SLO Chapter 26

[Justice Requires Victory]

(Scenario Branching Point 1)

Dan successfully enrolled in the Alecidus Royal Academy. During the entrance ceremony, he found a young man whose appearance could only be described as an ugly fat toad sleeping while snoring loudly.

He later learned that his name was Luc Hugaro Deskustos, scion of the Deskustos House, the enemy of the Marshall House to whom he was indebted. Unable to stand him ogling and verbally harassing the heroines, Dan challenged him to a Ranked Match.

The combat system was explained during the Ranked Match, and he eventually won with his Ultimate and attribute magic.

This victory came at the price of Luc’s resentment. Over the next three years, Luc kept on challenging Dan, bringing stronger goons each time, but as he triumphed over them, Dan would become stronger and receive the heroines’ favor.

The first heroine to make contact with him was Princess Elina. After Dan defeated Luc at the tutorial battle, she came up to him and praised him.

“I have seen your strength. I look forward to your future endeavors.”

The princess then left with a smile, leaving Dan dazed which made Lyncean jealous.

But in this world, Elina praised Luc for his skills and victory.

Contradictions had already begun to arise in the world line.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

(Lyncean Sword Marshall Side)

My name is Lyncean Sword Marshall.

I grew up watching my father, brother, and other great knights as they fought monsters to protect the people.

Their backs looked so cool and reliable. I was proud of them.

They helped the weak and slew monsters and villains.

The strength they demonstrated was filled with pride that was justice.

But in that fight, I couldn’t feel the slightest bit of pride.

Luc Hugaro Deskustos had tried to kill Dan.

He had been as cold-blooded as monsters.

Dan was now sleeping on a bench some distance away from the arena.

Yes, he was just sleeping. The professor had said he had no serious injuries and just needed to rest.

I was so glad he was alive.

If I had lost him… just the thought made my chest tighten.

I’d never felt like this.

We had always been together since we were little. Training, fighting monsters, you named it. As such, I knew how strong he was.

Yet to my shock, he had ended up losing to a boy who grew up in the safe environment of the royal capital.

I had declared Dan would rechallenge him and defeat him, but I knew there was an insurmountable gap between them.

If Dan rashly challenged him again, he wouldn’t be able to win.

“Huh! Where is this?”

“You’re finally awake… thank goodness.”

“…My lady.”

Dan seemed to understand that he had lost by the look on my face.

“…The professor said you needed some rest.”

“…Did I lose? To such a frail-looking noble…?”

Dan’s stunned look made me feel a little relieved.

His eyes were as bright as before.

I was worried this defeat would break his heart, but it seemed it was needless.

“You judged your opponent by his looks and let your guard down.”

Dan had lost, that was undeniable.

But that didn’t mean he was weak.

He was strong both in body and mind.

I knew that better than anyone else, having spent so much time together with him.

“Damn it!” Dan punched the bench. I understood where he was coming from.

He was unable to accept his loss, he was frustrated by it… But exactly because I understood, I couldn’t find any words to console him.

“Oh, you are still here?”

Her Royal Highness First Princess Elina Cildy Borg Alecidus.

She was an excellent person who had been chosen as the new student representative, and some rumors even claimed that she was a modern-day saint.

“We greet the Young Sun of the Kingdom.”

I greeted and paid respect to her with proper noble etiquette.

“We are in the academy. There is no need for such formalities.

“The professors have explained, remember? Your rank and background do not matter here. So, at least while we are here, please treat me as your classmate, as your friend.”

In the academy, we students were evaluated by our grades alone. But even by that standard, Elina was above me. She must dislike being treated so formally, given her request.

I decided to oblige and stand back up.

“I am most grateful for your generosity.”

I tried to maintain the barest minimum of courtesy, but…

“Lyncean, we have known each other for a long time and I think of you as my friend, so you don’t need to be so stiff with me, please?”

“…Okay, okay, Elina. Thanks.”

We were childhood friends.

I, too, would love to treat her casually, not like some stranger.

“And you… you are Lyncean’s personal knight, aren’t you? Sir Dan, wasn’t it? Please, rise.”

“I am a commoner, so please just call me Dan.”

Elina asked Dan, who was still on his knee, to stand up.

“I must say I was surprised by that fight.

“I could tell you hadn’t brought out your full strength yet. I hope to see your true abilities next time.”

Those with a certain level of combat experience could tell.

Dan had lost without even being able to bring out all his power.

If he had been able to, he could have held out a little longer.

“I will do my best.”

Dan bowed to Elina without saying much.

After that, Elina took her leave and we sat back down on the bench.

“Dan, what actually happened? How did Deskustos beat you?”

As an aspiring knight, I knew Deskustos’ movements were the result of years of training.

The way he didn’t give any chance for Dan to fight back and strike at every opening had seemed like he could predict the future.

His moves were masterful, frightening yet beautiful.

“If I’m being honest, I don’t know.”

“Huh? You don’t?”

Dan and I had about the same level of combat prowess. Given that he didn’t know how Deskustos beat him, chances were high that I would meet the same end as him if I were to fight Deskustos.

“Yeah. The moment the professor gave the starting signal, I immediately began to cast body strengthening.”

Our proficiency in magic was more or less the same, and in terms of body strengthening, our casting speed counted among the fastest in the Marshall Duchy.

In fact, ours were only second to that of my brother and father.

“But in that brief opening, he attacked.”

Hmm, had he perhaps cast magic before the match began? That was a cowardly move, but…

“It took me only a split second to finish casting.

“In that split second, however, he closed the distance between us, and then as I tried to back away he kept on sticking close to me, not letting me go.”

That indeed had been the case.

“Then I made a large swing with my sword, trying to force him to back away.

“But that only gave him the opening to headbutt me, causing me a momentary loss of vision.

“After that… as I’m sure you were watching, he somehow made me pass out, and I lost.”

Dan reflected on the battle as he recalled it.

“That wasn’t a fair battle.

“I’m sure he used some kind of magic even before the match began.”

“I… doubt that. I just underestimated him and let my guard down.”

To my surprise, Dan objected the words I intended to comfort him.

“What?”

“He didn’t cast any magic during the battle. I’m sure of it.

“Even if, for argument’s sake, he did use magic before the battle started, my casting body strengthening only took a split second. The fact that I couldn’t pull away from him in spite of that could only be attributed to my carelessness.”

Dan didn’t know… that guy was a coward.

He had tried to kill him while he was unconscious.

“My lady? What’s wrong?”

“If you say so, then let’s leave it at that… Let’s go back.”

Recalling that incident made me uneasy and restless.

I got up and started walking toward the dormitory.

“Sheesh, leaving someone hanging isn’t a good habit, you know?”

Dan complained at my sudden change of attitude.

With Deskustos’ malice lingering at the back of my mind, I pulled myself together and swore to myself to become stronger with Dan.

Prev | ToC | Next


Want more? Please consider supporting me on Patreon! Then you can read up to 10 advanced chapters!

7 thoughts on “SLO Chapter 26

  1. Man this heroine is annoying as f*ck, what “malice” is she talking about aren’t and Dan the ones who started sh*t with the MC in the first place or wait did she forgot that because of how small her brain is.🙄

    Liked by 2 people

  2. These self-righteous pricks are the characters I hate the most in novels like these. With their holier than thou attitude and hypocrisy they are insufferable

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment