SLO Chapter 10

Shout out to FancyPants5436 for becoming a patron!


[A Sloth’s Necessity]

After getting appraised, I started training in my attribute magic.

And whenever there was something I couldn’t understand, I would ask Mr. Mar about it, so my understanding of magic advanced by leaps and bounds.

My theory that attributeless magic was magic which transformed mana into whatever forms one imagined was correct.

However, since attribute magic used a fixed attribute as magic, the rules were different from attributeless magic.

The more I understood my attribute magic [Sleep] and [Sloth], the more overpowered I found them to be. It was of utmost importance that I trained to master them.

They would be wonderful powers for me in the future.

On the day I was appraised, I gained knowledge of some inherent spells, basic spells that came with attribute magic.

For example, those blessed with [Fire] could use three inherent spells:

・Ignite

・Fireball

・Fire Arrow

Ignite, lighting up a fire at one’s fingertip.

Fireball, solidifying the fire in the shape of a ball.

Fire Arrow, shooting the fire like an arrow.

So to sum up…

Ignite was a basic spell to make fire appear.

Fireball was a basic spell for training to knead and solidify mana.

And Fire Arrow was a basic spell for launching mana.

With them, you could train your proficiency in magic.

From my [Sleep], I acquired:

・Sleep

・Sleep Time

・Sleep Delete

Sleep put the target I touched to sleep.

I could cast it on myself and individual results might vary. Plus, how much mana I used also seemed to affect the depth and length of the sleep.

Sleep Time allowed me to specify how long the touched target slept.

If I set it to 8 hours, the target would not wake up for 8 hours no matter what happened.

In other words, even if they were killed, they couldn’t wake up despite feeling pain.

With Sleep Delete, I could forcibly wake up anyone, regardless if they were sleeping normally or if I had put them to sleep.

Which meant I could keep people awake no matter how drowsy they were.

It was a really mean spell.

Of course, since magic resistance and jamming magic existed, magic might be blocked and failed.

Then again, would anyone think of jamming [Sleep] when they encountered it for the first time and had no prior information regarding it? Many would surely just fall under it.

If I added [Sloth] on top of it, even I myself wasn’t sure what would happen.

What I just explained was the basic inherent spells and using them as the foundation, it was possible to develop more complex spells.

In fact, I had already come up with one.

I called it Sleep Arrow, which I could use to put a distant target to sleep.

Since there was Fire Arrow, why couldn’t there be Sleep Arrow?

If I had to touch someone to put them to sleep, wouldn’t that mean I had to move?

Finding that bothersome, I came up with this so that I could put my target to sleep without even lifting a single finger.

Anyone hit by Sleep Arrow would be instantly put to sleep.

If I used it on the teacher during an exam, I’d be able to cheat as much as I wanted.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have enough time to spend experimenting with my attribute magic.

I made my own food, though sometimes I let Syrup do it, which took up quite a bit of my time.

I could leave it all to Syrup, but Syrup wasn’t very good at cooking.

As a maid, she was perfect at cleaning, washing, and taking care of me, but her cooking skills left something to be desired.

She would likely improve as time passed, but was there someone other than Syrup out there trustworthy enough to cook for me?

I couldn’t trust my family, nor could I trust the servants apart from Syrup, for that matter. It was quite a problematic issue.

I was taking a bath to wash off my sweat after doing some light exercise while thinking about the issue when…

“I can’t find anyone. Will I forever be lost here until I die?”

I heard a girl’s anxious voice.

“Is someone there?”

“Huh? There’s a person?”

Syrup knew when I would take a bath and she wouldn’t disturb me at such a time, so I was surprised to hear someone’s voice.

When I went to find the source of the voice, I found a plump but cute girl.

“Awawawawa.”

Seeing my bare upper body, the girl started panicking.

Judging from the way she was dressed, she must be a noble.

Was she Sister Iris’s friend?

“Are you one of my sister’s guests?”

“Sister?”

These days, Sister Iris had been inviting over other young noble ladies to tea parties to form her own clique.

In the main storyline, Sister Iris appeared as a villainess and was a troublesome enemy.

Her attribute magic was strong too, so it was difficult to defeat her.

This girl must be one of those young ladies invited to her tea party. Did she get lost? I looked at her face as I wiped my body with a towel.

“Are you Lady Iris’s younger brother?”

“Mhm. I’m Luc Hugaro Deskustos.”

Her each and every movement was so exaggerated. What an interesting person.

“M-m-m-m-m-m-m-m-m-m-my name is Karin Sea Caribbean, I am the daughter of Count Caribbean.”

She prostrated herself. Why?

“Fufu. You’re an interesting person, Miss Karin.”

Huh? The color of her eyes changed.

Did she see me in a favorable light now?

She didn’t seem like a bad girl.

Still, why was she prostrating on the ground?

My family always looked at me with indifference, so I grew sensitive to others’ goodwill and hostility.

Since she saw me in a favorable light, she should just look at me directly and not stare at the ground, though.

“Say, Miss Karin. Since you are a noble, can you use attribute magic?”

“Y-yes! I can!”

“I like magic, you see. Can you show me yours?”

“Of course! With pleasure!” She happily stood up and in the next moment, she flipped her skirt right before my eyes.

I was stunned, not knowing what was going on.

The next thing I knew, ingredients and a pot had already appeared in front of her.

“All right~, here I go!”

I was amazed at her transformation.

And where did the pot and other stuff come from?

“Huh? Where did you—”

“U-um, I am going to use my magic, so could you please put on your clothes first?”

“Oh, my bad.”

I did as she asked and wiped my body with a towel before putting on my clothes.

“My attribute magic is [Cook].”

“[Cook]? Did you bring all that out with it?”

Once she started cooking, her movements became smooth and refined.

It was clear to me that she loved to cook.

Was her magic raising her cooking skill?

“I made moon rabbit soup. Please enjoy it.”

“Wow~, it smells delicious. I’m digging in.”

The soup made with attribute magic really piqued my interest, so I immediately ate it.

Holy! It was so delicious.

This was my first time having such a delicious dish since I had come to this world.

“It’s delicious. And it gave me buffs? Amazing.”

My body grew hot after finishing the soup.

It felt like my body became very light, and stronger, too.

The soup must have buffing effects.

“Say, Miss Karin.”

“Y-yes!”

“When I grow up, will you make soup for me every day?”

I mustn’t let go of her.

She was confused by my words, but she didn’t seem to hate the idea.

Since she came from a count house, she must be rich. That meant even if my family fell to ruin, I would be able to smooch off her. Plus, I’d be able to eat delicious food every day. I absolutely needed her for my slothful future.

“Marry me.”

I was going to marry into the count house.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

7 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 10

  1. Yeah, that [Sleep] magic is very strong.

    There so far haven’t been many other examples of Attribute Magic, so I can’t make an educated estimate of how strong [Sleep] really is…but, regardless, it’s powerful! If you have no one else to help you, then you’re just finished with one hit! Almost no exceptions! That’s some danger right there.

    Meanwhile, although I get the MC’s thought process a bit, it still feels a bit lazy…which I suppose makes sense, so I shouldn’t question it any further. A random girl has a nice look in her eyes and a nervous behavior, so she’s obviously more trustworthy than everyone else alright. Let’s just ignore that you know she’s a friend of your supposed “future-villainous sister” and admire the good food!

    Shout-outs to Syrup too!

    Thank you for the chapter!

    Like

Leave a comment