SLO Chapter 12

Shout out to ryan good for becoming a patron!


[A Butler’s Monologue]

(Nameless Butler Side)

Now I was retired and living out my days peacefully, but I wanted to talk about my blurry memories.

Whenever I tried to recall them, I would always feel so horrified that I couldn’t stop shivering, but I couldn’t clearly remember what they were all about.

However, now that I did not have long to live… the memories finally came back to me vividly.

It had been over ten years now, and more than half of the people who were alive back then had passed away, so it should be all right for me to talk about them.

Just take this as a rambling of an old man who wanted to add some flair to his life that was nearing its end.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

As a young man, I was ambitious.

Born as the third son of a lower-ranking noble, I needed to use my own resourcefulness to rise in the world, and so I chose the path of apprenticeship as a butler at the Ducal House of Deskustos.

It was one of the two great ducal houses that the kingdom was proud of.

Duke Deskustos was the Prime Minister of the country and he managed the country with pen and paper and was the wealthiest man in the country. I was proud to be working for him.

By the time I graduated from my apprenticeship, the ducal house was at its peak of prosperity and had over 300 butlers at its service.

I was chosen to be the second son’s butler.

The second lady lived at a detached residence and was a big eater. She had her butlers and maids work to the bones making her dishes and desserts all day every day.

When she became pregnant and gave birth to Lord Luc, whom I was going to serve, the whole Ducal House of Deskustos celebrated and every day became lively.

He was the third child of Duke Deskustos, following Lord Testa and Lady Iris.

Although he was born of the second lady and not the first lady, he would become one of the pillars supporting the Ducal House of Deskustos in the future, and I sincerely intended to serve him to the best of my abilities.

But not long after Lord Luc was born.

The second lady, who had been eating so well, died of illness.

It was a very unnatural death, but it didn’t change my determination to serve and take care of Lord Luc.

Lord Luc might be feeling lonely without his mother, but one could say he spent his days peacefully and uneventfully.

However, the situation completely changed when he turned 5. I received an order from the head of the house that plunged me into despair.

“Kill Luc. Use this.”

The head of the house gave me a small bottle that apparently contain poison.

I was ordered to assassinate the boy whom I had been carefully raising for the past five years.

I would be killed if I were to refuse and someone else would do it.

I cried the whole night but I made up my mind once dawn broke.

I was going to poison Lord Luc on his birthday.

I wanted him to pass on painlessly.

With such a wish, I put poison in Lord Luc’s food as he innocently feasted.

Lord Luc eventually collapsed in the middle of eating and I carried him to his bed with a pale face and then called a doctor.

The doctor had been bought by the head of the house, so he didn’t mention anything about poison.

This was the end… I killed the master whom I had been taking care of.

…or so I thought, but the next day Lord Luc woke up.

I was shocked, but I had to poison him again.

I was determined to carry my order through to completion.

Starting that day, I put poison in his meals, but Lord Luc only got sick and didn’t die.

In fact, he started to care about his health and make his own meals.

At that point, I realized I had failed the mission given to me by the head of the house.

I spent every day in fear of being silenced.

However, nothing happened, and the head of the house didn’t even seek me out.

Seeing as how he was always indifferent to Lord Luc, well aside from ordering me to kill him, I assumed that he just had completely lost interest in Lord Luc and didn’t care whether he was dead or alive.

Six years passed, and I believed that the days would continue uneventfully.

However… on Lord Luc’s 11th birthday.

Before I knew it, my eyes were covered and I was tied up.

“Hey~ Head Butler.”

The voice I heard in the darkness was surely Lord Luc’s.

However, I couldn’t confirm if it was truly him with my eyes covered.

I couldn’t understand what was going on.

“You see, I used to wonder.

“How did Luc grow up to be an ugly fat toad?

“If he had grown normally, he might become fat, yes, but I doubt his face would turn out as ugly.”

What was he talking about? Lord Luc’s face was beautiful.

And wasn’t his body lean, toned, and healthy?

Ugly fat toad? That was nonsense.

“I suspected… no, I was sure of it. Somebody poisoned me. Syrup told me.”

How did Syrup know about the poison? I didn’t tell a soul about it.

“Some poisons have the effect of disfiguring one’s face, she said… so I started thinking: Who was the one that put poison into my food? Was it the one who made it? Or was it the one who served it?

I swallowed my saliva.

Lord Luc seemed to be completely sure that I was the culprit.

I must confess.

“I-I-.”

“It’s okay. I understand. I’m sure my father ordered it.”

How did he know?!?!?!

Was it… really Lord Luc who was talking to me?

Growing up to be a beautiful and healthy boy, Lord Luc always smiled as warmly as sunshine. Unlike other members of his family, he was… normal.

“Head Butler, you were the one who put the poison into my food, right?”

“P-please forgive me!”

Even if I lied, he wouldn’t buy it.

All I could do was ask for his forgiveness.

I had always been feeling guilty. This was just the time for me to take my punishment.

But I couldn’t help but wonder.

How could an 11-year-old boy give off the same level of intimidation as the head of the house…

“M’kay. I forgive you. But you still have to be punished. Don’t worry. I won’t take your life, nor will I fire you.”

“Then, how will you punish me?”

“I will gift you with [Sloth].”

After that, my memory became fuzzy.

Phew~ and that was the end of my monologue.

Why I couldn’t remember these memories… I still didn’t know.

But now I did know that Lord Luc, without the slightest doubt, inherit the blood of Duke Deskustos.

Well then, since story time was over and I was a little tired now, I was afraid I must go to bed.

“Ahh, one last thing…

“Boredom is the scariest thing in this world.

“Good night. I’m finally free. From the prison known as boredom…”

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

8 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 12

    1. Basically, makes the head butler so lazy he doesn’t even feel like trying to live or entertain himself. However the environment is safe so the head butler can’t even kill himself before reaching natural death – as such, he is forced to feel bored the entire time.

      Liked by 2 people

    2. that’s actually scary than being stabbed 28 times with a knife~

      I rather be stabbed 28 times than being reactant boredom ~

      Like

  1. So, does [Sloth] have the ability to remove a person’s ambition and/or desire? I’m not sure, since it isn’t said anywhere, but if I’m right that is one scary ability.

    Thank you for the chapter!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment