SLO Chapter 11

Shout out to kin mizuhiki for becoming a patron!


[Healthy Diet]

When Syrup went to talk to my father about the engagement…

“Tell him to do as he pleases.”

So he replied, apparently.

Man~, he really didn’t care about me.

I mean, it was marriage, for goodness’ sake. It involved another noble house, too.

Well, I guessed I just ought to be glad he didn’t oppose it.

Karin, on the other hand, received a more favorable reply after talking to her father, Count Caribbean, and thus our engagement was a done deal.

Were nobles’ engagements always this simple?

On the day both families were supposed to meet with each other, my father didn’t show up.

Count Caribbean told me that he had already talked with my father beforehand, but was he okay with that? I felt bad for him.

My father didn’t even want to sit at the same table as me.

He was arrogant and overbearing, so maybe it was a good thing he didn’t come.

Karin would surely be frightened if he did…

Count Caribbean perfectly fitted the description of a man of the sea. He was loud, cheerful, and energetic with tanned skin and a well-trained muscular body.

“Are you really fine with me?”

Karin, sitting opposite me, asked very bashfully… and anxiously at the same time.

Sure, she was a little plump, but Karin was still 12 years old. She could become as beautiful as she wanted going forward. I found her anxiety really puzzling.

Moreover, she could already cook dishes from all over the world at the tender age of 12. She was an amazing girl.

Compared to her, I had literally nothing to offer.

“While I’m from a ducal house, I can’t succeed the house. So, I should be the one to plead with the House of Caribbean to accept me.

“Are you sure you are willing to take me into your house as your husband?”

Karin didn’t have any siblings, so it was convenient for me.

But if she got a little brother down the line, the household would surely be handed over to him.

But that wouldn’t be a problem as far as I was concerned. With Karin’s superb cooking skills, we could just open a restaurant if that happened. We’d definitely rake in money.

“Luc, I heard you were the one that proposed this marriage. Some people may say bad things about Karin’s appearance, but I’m truly grateful that you can see past that and look at Karin’s inner beauty.”

Sorry. Your daughter seemed to be a kind girl, sure, but I proposed to her because of her cooking skills and because she was your daughter, a count.

“The House of Caribbean will welcome you with open arms, Luc. Karin says she really likes you, too. I’m sure you two will have a happy marriage life!”

“Goodness, Father!!!”

“Gahahahahahaha. But from what I see, you are a bit on the frail side, Luc. Have you thought this through? Our family runs a shipping business. There will be times when you have to go out to the sea.”

“No need to worry. I will apply sunscreen then.”

“I-is that so?”

I wouldn’t get seasick with Bal around, and when I had to work, I could just have Bal take over while I sleep through it.

Count Caribbean had a complicated look on his face, but then he smiled widely.

“Well, it’s about time for the third wheel to take his leave. Karin, I’m going back to work, you two have fun.”

“Yes. Father.”

“Luc, I leave my daughter to you.”

“You can count on me, Father-in-law.”

“Gahahaha.”

Count Caribbean left with a hearty laugh.

“U-um, Lord Luc.”

“What’s up?”

After hesitating for a moment, Karin looked at me with determined eyes. “Please help me become beautiful!”

“Hm? But I think you are already cute as you are.”

“No. Lord Luc is a male, but you are very beautiful.

“There are rumors going around that you have been studying beauty since you were young.

“So, I wish you can help me to be beautiful like you so that I am worthy to stand next to you.”

Was this what they called a resolve declaration?

“Hmm~. I can help you, but I’ll be strict.”

“I’m prepared! But is there really a way for someone like me to be beautiful?”

“Yup. It’s very easy, in fact.”

“Huh? It’s easy?!”

My attribute magic could make dieting a breeze.

But that wasn’t to say that losing weight was enough to make you beautiful.

“…Miss Karin.”

“Just call me Karin. May I call you Luc too?”

“Sure.”

I didn’t want anyone other than Karin to hear what I was going to say, so I proposed we move somewhere more private.

And so, we went back to my mansion then I invited Karin into my room and I had Syrup stand guard outside to prevent anyone from entering.

“Karin. Using my magic, I can help you diet and force you to do exercise.”

“Um, could you please elaborate?”

