarre face.

Immediately after that.

Hal became underlay of the “ceiling that fell from above.”

Prev ToC Next


Want more? Check out my patreon!

5 thoughts on “OTO Chapter 52

  1. Thanks for the chapter. Maybe it would be better to revise the chapter. The guy that can collect thing was called Hal,Haru and Hull in diferrrent parts of the chapter.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment