SLO Chapter 9

[A Miraculous Encounter]

(Karin Sea Caribbean Side)

My name is Karin Sea Caribbean and my hobby is cooking.

People felt happy when they ate delicious food.

Since our territory bordered the sea, my father ran a shipping business.

We purchased rare ingredients and seasonings from foreign countries and sold them in the kingdom.

Among the demi-humans, there was a race called mermaids who were strong in the sea, and we hired them to work as laborers.

Of course, we paid them a proper salary and never disrespected them.

They were our family and our friends.

My life was full of happiness and I had a friend whom I deeply admired.

Her name was Iris Hugaro Deskustos, a young lady from the ducal family of Deskustos.

She was very lovely ever since she was young and the first time I met her, I was convinced that I had met a miracle.

Her beauty was unworldly.

Her charisma drew people to her.

Her every gesture was ever so elegant.

She was a perfect young lady and I looked up to her.

And… her brother, Lord Testa Hugaro Deskustos, who never stopped studying and training and had a dignified and well-groomed appearance, was my first love.

But now I, at the age of 12, was so fat and ugly that I didn’t even want to look in the mirror.

With my unsightly appearance, I couldn’t hope to attract Lord Testa, nor could I stand beside Lady Iris.

To this insecurity of mine, Lady Iris…

“Karin. The sweets you brought are delicious, but I can’t handle seeing you lately.”

I was good at cooking.

I made muffins today to please Lady Iris.

I offered them to her in hopes to cheer her up since she had been sighing with a sorrowful look on her face.

But instead, Lady Iris pointed out so to me.

“Huh?”

“You know why, don’t you?”

I immediately realized that Lady Iris was talking about my appearance and I could hear the other young ladies laughing at me.

I was so shocked that I ran away from the tea party with tears in my eyes.

The duke’s residence grounds were very big and wide and as I ran and cried, I found myself lost in a place I was unfamiliar with.

There was no one around so I couldn’t ask for directions, either.

Lady Iris’s words repeated themselves again and again in my head and tears once again blurred my eyes.

“I can’t find anyone. Will I forever be lost here until I die?”

Lost, I was filled with anxiety and sadness, and my mind started to be filled with negative thoughts.

“Is someone there?”

“Huh? There’s a person?”

Thinking that I might be saved, I headed toward the boy’s voice.

Then, my breath was taken away.

He seemed to be a boy but his skin was very beautiful.

His body was toned and his hair looked so shiny and soft.

“Awawawawa.”

Mermaid men had healthy tanned skin and I was used to see their bare bodies.

However… the boy in front of me had white and beautiful skin.

I mustn’t defile him, mustn’t look at him… I averted my eyes.

Still, although I had only caught a glimpse of it, his body was as beautiful as a sculpture.

Was his body defiled now that an ugly person like me had looked at it?

“Are you one of my sister’s guests?”

“Sister?”

Lady Iris’s face came to my mind.

Constricting pain took hold of my chest.

Still, I looked up to see his face while somehow avoiding looking at his body and I was surprised.

His face somewhat resembled that of Lady Iris.

“Are you Lady Iris’s younger brother?”

“Mhm. I’m Luc Hugaro Deskustos.”

Awawawa. How precious!!!

Lord Luc and Lord Testa were polar opposites.

Lord Testa was taciturn and always had a stern look on his face.

Lord Luc, on the contrary, smiled warmly like sunshine.

He introduced himself to me in an innocent voice.

I mustn’t look at not only his body but also his face.

An ugly person like me must not defile him with my eyes.

“M-m-m-m-m-m-m-m-m-m-my name is Karin Sea Caribbean, I am the daughter of Count Caribbean.”

I dropped myself to the ground and prostrated so as to not look at him and somehow managed to introduce myself.

“Fufu. You’re an interesting person, Miss Karin.”

Hauu!!! Lord Luc chuckled at my bizarre behavior… I liked it.

“Say, Miss Karin. Since you are a noble, can you use attribute magic?”

“Y-yes! I can!”

For some reason, Lord Luc crouched down to meet my eyes.

“I like magic, you see. Can you show me yours?”

“Of course! With pleasure!”

I was quite an expert in it and in fact, I was confident that no one could beat me at it.

“All right~, here I go!”

I took out ingredients and a pot from the pouch I had hidden in my skirt.

“Huh? Where did you—”

“U-um, I am going to use my magic, so could you please put on your clothes first?”

“Oh, my bad.”

Lord Luc wiped his body with a towel and then put on his clothes.

“My attribute magic is [Cook].”

“[Cook]? Did you bring all that out with it?”

I promised my father that I would keep the pouch a secret.

After preparing a fire, I activated my [Cook] magic.

・Preparing

・Cooking

・Plating

[Cook] magic allowed me to cook ingredients to perfection.

“I made moon rabbit soup. Please enjoy it.”

I made a simple soup in front of Lord Luc who seemed to have fallen into thoughts.

His face was covered by surprise seeing the dish I had made on the spot.

“Wow~, it smells delicious. I’m digging in.”

Waa~ the beautiful boy ate my soup.

I wanted to cook him a better dish.

I wanted to cook him more delicious food in a proper kitchen.

His eating my dish made me so blissful!!!

“It’s delicious. And it gave me buffs? Amazing.”

After finishing the soup, Lord Luc praised it with a genuinely pleased face.

He then made a thinking gesture with a serious face. His face looked so dignified.

“Say, Miss Karin.”

“Y-yes!”

“When I grow up, will you make soup for me every day?”

Huh? Was that a proposal? Huh, huh? Did he just propose to me?

No, no, no, no, that couldn’t be!!!

An ugly person like me was unsuitable for the beautiful boy in front of me, it was just a pipe dream.

Surely, he meant he wanted to hire me as his personal chef…

“Marry me.”

It was a proposal!!!!

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

8 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 9

  1. What the–?

    First off, Karin Sea Caribbean…I like that name. It reminds me of the blissful tastes and sights of the ocean. Blue, calming, salty, and peculiar.

    Secondly…the way Karin just disregarded everything, and even her promise to her father, just because our MC was a bit more beautiful than normal makes me feel she’s a bit superficial. I mean, the MC can’t be THAT beautiful considering she spent so much time with Iris and the rest. However, the way she humbles herself constantly also makes me feel the opposite as well. It’s as if she has no will to contradict Iris or the beautiful Luc.

    If I were to guess, more than likely, she’s also been instilled with the same idea of “beauty means everything” that Iris had, thereby forcing her to follow through with all the commands of the “beautiful” while lowering herself in accordance to how she feels appearance is at. It would make sense since she reportedly followed Iris for so long. However, unlike Iris, it seems she wasn’t as strict with herself and assumed she could be an exception to that ideology for some reason. She didn’t expect what Iris was going to say at all. Slightly delusional, or perhaps just pure naivety?

    I’m not sure how to feel about that, honestly. If I am right, she would be a hypocrite, but there is no evidence that she treated the “ugly” badly either, so it’s hard to conclude anything besides her being a girl corrupted by a poisonous ideology. Thus, I will keep all statements about her character for later. More than likely, my comments about her will be positive though, since she’s likely a main heroine.

    Finally…Luc? A proposal? For food? Aren’t you taking that a bit lightly?

    Although it’s true we have yet to discover the effects of our MC’s attribute magic, yes. Perhaps his magic has an effect that only triggers eating good food, or maybe her food gives ability boosts when consumed? Still, this is kind of like treating the girl as your personal chief/ability-buffer lackey with extra steps.

    Of course, I’d have nothing to say (nor have any right to criticize) if both parties consent and give each other what they desire in a relationship (even if what they both desire is not love). I also know that this relationship will prosper since Luc is the MC, and everything must go his way (as that is just the type of story this is), so I don’t need to worry really. In addition, the MC’s father wants Luc dead anyway, so no need to worry about “marrying for the benefit of the family” either. The worst I’d imagine happening is Iris’s jealousy (as well as Testa’s jealousy, whenever Karin becomes either powerful or influential, too probably). I was merely just speaking as if this was reality, rather than a piece of fictional work.

    A useless endeavor, I know. Still, it’s fun for me.

    Thank you for the chapter!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Now she’s gonna work like hell to improve her appearance. A shame. I would prefer at least one chubby character.

    Like

  3. The guy doesn’t care about his appearance, he just wants a rich wife who will take care of him and cook delicious food for him….😅

    Like

Leave a comment