OTO Chapter 65

[The Zero’s Judgment]

Boss and co move quickly. The operation was carried out the following evening.

Let’s review the plans.

First, Byakurei-san takes the civilians (including me) in a specific place hostage.

I have to be on-site as all conversations will be done with my ability.

I will pretend to be a hostage and ask Tsurugi for help.

At that time, I’ll send the information about the number of enemies, the number of hostages, the situation, etc. to Tsurugi, so that Midou Ryuusui would move.

I don’t think he wouldn’t, but if Midou Ryuusui doesn’t move here, we’ll annihilate the enemy and try again at a later date.

Naturally, the strategy will also be changed.

However, Midou Ryuusui will probably move with teleportation.

When Midou Ryuusui arrives, Byakurei-san will start to escape using the determined route.

If Byakurei-san escapes with all his might, Midou Ryuusui should follow after him.

If he doesn’t seem to be able to escape here, Shimichi-san will enter as support.

In that gap, Kemuri-san and Desuko-san will kill the teleportation ability user and co, and erased the escape route of Midou Ryuusui.

At this point, my role is over, so I will evacuate so that I will not be involved in battle. When Byakurei-san escapes, the hostages will also be released.

Byakurei-san will lure Midou Ryuusui to a place in the vicinity of where Boss and co lying in wait, and then escape.

At this point, Shimichi-san will activate her “Infinite Corridor”, then a certain killing combo of Midou Ryuusui will be established.

However, there are three uncertainties.

The first is the unknown ability of the irregular, Midou Tsurugi.

Development may change depending on whether or not Tsurugi intervenes.

I’m sure Tsurugi will come.

If we do it poorly, there is a possibility that Tsurugi will come before Midou Ryuusui.

Of course, he wouldn’t foolishly charge-in alone.

Honestly, my heart aches thinking that I will deceive him. But I won’t hesitate.

Since I’m living as Anonymous, I’ll do what I must do.

As a result, even if Tsurugi would die, I would kill my heart.

Kemuri-san will be the measure against Tsurugi.

Tsurugi has an incomprehensible ability, but Boss conclude that his ability isn’t one that can draw out high firepower.

So, Kemuri-san is in charge of dealing with Tsurugi when he appears.

The second uncertain factor is the possibility that Midou Ryuusui will kill all civilians in no time.

I denied this point.

The reason I can deny it is because I know Midou Ryuusui and he’s not the person who does such a thing.

I used to play with Tsurugi since I was little, so I had a family-like relationship with Midou family.

Everyone’s seems to have a different impression of him, but Midou Ryuusui is a gentle man. He’s not such a ruthless man.

In the first place, if he killed all the civilians, he would be fired.

However, it seems that Boss thinks it as an uncertain factor.

It seems that Byakurei-san will take care of this.

The last uncertain factor is the pattern in which Midou Ryuusui find out about the trap when Byakurei-san escapes.

This depends on Byakurei-san’s capability, but if he was found out, Shimichi-san will use her “Infinite Corridor” then.

And at the same time, Desuko-san and Kemuri-san will kill the teleport ability user and co.

If this happens, the usefulness of the civilians, including myself, as hostages will be restored, and no small numbers of civilians will be sacrificed.

Even if they couldn’t kill the teleportation ability user and co, this would prevent them from leaving.

Although the strategy is somewhat rough, it seems that area will be covered while adapting to the circumstances.

Well, except me, everyone is a veteran, I’m sure they won’t fail unless something happens.

“I’m already in positition.”

I sent a signal to Boss and co who were already prepared.

I’m inside the theater of the Public Meeting Hall.

In this theater, the play of a troupe called FJ Group is scheduled to start.

In accordance to the information, there are few visitors. There aren’t even 100 people.

“The number of visitors is a little less than 100 people. They are gathered around the front-row seats, but there are three people, including myself, sitting on the middle-back seats.

And…I think it’s better to infiltrate through the second door.”

“Okay.”

When I reported the situation, I heard a reply from Byakurei-san.

I’m nervous. Probably, Midou Ryuusui will come here about ten minutes later.

The Public Meeting Hall is located in a wide-open space, slightly away from the city center.

There is an industrial area a little further from here, and we plan to lure Midou Ryuusui to a warehouse there during the operation.

The stage curtain rises with the sound of the opening buzzer.

On the lightly illuminated stage, men and women who are going to start the play are standing still facing each other while looking down.

“Then, let’s start.”

Byakurei-san said. Then I gulped.

Each reply came from each designated position.

The curtain is completely raised.

Then, when I gave a signal, the 2nd door on the right side of the front opened wide with a *gakon*.

A gray suit and an evil-looking mask that I’m used to seeing.

With a large sword on his back.

It’s Byakurei-san.

I made the sound of door opening louder with my ability, so the eyes of the people in the theater naturally turned to that point.

The area is buzzing.

“Don’t move. I’ll kill you if you move. This Public Meeting Hall is now occupied by Anonymous.”

The voice of Byakurei-san sounded frightening because of my ability.

A female visitor in the front row screamed and jumped to the opposite door first.

However, the door doesn’t open. It won’t even budge.

It doesn’t even move by 1mm.

This is Byakurei-san’s ability.

It’s the first time I’m seeing it, but I’ve been told at the strategy meeting.

Fixed space (Room Impair).

As its name suggests, the ability to temporarily fix a designated space.

Byakurei-san was assigned to occupy this place alone is because of this ability.

“…Oi oi, I’ve already said that I’ll kill anyone who moves, right?”

Byakurei-san’s voice echoes loudly due to me.

Then he went to the woman who clings to the door.

No one moves.

That’s a matter of course. If I was aimed at with this level of killing intent, I won’t move either.

“Hiii…!”

The lady had no choice but to escape.

However, she suddenly stopped moving. No, she was stopped.

The space is fixed.

“Ah…ah…! Someone! Someone saves me!”

The woman cried.

At that time, a courageous man plunges to Byakurei-san with a loud roar.

“Uoooooooo!!”

However, his movement also stops just before Byakurei-san’s eyes.

“This ability is amazing, right? Actually, you can also use this as a ruler you see…”

Byakurei-san pull the sword on his back and cut the man diagonally from his shoulder.

Blood splattered to Byakurei-san.

I unintentionally closed my eyes.

“It can also cut pretty cleanly like this you know.”

Although I keep my eyes closed, I still play the role of amplifier properly.

“Kyaaaaaa!!”

Scream raised. I open my eyes.

Then this time, Byakurei-san went to the woman who couldn’t move, and he also split the woman into two.

There is no need to kill… There’s no need, but we’ll be troubled if the visitors here struggles.

Therefore, it’s effective to kill one or two people as an example to make them obedient.

This is so the trap for Midou Ryuusui won’t be sensed as well.

“…”

Here, I attach a photo to a prepared email and send it to Tsurugi.

The photo was taken just now. Since it was taken from behind the chair, half of the information was cut off and there wasn’t much information in the image.

The two corpses and Byakurei-san.

And about the number of hostages.

‘The theater in the Public Meeting Hall was occupied by Anonymous, save me.’

The contents are like this. Please give this information to Midou Ryuusui.

Byakurei-san carried his sword and slowly climbed up on the stage while the sounds of his footsteps resounded.

“From now on, you guys are hostages. You won’t die if you are obedient.”

After this, Byakurei-san will gather the hostages on the stage.

I will not reply even if Tsurugi reply arrives.

I have given enough information. The rest is to see how it progress.

“Then, everyone should come up the stage. Get up from the front-right.”

According to Byakurei-san, the hostages move from the seats to the stage one by one.

Byakurei-san descended from the stage and watched the situation carefully.

Eventually, my turn arrived.

I also proceed to the stage like the other hostages.

I wonder if Tsurugi had read the email.

If there is no movement over there, Byakurei-san must contact the Self-Defense Force.

In this case, if the Self-Defense Force didn’t take the first move, there would be no meaning for me being here. And if we lose the initiative here, it won’t proceed according to the strategy.

However, there is still room until that happens. We don’t have to rush.

After a while I walked, the duo sitting who was sitting behind me started moving at the same time.

What’s with these guys…

I thought it was suspicious, but I continued walking without reacting to it.

“…Oi, why are you moving as you like.”

While saying so, Byakurei-san walked.

Then, the two people in the back shouted.

“No way, he really appears! Just as the leader said!”

“I’ll get revenge for Hal, Anonymous!”

I turned around without thinking.

Who were there are a woman with bright red hair wearing a red dress and a man with a swept-back blond hair in a white coat.

They weren’t so flashy until now.

And they put on a Venetian mask taken from somewhere.

“…Why are the Nursery Rhyme here?”

I heard Tameiki-san’s voice.

This situation is bad.

Did these guys know that we would appear here…?

“Get rid of them. Byakurei.”

I heard Boss’ calm voice.

Since the relay of sound continues as before, the situation is well communicated to everyone.

While lifting the corner of her mouth, the red-haired woman gets out to the side of the seat-row.

However, her movement stopped there.

“Mu, isn’t that ability too much?”

It’s Byakurei-san’s Room Impair.

“I didn’t want to reduce the hostages too much though.”

Byakurei-san said as he proceeded without change.

I avoided the coming Byakurei-san, and stuck my back to the wall.

I don’t know how I should move.

Should I proceed to the stage?

Or should I not make any unnecessary moves?

I glanced at the man.

He shows no indication that he will moves. However, he’s looking at Byakurei-san with a grin.

The red-haired woman said to the approaching Byakurei-san.

“My name is Sen. Anonymous, let’s have fun killing each other.”

“It’s a pity, goodbye.”

Byakurei-san pulls out the sword on his back.

Blood splattered. The woman who called herself Sen didn’t put up any resistance and became split in two.

“…”

Her heart stopped beating. She’s dead.

…What was with her.

Byakurei-san then shifts his eyes to the man.

The man was still grinning even though his companion died.

Then I noticed something unusual.

From Sen who became split in two.

Sen’s corpse ignited.

“Tsk, what is it?”

Byakurei-san takes a one-step distance from there.

I also walked along the wall and gradually separated from the three people.

The corpse that ignited burns vigorously and emits a dazzling light.

Then, a naked Sen appeared from the ash.

“…!”

“…What!?”

“Amazing, right? My ability is strengthening type ‘Phoenix’.

I’m an ability user who possesses the power of the rare myth class.”

Myth class ability user…!?

She is such an existence…!

Moreover, the phoenix is immortal…!

Damn it, what to do.

“For the time being, should I kill all the hostages?”

The one who said that and started to move is the blond man.

Matching him, Byakurei-san also moves.

However, Byakurei-san was stopped by Sen.

“Let’s play, sexy guy.”

I have to move…!

“Don’t move, Shion. There are two of Kemuri’s clone among the hostages as an insurance. It’s fine.”

I hear Boss’ voice and stop.

I didn’t hear anything about that.

Byakurei-san fixed Sen and chased the blonde who kicked the seat and moved.

However, at that time, sound was generated at a total of 4 points.

I immediately shift my eyes.

What was reflected in my eyes are white uniforms.

It’s the Self-Defense Force. All of them are teleported in front of the door.

I look for Midou Ryuusui.

He looked over this situation from the front of the 2nd door.

It’s the worst timing.

Prev ToC Next


Want more? Check out my patreon for 4 more chapters!

5 thoughts on “OTO Chapter 65

Leave a comment