SLO Chapter 14

[For That Person’s Sake…]

(Myril Side)

My name is Myril.

I would be attending the Royal Academy of Alecidus as a scholarship student.

It was all thanks to that person.

I would repay him by dedicating my everything to him after I graduated from the academy.

I had been growing up in a normal family until I was 11.

My father was a soldier.

My mother was a seamstress.

And I had a little brother who was a few years younger than me.

We were a family of four. Our family was poor, but nevertheless, we were happy.

But one day, there was a large-scale monster invasion in the territory where I lived and my father died in battle.

Our life became rough, so my mother decided to take me and my brother to leave the dangerous territory and moved to the capital, which was safe and had abundant jobs.

But unfortunately, our caravan got attacked by monsters on the way. My mother wasn’t with us at the time, so I desperately escaped with my brother using magic.

We somehow managed to make it to the royal capital.

However, two helpless children couldn’t live by themselves in the royal capital, and neither could we find a job. Thankfully, a kind merchant introduced us to an orphanage.

The orphanage wasn’t a place with the best environment, however.

My sole salvation was that the director of the orphanage was a good person.

Every day I cleaned the city and gathered medicinal herbs to earn money to contribute to the orphanage.

Those days only changed after that person came.

“Karin, are we going to do it again today?”

“Of course. It was your idea, Luc.”

“That’s true, but I didn’t mean every day…”

Lady Karin, the daughter of Count Caribbean, began to provide her food samples to the orphanage almost every day.

Even on days when she couldn’t make it, her servants would still deliver food, and the orphans gradually looked brighter and brighter.

But what surprised me the most was her company, Lord Luc, son of Duke Deskustos.

Although he always complained, he never failed to accompany Lady Karin whenever she came.

He was such a beautiful boy that I felt embarrassed to be the same age as him.

I always hid when he came.

I used to get along well with a neighbor boy, though I didn’t know what happened to him after the monster invasion, so it wasn’t that I was unfamiliar with boys.

However, one day my brother got a high fever.

I couldn’t take him to the church to get treated with healing magic or buy expensive medicine.

At the orphanage, all we could do was wait for the illness to recover by itself… or die.

“You have a sick child? Guess I’ve got no choice. Let me see them.”

An orphan who had grown attached to Lady Karin told her about my brother’s condition, and Lord Luc visited our room to see him.

It caught me off guard. As I didn’t know what to do and was flustered… Lord Luc checked on my brother’s condition and cast healing magic on him.

At a later date, I heard that my brother’s life had been in real danger.

Apparently, he might not survive even if we took him to the church and got the best treatment… it was only then that I found that the church gave different levels of treatment depending on the fee paid.

The cheapest one was one silver coin… that wasn’t an amount we orphans could afford.

I couldn’t imagine how much would they have charged to cure my brother’s illness, if they could at all.

But with a single healing magic, Lord Luc cured my brother’s illness.

Then I got a new problem, how much should I pay for the healing? We, being orphans, couldn’t possibly pay him a large number of silver coins.

However, when I asked Lord Luc about it…

“How much should we pay for this…?”

“Hmm? Oh, don’t worry about it.

“It was simply magic training for me.

“In fact, I was essentially using your brother as a test subject, you know? Now I’ve confirmed that healing magic can be used to cure illnesses, too.”

At that time, I didn’t know the meaning of test subjects.

But now that I did, I believed he only said it to hide his embarrassment.

I would never forget everything Lord Luc had done for us.

Even Lady Karin started giving food to the orphanage because…

“Luc suggested it.

“Instead of eating my cooking myself, I can feed it to others so I eat less and lose weight, he said.

“I tend to forget myself and overeat when I make delicious food.

“It brings me joy to see everyone here enjoys my cooking.

“Cooking for others is truly more fun than cooking for yourself.”

That person… Lord Luc, used his magic for the sake of others and even gave food to us… and lastly…

“Hmm? Don’t the kids here study?”

“Every day we have to work to survive, so we don’t have the time.”

Lord Luc was surprised to see the lack of study tools upon looking around my and my brother’s room.

“Hmm~. Syrup.”

“Yes. My lord.”

A beautiful beastkin maid handed a pouch full of gold coins to the orphanage director when Lord Luc called her.

“My house has much more money than we can spend.

“I was going to throw some away somewhere rather than letting it collect dust.

“I don’t need it, so you can use it.

“I find thinking bothersome, so no refuse.”

With that, he donated a huge sum of money to the orphanage.

Thanks to it, we were able to get time to study, and even on days we didn’t receive food from Lady Karin, we were still able to eat because we had money to buy food.

That event might be nothing but a pastime for Lord Luc.

Still, that didn’t change the fact that he saved my brother’s life and allowed me to study, which was something I had been wanting badly to do for a long time.

Now my brother was healthy and I could go to school free of charge as a scholarship student.

If, after I graduated, I could be of help to him, I would offer up my everything to him…

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

6 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 14

  1. New wifu alert! I like the name “Myril” very much, honestly.

    Syrup, Myril, Luc, etc…back in the day, the names we are oh-so-accustomed to were just regular words before too, so it’s not like this naming sense is revolutionary. However, whenever I attempt to think of similar names, it’s actually pretty hard to find a “good” word that is appealing enough to be a name. Meanwhile, this author seems quite capable in that regard. I like it. I plan to take notes.

    I also liked how wholesome this chapter is. It’s nice Myril’s given a motivation for us to relate to…unfortunately, I’m just not feeling it this time. I just feel like this chapter is more of an objective narration, than an emotional perspective, which I would like from a chapter like this. I feel this chapter would have been better from Luc’s perspective, honestly. Maybe even as a few chapters or a story arc, but…as I said before, the author seems to want to quickly skip past the early parts of the story. Shall, I shall wait for the payout when the story finally begins.

    Thank you for the chapter!

    Like

Leave a comment