“I have two attribute magic, [Sleep] and [Sloth].”

“You have two?! That’s amazing!”

“Thank you. As I was saying, with my attribute magic, I can help you go on a healthy diet easily.”

“That sounds wonderful… then what should I do?!”

She pushed her face closer to mine with great momentum.

I materialized Bal on my palm.

“T-this is?”

“It’s name is Bal. Bal, say hi.”

“m (_ _) m”

“My, it’s cute!”

“Karin, are you good at sports?”

“…I am unfortunately not… but I am pretty strong!”

Mhm. I guessed as much.

“Use it for exercise.”

“Huh? Can Bal help me exercise?”

I showed her how I exercised while sleeping, just like I did Syrup.

I was going to have Bal possess Karin’s body and do aerobic exercises with it while she was asleep.

“Wow! I didn’t know you are great at martial arts, Luc!”

“That’s not it. It was all Bal moving my body.”

“Bal? I’m afraid I don’t follow.”

I explained to her Bal’s ability and how I had been having it exercise my body for me.

“Is it really that easy?”

“It is that easy, but the next day your body will hurt a lot.”

“Huh?”

“Since you aren’t used to exercising, I’m going to have him keep it moderate to not strain your body too much. Think you can endure?”

“I-I will try my best.”

I knew that, to Karin, to become beautiful = to lose weight.

But I couldn’t have the cooking lover Karin stop cooking.

Practice made perfect. If Karin stopped cooking, her skills would regress.

So, to fulfill my needs, I must make Karin beautiful and good at cooking, still.

“After exercising, we take care of your skin. Do you use face wash, face moisturizer, and milky lotion?

“Yes. Every day.”

“Then I will start by showing you the correct way to apply them.”

“Correct way?”

“Yup.”

After wetting my skin with lukewarm water, I poured some face wash onto my hands and rubbed my palms together to lather it up.

Then, I slowly and gently rubbed the face wash all over my face with my fingertips to not damage my skin and then I let it be for a while.

“Huh? But that way the dirt won’t come off, will it?”

“Face wash lather naturally removes dirt. Scrubbing damages your skin.

“Do you normally scrub your face?”

“I do.”

“It will damage your beautiful skin. So, the best way to wash your face is to lather it up with face wash and then slowly rinse it off with lukewarm water.” I explained while showing Karin how to do it.

Losing weight rapidly by dieting wasn’t good for your health.

I was going to teach her the correct knowledge of exercise and beauty and how to diet healthily while still eating delicious food.

Should I discuss about her diet menu with her while I was at it?

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

6 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 11

  1. Dang…the father really does not care in the least bit. I said this before, but this family really are a bunch of caricatures disguised as people. Even if just for the reputation of the family, shouldn’t he care just a little bit? Perhaps a count family was accepted by him because their status is fine enough, or maybe the father just doesn’t think Count Caribbean is worth worrying about? I don’t know.

    I honestly don’t know where all his hate and indifference for his son comes from. I mean, at this point, why does he even keep him around at all!? He cares enough about Luc to feed him poison every day, but not enough to just kill him directly? …maybe he’s not dirtying his hands because he doesn’t want to make his other children nervous…? I don’t know! This likely doesn’t have an explanation in the first place.

    Also, good on Karin! She knows what she has, doesn’t take it for granted, and tries to become the very best version of herself she can. I consider that an amazing quality to have. …though, I sadly can’t see how much resolve she had to do so, since our MC is making the process all too easy for her! Not that I’m complaining. If it’s easier, then it’s better. I desire her happiness in self-benefit. Luc’s sister will cause trouble though.

    Thank you for the chapter!

    Like

    1. After thinking about it a bit, I’ve elected to think that the Father is scared of Luc.

      Of course, I doubt if this is actually the writer’s plan, but it would make the most sense if the Father is scared of Luc’s potential rather than actually being indifferent.

      He tries to poison his son constantly in order to weaken him. He doesn’t care about Luc’s attribute magic since he already knows how crazy it is. He didn’t care about the marriage because he doesn’t want to directly get Luc’s anger by denying something this simple. He ignores Luc because unneeded content would just be dangerous in his mind. Etc. It’s the best explanation I could come up with, at least.

      Like

Leave a comment